We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and special little place”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We really enjoyed staying here with our 2-year-old son. The pool was pretty, the location was the closest you could possibly get to the main centro, and the staff was very kind. An obnoxious wedding party did detract from our stay because they stayed up making noise at the pool late into the night, but the staff did the best they could do handle them and eventually sent them to bed. The breakfast buffet (on Sundays only I believe) was delicious and an incredible spread! And the rooms were simple and lovely.

If you are wanting a couple of nights in the actual heart of Cabo before heading to the beach, this is the perfect answer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeratejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

I stayed here 2 nights and paid by Mastercard at checkout and flew back to Canada. That
bill was on my next monthly bank statement, and it was the right amount. Then 3 weeks later, exactly $400 US was charged to my card by the hotel (while I was back at home) and I saw this new charge on the next month's bank statement. I don't know if this is theft or if some mistake was made, like for example someone from the hotel didn't cancel a
pre authorization charge or something , but I had to go to my bank, cancel my credit
card, make a claim. Very disconcerting. Otherwise the hotel is nice, but the restaurant
is very overpriced and not memorable. I tried to get in touch with the hotel to bring the matter to their attention, but their web site has changed and you can't find a phone number or an email address. Really frustrating. I am still waiting to be reimbursed the $400 from Mastercard, but I don't forsee a problem as it was an unauthorized charge and
not signed for by myself, and these things take time, but still, what a hassle.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank playateez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We went there for dinner just over a week ago with 5 adults and a little one. Food was fantastic and the kids menu was pretty good too. Will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

What a wonderful week at the Tropicana Hotel. Breakfast included every morning but Sundays, with eggs, fresh fruit, super fresh orange juice, and great coffee got us off to a good start everyday. The people at the hotel were wonderful and very helpful. Erica, the front desk young lady went out of her way to make sure that we had whatever we needed. Carmen the person who helped us sign up for a tour was very informative and always available. Olivia the lady from housekeeping was fantastic with her skillful displays after leaving our room spotless. Benito one of the waiters was always cheerful and accessible.The garden and pool area appear to be a millionaire's paradise with traditional Mexican style.Although not on the beach, the location could not be better in the center of town within easily walking distance to the art district, zocalo, and excellent restaurants. The beach is only a short bus ride or a $7 cab ride away. Tropicana's main dining restaurant and bar are also a good bet with great food and reasonable prices. Top quality at a fair price. Mike

Room Tip: There are suites, and a honeymoon cottage avialabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MikeMcDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful days enjoying quiet San Jose after five days in Cabo San Lucas. The hotel is located behind the Tropicana restaurant and is a pleasant oasis with a beautiful courtyard and pool. The mood is mellow and it's a wonderful place to relax. The morning breakfasts at the restaurant were delicious with a large plate of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, salsa, toast, coffee and juice. On Saturday we enjoyed the local organic market (with lots of art too) and it was only a short walk from the hotel. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiantiSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I had a wonderful surprised when step into my spa treatment to found a romantic ambience candle light with rose petals all over the place, glasses or champaigne with chocolate and strawberry plus a delicious and involving roses scent in the room. The ladies: rossy and liz were amazingly good. Nothing but the best, very attentive, sweet but surprisingly strong at the same time. They took care of every single detail and deliver a wonderful couple massage experience for Valentines Day. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatitoAngelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for possibly 10 years now. We love the place. The rooms are nice and clean and nicely decorated with nice linens and Mexican tiled bathrooms. The staff is abundant and eager to please in every way. Over the years we have experienced poolside happy hours with a swim up bar and free continental breakfasts at poolside with several juices, fruits, cereals, rolls, coffee and tea, etc. Sorrily they no longer offer that poolside, my guess is because of the general economy and fewer tourists. Now they have the free breakfast in the outdoor adjoining sidewalk restaurant each morning, probably to stimulate restaurant business at the same time. But no complaints with the full fruit plate, eggs, potatoes, juice and coffee. Notice that many of the reviews under the heading for the hotel are actually for the restaurant only, which I agree is lacking in service. Good food, but not good service and value. Don't let that deter you from a stay at the hotel which is a surprise quiet garden/pool setting behind the hotel. Our rate over Thanksgiving was lowered because we stayed 5 nights and was $110 a night PLUS taxes and a daily service fee. All totaled it was $132 a night. Love that it is right in the heart of town close to everything AND it has a secure parking lot; important since we were on a driving trip. The only downside was that the pool is not heated and too chilly to really enjoy much; a big factor for us. (76F degrees)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 km away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
366 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
93 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#25 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,270 reviews
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
334 reviews
2.4 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $105 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing