We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“lovely hotel in downtown San Jose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in downtown San Jose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have stayed in this hotel at least 3 times now and have enjoyed each experience. The hotel is quaint, not too big, centrally located with very helpful staff. The room served our needs, with a mini-frig for drinks and snacks, the pool is very nice and I loved the fact the restaurant has live music on the weekend. Restaurant is a little pricey, the food is good but not memorable however I would recommend for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whidbeyIsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    131
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
51
135
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, MT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My stay here was for 6 nights. I stayed in one of the suites-Jacaranda. It had a king bed, sitting area w/refrig and sink, coffee maker, toaster, glasses. Nice bathroom and walk in closet and A/C, which is very important. Great pool, restaurant and we used the spa there. Right in the center of town, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff and great service. Free parking. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: all the rooms have 2 queen beds, except for the suites they have a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, U.S.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We really enjoyed staying here with our 2-year-old son. The pool was pretty, the location was the closest you could possibly get to the main centro, and the staff was very kind. An obnoxious wedding party did detract from our stay because they stayed up making noise at the pool late into the night, but the staff did the best they could do handle them and eventually sent them to bed. The breakfast buffet (on Sundays only I believe) was delicious and an incredible spread! And the rooms were simple and lovely.

If you are wanting a couple of nights in the actual heart of Cabo before heading to the beach, this is the perfect answer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeratejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I stayed here 2 nights and paid by Mastercard at checkout and flew back to Canada. That
bill was on my next monthly bank statement, and it was the right amount. Then 3 weeks later, exactly $400 US was charged to my card by the hotel (while I was back at home) and I saw this new charge on the next month's bank statement. I don't know if this is theft or if some mistake was made, like for example someone from the hotel didn't cancel a
pre authorization charge or something , but I had to go to my bank, cancel my credit
card, make a claim. Very disconcerting. Otherwise the hotel is nice, but the restaurant
is very overpriced and not memorable. I tried to get in touch with the hotel to bring the matter to their attention, but their web site has changed and you can't find a phone number or an email address. Really frustrating. I am still waiting to be reimbursed the $400 from Mastercard, but I don't forsee a problem as it was an unauthorized charge and
not signed for by myself, and these things take time, but still, what a hassle.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank playateez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We went there for dinner just over a week ago with 5 adults and a little one. Food was fantastic and the kids menu was pretty good too. Will go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

What a wonderful week at the Tropicana Hotel. Breakfast included every morning but Sundays, with eggs, fresh fruit, super fresh orange juice, and great coffee got us off to a good start everyday. The people at the hotel were wonderful and very helpful. Erica, the front desk young lady went out of her way to make sure that we had whatever we needed. Carmen the person who helped us sign up for a tour was very informative and always available. Olivia the lady from housekeeping was fantastic with her skillful displays after leaving our room spotless. Benito one of the waiters was always cheerful and accessible.The garden and pool area appear to be a millionaire's paradise with traditional Mexican style.Although not on the beach, the location could not be better in the center of town within easily walking distance to the art district, zocalo, and excellent restaurants. The beach is only a short bus ride or a $7 cab ride away. Tropicana's main dining restaurant and bar are also a good bet with great food and reasonable prices. Top quality at a fair price. Mike

Room Tip: There are suites, and a honeymoon cottage avialabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeMcDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful days enjoying quiet San Jose after five days in Cabo San Lucas. The hotel is located behind the Tropicana restaurant and is a pleasant oasis with a beautiful courtyard and pool. The mood is mellow and it's a wonderful place to relax. The morning breakfasts at the restaurant were delicious with a large plate of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, salsa, toast, coffee and juice. On Saturday we enjoyed the local organic market (with lots of art too) and it was only a short walk from the hotel. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiantiSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
5.6 km away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#32 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#37 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Property: Tropicana Inn
Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares Historico 1092 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Tropicana Inn, our 42 Mexican style Tamaral rooms and Suites, are beautifully appointed with colonial touches of old Mexico. The fully airconditioned individually styled Tamaral rooms includes all the amenities you expect with irresistible pillow top mattresses, Luxury linens, direct dial phone, cable TV, frigde, coffee maker, hair dryer and bath accessories. All rooms have full or partial views of the pool, swim up palapa bar and our beautiful tropical grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing