We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
173
167
22
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
167
22
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose coffee juice mexican hotel town square art galleries la paz pool area is beautiful pool swim up bar mexico baja paco tile landscaping poolside pesos servers
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 389 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We really liked this hotel. The first 2 nights we stayed there we paid in cash and the room was $75. We thought it was excellent rate for such a clean, charming hotel in a great location. We left and came back a week later and we gave them a credit card and when the charge went through it was for $100. We argued saying we had stayed 2 previous nights for $75. She said they have 2 rates, one for the locals and one for "us" is what she said. I think the locals have their own home to stay in and aren't coming to stay at the Tropicana Inn. Anyway....there was nothing we could do at that point. The continental breakfast they give you is two slices of wonder bread and coffee. They push the menu on you. The food is good, but it is very pricey. Directly across the street, down some steps is an excellent restaurant with a great ambiance. Go there! Can't remember the name, but it has a black awning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank baja204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've been to Cabo area many times, don't ever stay in Cabo San Lucas to avoid the bar and over crwoded scene. San Jose has a number of good resorts, but this place is clean, homy, very intimate with it's enclosed pool area in the central courtyard. Suberb restaraurnt on site. We go down to relax and fish, one meal was a Dorado we caught and they prepared, super chef and very accommodating. The owner was around and was very interested in our needs. I will stay here every time we go to San Jose in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room right off the pool, really nice.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGRFresno_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel at least 3 times now and have enjoyed each experience. The hotel is quaint, not too big, centrally located with very helpful staff. The room served our needs, with a mini-frig for drinks and snacks, the pool is very nice and I loved the fact the restaurant has live music on the weekend. Restaurant is a little pricey, the food is good but not memorable however I would recommend for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whidbeyIsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My stay here was for 6 nights. I stayed in one of the suites-Jacaranda. It had a king bed, sitting area w/refrig and sink, coffee maker, toaster, glasses. Nice bathroom and walk in closet and A/C, which is very important. Great pool, restaurant and we used the spa there. Right in the center of town, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff and great service. Free parking. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: all the rooms have 2 queen beds, except for the suites they have a king bed.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We really enjoyed staying here with our 2-year-old son. The pool was pretty, the location was the closest you could possibly get to the main centro, and the staff was very kind. An obnoxious wedding party did detract from our stay because they stayed up making noise at the pool late into the night, but the staff did the best they could do handle them and eventually sent them to bed. The breakfast buffet (on Sundays only I believe) was delicious and an incredible spread! And the rooms were simple and lovely.

If you are wanting a couple of nights in the actual heart of Cabo before heading to the beach, this is the perfect answer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeratejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews