We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
172
164
22
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
164
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecoffee juicemexican hoteltown squareart galleriesla pazpool area isbeautiful poolswim up barmexicobajapacotilelandscapingpoolsidepesosservers
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 384 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I were enroute to La Paz and were lucky enough to stay at The Tropicana in San Jose. It's located right in the heart of town, yet we found it very quiet at night. The food was excellent both in the formal dinning room and outside. The wait staff were all very kind and attentive. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of seating and available shaded areas. At night there is a fire pit that makes the pool area come alive.
The restaurant also offers local live music on a regular basis and is always a fun place to hang out and enjoy friends.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms face the pool area/ courtyard. Which is where you want to be.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was initially attracted by the very good price and the location. Once we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely facility. Our room was right off the palm shaded pool. The buildings are full of dark Spanish furniture and large Olmec-like stone figures. The continental breakfast is small but fine and can be eaten on the outdoor patio. My wife has a relaxing two hour massage and facial here for a fraction of the price at home.
Hard to beat this hotel for a combination of value and quality.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tmginnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We really liked this hotel. The first 2 nights we stayed there we paid in cash and the room was $75. We thought it was excellent rate for such a clean, charming hotel in a great location. We left and came back a week later and we gave them a credit card and when the charge went through it was for $100. We argued saying we had stayed 2 previous nights for $75. She said they have 2 rates, one for the locals and one for "us" is what she said. I think the locals have their own home to stay in and aren't coming to stay at the Tropicana Inn. Anyway....there was nothing we could do at that point. The continental breakfast they give you is two slices of wonder bread and coffee. They push the menu on you. The food is good, but it is very pricey. Directly across the street, down some steps is an excellent restaurant with a great ambiance. Go there! Can't remember the name, but it has a black awning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank baja204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've been to Cabo area many times, don't ever stay in Cabo San Lucas to avoid the bar and over crwoded scene. San Jose has a number of good resorts, but this place is clean, homy, very intimate with it's enclosed pool area in the central courtyard. Suberb restaraurnt on site. We go down to relax and fish, one meal was a Dorado we caught and they prepared, super chef and very accommodating. The owner was around and was very interested in our needs. I will stay here every time we go to San Jose in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room right off the pool, really nice.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGRFresno_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel at least 3 times now and have enjoyed each experience. The hotel is quaint, not too big, centrally located with very helpful staff. The room served our needs, with a mini-frig for drinks and snacks, the pool is very nice and I loved the fact the restaurant has live music on the weekend. Restaurant is a little pricey, the food is good but not memorable however I would recommend for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whidbeyIsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews