We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but choose room location carefully!”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but choose room location carefully!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. That said, be sure that your room is not back in a dark corner facing a blank wall as my first one was. Most of the rooms face a beautiful courtyard, which is filled with topiary animals made out of pool towels and lush tropical growth. The indoor restaurant is beautiful, which connects to the sidewalk cafe, a great place to watch the local action. The lobster and shrimp dishes are to die for.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101, 109, 110, 111, 112 on ground floor to avoid looking out on a blank wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    149
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
55
146
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our second time to this hotel was as good as the first. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. They all surround a beautiful courtyard that is very peaceful and made me think I was in a more tropical environment. They have their own restaurant that exits to the main street that is a few doors down from the central plaza. It also has very secure parking (a little tricky to find). We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willco3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at the Tropicana Inn, located smack dab in the center of town, decorated beautifully, quaint and relaxed. The staff was accomadating and friendly, and the Sunday brunch incredible

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This wasn't our first visit to Los Cabos, but for the first time we decided to stay in this hotel in early December and couldn't be happier.
It's a really nice property that's very well kept. It's located right in downtown San Jose, just a short walk to galleries, jewelry stores and restaurants.
Their restaurant is really good (although a little pricey) and service was great! They have outside seating (good for people watching) and also inside. I preferred the outside but it's worth to take a look at the decor on the inside: amazing!
If you are looking to have a nice, relaxing time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ileana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My wife and I were enroute to La Paz and were lucky enough to stay at The Tropicana in San Jose. It's located right in the heart of town, yet we found it very quiet at night. The food was excellent both in the formal dinning room and outside. The wait staff were all very kind and attentive. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of seating and available shaded areas. At night there is a fire pit that makes the pool area come alive.
The restaurant also offers local live music on a regular basis and is always a fun place to hang out and enjoy friends.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms face the pool area/ courtyard. Which is where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I was initially attracted by the very good price and the location. Once we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely facility. Our room was right off the palm shaded pool. The buildings are full of dark Spanish furniture and large Olmec-like stone figures. The continental breakfast is small but fine and can be eaten on the outdoor patio. My wife has a relaxing two hour massage and facial here for a fraction of the price at home.
Hard to beat this hotel for a combination of value and quality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tmginnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We really liked this hotel. The first 2 nights we stayed there we paid in cash and the room was $75. We thought it was excellent rate for such a clean, charming hotel in a great location. We left and came back a week later and we gave them a credit card and when the charge went through it was for $100. We argued saying we had stayed 2 previous nights for $75. She said they have 2 rates, one for the locals and one for "us" is what she said. I think the locals have their own home to stay in and aren't coming to stay at the Tropicana Inn. Anyway....there was nothing we could do at that point. The continental breakfast they give you is two slices of wonder bread and coffee. They push the menu on you. The food is good, but it is very pricey. Directly across the street, down some steps is an excellent restaurant with a great ambiance. Go there! Can't remember the name, but it has a black awning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank baja204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 km away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#25 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
362 reviews
2.4 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
255 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
91 reviews
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
279 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#37 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Property: Tropicana Inn
Address: Blvd Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing