We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
172
165
22
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
165
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose coffee juice mexican hotel town square art galleries la paz pool area is beautiful pool swim up bar mexico baja paco tile landscaping poolside pesos servers
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 385 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. That said, be sure that your room is not back in a dark corner facing a blank wall as my first one was. Most of the rooms face a beautiful courtyard, which is filled with topiary animals made out of pool towels and lush tropical growth. The indoor restaurant is beautiful, which connects to the sidewalk cafe, a great place to watch the local action. The lobster and shrimp dishes are to die for.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101, 109, 110, 111, 112 on ground floor to avoid looking out on a blank wall.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our second time to this hotel was as good as the first. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. They all surround a beautiful courtyard that is very peaceful and made me think I was in a more tropical environment. They have their own restaurant that exits to the main street that is a few doors down from the central plaza. It also has very secure parking (a little tricky to find). We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willco3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at the Tropicana Inn, located smack dab in the center of town, decorated beautifully, quaint and relaxed. The staff was accomadating and friendly, and the Sunday brunch incredible

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This wasn't our first visit to Los Cabos, but for the first time we decided to stay in this hotel in early December and couldn't be happier.
It's a really nice property that's very well kept. It's located right in downtown San Jose, just a short walk to galleries, jewelry stores and restaurants.
Their restaurant is really good (although a little pricey) and service was great! They have outside seating (good for people watching) and also inside. I preferred the outside but it's worth to take a look at the decor on the inside: amazing!
If you are looking to have a nice, relaxing time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ileana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I were enroute to La Paz and were lucky enough to stay at The Tropicana in San Jose. It's located right in the heart of town, yet we found it very quiet at night. The food was excellent both in the formal dinning room and outside. The wait staff were all very kind and attentive. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of seating and available shaded areas. At night there is a fire pit that makes the pool area come alive.
The restaurant also offers local live music on a regular basis and is always a fun place to hang out and enjoy friends.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms face the pool area/ courtyard. Which is where you want to be.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews