We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
172
164
22
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
164
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecoffee juicemexican hoteltown squareart galleriesla pazpool area isbeautiful poolswim up barmexicobajapacotilelandscapingpoolsidepesosservers
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 384 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Hilton on the Corridor and then moved to The Tropicana for 2 more nights.

The hotel is old Mexico style. It is situated right on the main street and almost in the town center. Great walking location to most anything in town...shops, bars, restaurants, etc. There is a large, secure free parking lot for guests. Check-in was easy and quick. We booked a standard room. It was very clean and just fine for our 2 nights there. A little dark though. A good size ceramic tile shower...with good water pressure and good hot/cold. Room has a cheap hairdryer to use. Not central a/c, but a split. We are not fans of these type of a/c coolers...but it is what it is.

Lovely, large courtyard with a clean, refreshing pool. No handrails at the pool though...so be careful. The steps in are rather high. The pics on the site show a thatched pool bar. It is there, but it is not operable. You can get drinks/food brought out from the hotel restaurant though. Or, you can bring out your own. The thatched hut could use a trim...the fronds are almost touching the water in the pool. A good amount of lounge chairs, tables, etc. LOTS of pretty foliage and 2 bird cages with 3 happy looking birds in them. There is a cabana that is the small spa for the hotel. We booked a treatment and we really enjoyed it. VERY reasonable for the services.

It has a very good restaurant and bar(see separate lisiting).

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There was no room noise from other guests. But, there was a carnival/fair during the time we were there and there was noise from that.

We would gladly stay again..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LasVegasMyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. That said, be sure that your room is not back in a dark corner facing a blank wall as my first one was. Most of the rooms face a beautiful courtyard, which is filled with topiary animals made out of pool towels and lush tropical growth. The indoor restaurant is beautiful, which connects to the sidewalk cafe, a great place to watch the local action. The lobster and shrimp dishes are to die for.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101, 109, 110, 111, 112 on ground floor to avoid looking out on a blank wall.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our second time to this hotel was as good as the first. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. They all surround a beautiful courtyard that is very peaceful and made me think I was in a more tropical environment. They have their own restaurant that exits to the main street that is a few doors down from the central plaza. It also has very secure parking (a little tricky to find). We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willco3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at the Tropicana Inn, located smack dab in the center of town, decorated beautifully, quaint and relaxed. The staff was accomadating and friendly, and the Sunday brunch incredible

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This wasn't our first visit to Los Cabos, but for the first time we decided to stay in this hotel in early December and couldn't be happier.
It's a really nice property that's very well kept. It's located right in downtown San Jose, just a short walk to galleries, jewelry stores and restaurants.
Their restaurant is really good (although a little pricey) and service was great! They have outside seating (good for people watching) and also inside. I preferred the outside but it's worth to take a look at the decor on the inside: amazing!
If you are looking to have a nice, relaxing time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ileana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews