We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is Great”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stop and eat here every time we visit Cabo! We cannot say enough about the food, especially the breakfast. Everyone is very helpful and accommodating! A sure stop to anyone that wants a good meal. The prices are reasonable too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Hilton on the Corridor and then moved to The Tropicana for 2 more nights.

The hotel is old Mexico style. It is situated right on the main street and almost in the town center. Great walking location to most anything in town...shops, bars, restaurants, etc. There is a large, secure free parking lot for guests. Check-in was easy and quick. We booked a standard room. It was very clean and just fine for our 2 nights there. A little dark though. A good size ceramic tile shower...with good water pressure and good hot/cold. Room has a cheap hairdryer to use. Not central a/c, but a split. We are not fans of these type of a/c coolers...but it is what it is.

Lovely, large courtyard with a clean, refreshing pool. No handrails at the pool though...so be careful. The steps in are rather high. The pics on the site show a thatched pool bar. It is there, but it is not operable. You can get drinks/food brought out from the hotel restaurant though. Or, you can bring out your own. The thatched hut could use a trim...the fronds are almost touching the water in the pool. A good amount of lounge chairs, tables, etc. LOTS of pretty foliage and 2 bird cages with 3 happy looking birds in them. There is a cabana that is the small spa for the hotel. We booked a treatment and we really enjoyed it. VERY reasonable for the services.

It has a very good restaurant and bar(see separate lisiting).

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There was no room noise from other guests. But, there was a carnival/fair during the time we were there and there was noise from that.

We would gladly stay again..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. That said, be sure that your room is not back in a dark corner facing a blank wall as my first one was. Most of the rooms face a beautiful courtyard, which is filled with topiary animals made out of pool towels and lush tropical growth. The indoor restaurant is beautiful, which connects to the sidewalk cafe, a great place to watch the local action. The lobster and shrimp dishes are to die for.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101, 109, 110, 111, 112 on ground floor to avoid looking out on a blank wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our second time to this hotel was as good as the first. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. They all surround a beautiful courtyard that is very peaceful and made me think I was in a more tropical environment. They have their own restaurant that exits to the main street that is a few doors down from the central plaza. It also has very secure parking (a little tricky to find). We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willco3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at the Tropicana Inn, located smack dab in the center of town, decorated beautifully, quaint and relaxed. The staff was accomadating and friendly, and the Sunday brunch incredible

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This wasn't our first visit to Los Cabos, but for the first time we decided to stay in this hotel in early December and couldn't be happier.
It's a really nice property that's very well kept. It's located right in downtown San Jose, just a short walk to galleries, jewelry stores and restaurants.
Their restaurant is really good (although a little pricey) and service was great! They have outside seating (good for people watching) and also inside. I preferred the outside but it's worth to take a look at the decor on the inside: amazing!
If you are looking to have a nice, relaxing time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ileana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My wife and I were enroute to La Paz and were lucky enough to stay at The Tropicana in San Jose. It's located right in the heart of town, yet we found it very quiet at night. The food was excellent both in the formal dinning room and outside. The wait staff were all very kind and attentive. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of seating and available shaded areas. At night there is a fire pit that makes the pool area come alive.
The restaurant also offers local live music on a regular basis and is always a fun place to hang out and enjoy friends.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms face the pool area/ courtyard. Which is where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
99 reviews
0.4 km away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#28 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
380 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
375 reviews
2.4 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
280 reviews
2.1 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: C$141 - C$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing