We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tropicana is fantastico!”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2008

This very Mexican hotel was the perfect place for my vacation. Because of the fair located just behind it, the nights were noisy but that was only during that festival week. Actually the location being close to the fair added to the fun! Walked over there nearly every night to get cheap, authentic Mexican food! The Tropicana is very clean, small and charming. Service was good, food tasty and cost reasonable. The best part of this hotel is the Cuban band playing 3 or 4 nights a week. If you like to dance, this is place for you. The show they put on is fantastic. No cover charge. The dancers are from Mexico, the band is from Cuba. Everyone dances everywhere, the place rocks on Friday and Sat. nights.
I would highly recommend this place and will return there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChiquitaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2008

I would say I travel a lot. I've never stayed anywhere other than a big resort.

Because I was just passing through San Jose on my way to spend a month elsewhere in Mexico, I decided on a small Inn type place for 2 days. I was shocked, I loved it! So much in fact that I stayed another night , on my way out of mexico a month later. It was like a little family there. The food was to die for and the entertainment in thier lounge was unreal. The singing and dancing was a lot of fun. The people were so nice and helful as well. I had a car pick me up at the airport, the hotel set it up and they were on time and freindly. The bartenders at the Tropicana always have a smile on a good story for you. The best was sitting around the pool and little fire at night ..relaxing. It's located where you can walk anywhere which was nice. The rooms are cute and clean. I stayed in the standard room, the Jr Suite and Troje. The standard room is very cute and the 2 beds are comfortable. The Jr Suite is big and kept very nice. The Troje is really adorable, worth staying in. I also really enjoyed all the fresh flowers. No it's not a resort, it's better and it's real Mexico! Thanks to all at the Tropicana....see you soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShantiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We spent two weeks at the Tropicana Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location for exploring the town and surrounding area. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We found the staff was friendly, accomodating, courteous and professional. Kudos to the management for hiring great personnel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Philip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

I've been to Cabo several times, but never stayed in San Jose. I found this hotel on the internet and was a little concerned with how inexpensive it was, even over the Christmas holiday.

It was fantastic! The staff was friendly, the rooms small, but excellent for the money. They only have a shower, but good water pressure. The minor downside is the lighting in the room, but it did not detract from our enjoyment of this hotel. When visiting Cabo, I will be staying here from now on.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IxChel3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We booked the Tropicana Inn for our last night stay in Los Cabos before flying out the next morning. This booking was done via email through their web site. We received a confirmation on the booking and printed it out to take with us. This was very fortunate as when we arrived at the inn, they said we did not have a reservation and they were sold out. After producing the confirmation, they admitted that there was a mistake and proceeded to find another room for us in San Jose Del Cabo in the same historic area. The property we were sent to told us that this happens frequently in this area. They said that if a property gets a better reservation request (for more nights than yours) they will walk you and take the other reservation even though you have a confirmation. The Tropicana did pay for our dinner at their restaurant which we enjoyed very much. So in the end it all worked out (despite the delayed evening and double handling of our bags). We just wanted to warn anyone who may be booking just one night to be prepared with your backup confirmation material. The Tropicana was a charming small property and we are sorry we did not have the opportunity to stay with them.

Stayed: January 2008
5  Thank sunseeker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2007

I have stayed here numerous times over the last 7 or 8 years to allow me to use FF Miles or get better fares on flights. It is a great location to take advantage of downtown San Jose De Cabo........their restaurant is good and I have never had a problem booking on line. I use it at each end of time share stays.......by the way most airlines who overnight in Cabo stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rbutera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Stayed here two nights as part of a motorcycle trip the length of the Baja Penninsula. A very pleasant well landscaped place with good beds ( though hard- mattress, no springs underneath)) very attractive Mexican tiled bathrooms, and pretty decent service. ( noticed that some rooms had new white duvet covers and others had older print bedspreads..... we had the new duvet covers) Wake up call on time at 5am on day we left and we had excellent food in restaurant. Breakfast in pool area was sparse, but ok with tasty coffee, granola, fresh fruit. This inn is right within walking distance of gallery district, main square, and several nice restaurants ( Morgans I and 2, Antigua etc.). Only negative is that staff told us there were toilets at Santa Maria Beach - and there were not. However, the snorkeling was nice - this beach is about 15 minutes away toward Cabo San Lucas, off the four lane.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 km away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
366 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
93 reviews
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
268 reviews
2.1 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#25 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,272 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $106 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing