We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pretty, clean and dog friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
388 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“pretty, clean and dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were travelling through and decided to stop the night in San Jose. It was very frustrating trying to find a decent hotel that would accept our standards poodle, so finding the El Encanto was a relief. The room we were given (in an annex across the street) was attractive and quiet with a nice private garden. The rooms are well maintained and spotlessly clean. The downtown location was entertaining - we were able to step outside and be in the middle of the gallery tours. We only stayed one night, because were on our way to Todos Santos, but we liked the El Encanto enough that we will come back in the future to stay a few days. The staff were charming and helpful. The only complaint? A coupon for breakfast in a nearby restaurant is provided for guests, but the food and coffee were not very good.

Room Tip: annex rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thanks you for your comment, I really appreciate your valuable feedback and for letting know other travelers of your great experience with us and I proudly confirm that we are dog friendly!, for us the dogs are one more member of our families!, that’s why we are more than glad in offering accommodation to our guests’ dogs.

We really love to take care of our rooms and public areas as well, trying to ensure that we deliver great service and great accommodation, certainly our location is perfect for all our guest who loves to walk around and discover what does the town and its people have to offer, there are a lot of things to do just steps away!.

I want to thank you for your comments about our staff, I need to mention that our people, make the difference, they are really nice and attentive, delivering authentic Mexican hospitality, exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Finally but not less important, I want to apologize for the inconvenience with the breakfast, actually I have reviewed this issue with the restaurant owner in order to ensure that we improve the quality of the breakfast.

We look forward in seeing you again!, please let me know when you come back, I would like to welcome you personally, remember that the Encanto Inn is, “your home away from home”, and of course “your dogs home away from home”’,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    116
    27
    13
    14
See reviews for
58
158
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a great experience there, service was wonderful, the hotel had a very private authentic Mexican villa feel. It was clean and the staff were wonderful, both Edwardo and John Paul gave us valuable information about where to eat and what to do in town. I would definately recommend anyone staying there with or with out children. Karen and Paul Gerencser

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such positive comments in Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time at our hotel, and experienced the personal service from our staff, they really make the difference!, Eduardo has been congratulated for his outstanding service, he is one of many associates who love to take care of guests and going the extra mile to achieve best satisfaction of our guests.

We are proud to offer an authentic Mexican experience in our beautiful hacienda style hotel, taking care of every single detail of our guests, from their needs in the rooms and during its travel to the information of activities and what to do in town to spend a good time.

Your recommendation to other travelers is very much appreciated!,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent five nights ealy april in Encanto Inn. The management and personnel is very helpful and professional and took excellent care of our needs.

Our suite was overlooking the garden and the swimming pool and we could enjoy the view of birds watering in the garden fountain from our balcony. The room was on the street side and was somewhat noisy during the night because of music played in the neighborhood. We constructively suggest the hotel improves the isolation of the room on the street side and renews the bed sheets

The hotel is located in the historic town center and around it you find a great mix of art galleries, shops and restaurants and music at night.

In all we had a very pleasant stay and recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments about your experience in our hotel, our staff really makes the difference, delivering great service with the traditional Mexican hospitality to all our guests, making them feel at home away from home!.

I want to apologize for the inconvenience with the noise in the neighborhood, we are located in the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo with many restaurants around and a lot of people on the streets walking around all the time, we will think in the isolation as a project for the next year.

I kindly inform you that we do have finished with the renovation project of the 100% of our bed sheets!, every single room features new towels, blankets, pool towels and pillowcases!, I would like to invite you to come back to the Encanto Inn and experience our renewed bed sheets!, where I would like to welcome you personally, once again thanks for your comments and for recommending our hotel,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at El Encanto for 4 nights in March. We absolutely loved the ambiance. They have done a great job of making the whole area pleasant with tasteful but colorful decorations, natural light, and green spaces around the pool. They were extremely helpful, arranging rides to the airport, even checking us in for our flight! The place is perfect for independent travelers who want a mellow environment rather than tons of amenities. Some amenities, though, are the on site spa and the pool. I got a spa appointment for the same day. We loved walking down the street to the breakfast restaurant, which is off site. The breakfast was great, and the walking around El Encanto is a great mix of authentic Mexico and art galleries, plus some more modern restaurants.
We were traveling with two children under 5, so the large suite was awesome. We got the 2 bedroom pool suite on the second level, and it was huge. We had our own small porch, huge living room, kitchen, and two large bedrooms. I would highly recommend this place for adventurous families. Our kids are pretty quiet so I didn't feel like we were ruining the adult ambiance, but if your kids are high energy the pool and grounds might seem small for you; however there's a large courtyard next to the on site chapel to run around in and burn off some energy for small kids.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the pool side are quite isolated, which could be a plus for some and deter others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such positive comments in Trip Advisor!. We are more than glad to hear that you and your children have had a wonderful time at our beautiful hacienda style hotel, and experienced the personal service from our staff, all of our associates love to take care of our guests and going the extra mile to achieve best satisfaction of our guests!, they really make the difference.

It is good to know that you have liked the breakfast we offer, which is a Mexican breakfast excellent to start the day!.

Certainly we do have beautiful gardens and it is part of the concept, we are proud to offer an authentic Mexican experience in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo.

Your recommendation to other travelers is very much appreciated!,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at this quaint inn for 2 nights and had a room by the pool on ground level. These are the best rooms and have comfortable beds and nice furnishings. Very charming ambiance. Great if you like more privacy and away from the beach crowds. Manager John Paul was amazing and took care of all our needs. We would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: lower level by the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVRtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thanks for your positive comments, I really appreciate your valuable feedback!. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our beautiful hacienda style hotel, certainly the best rooms are located by the pool on ground level, just across the pool, where you can swim in our beautiful pool heated during cooler weather!, however, all our rooms are beautifully decorated in an upscale rustic style. Beds, pillows and linens meet and exceed the highest hotel standards.

I will be more than glad in welcoming you personally, please let me know when you come back. Be certain that you will be welcome to el Encanto Inn, “your home away from home”,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

the place is located in a really nice area, full of galleries and restaurants, we stayed week of 03/26-seemed like we were the only ones there though, there was an older couple staying by the pool suites, we stayed about 1/2 block down the street-not sure if i liked that or not.. would of rather stayed near the pool but the rooms were a little steep at $170- per night...watch out for the taxes it was about $20-a night ( I didn't realize it was that much) we got the $99-room but plus tax and everything else total $120- beds not that comfy, if y ou loose towel or keys they charge $20-extra-
It did included breakfast which was pretty good, the ham omellete is the best at Jasmines, there is a superb french bakery around the corner, try the apricot filled sugar donuts at $20-pesos a little steep but so good! staff was real nice, relaxing place, quiet pool, no bar, overall good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPSERVICE, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We would like to thank "bbsanchez" for the time to review.We publish the rates and taxes on our website but will try and make then clearer so everyone understands, Federal,State and local Tax charges. We are glad you enjoyed the Small hotel ambience-quietness. As a return quest you are always welcome to take advantage of all return guest upgrades. Thank You again for yor helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

We recently spent a week at El Encanto Inn. This was our second stay at the hotel. We had a suite by the pool. It was great! The staff is terrific. The room was very nice. I love being so close to everything in town. We'll be back.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming back to our beautiful Encanto Inn!, I really appreciate your valuable feedback for other travelers of your great experience with us!, thank you very much for your compliments to our hotel, our rooms, our great location and of course our terrific staff, they really makes the difference, delivering great service with the traditional Mexican hospitality to all our guests, making them feel at home away from home!.

I will be more than glad in welcoming you personally, please let me know when you come back to San Jose del Cabo. Be certain that you will be welcome to el Encanto Inn, “your home away from home”,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
7.3 km away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
5.6 km away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#20 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
7.6 km away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#11 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.8 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.7 km away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa ...
#25 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing