We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool experience with dolphins in more natural enviornment”

Dolphin Discovery Los Cabos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Los Cabos invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in paradise! With a range of programs for all ages, we offer family-friendly adventures with dolphins that you will never forget.
Urbandale, IA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pretty cool experience with dolphins in more natural enviornment”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The trainer was great with dolphins but didn't provide very good direction for the people. He would point and say "swim" without identifying what we were doing exactly. The activities were very hands on with the dolphins, we swam with 2 at a time. There was a photographer also present. In our group we had an extra trainer because we had smaller children in our group not swimming with parents and also a few individuals would could not swim, this definatley took away from OUR experience. I actually swam to help a 7 yr old on a boogie board, who had been pushed by the dolphins but was unable to stop because he was so small. This happened a 2nd time with a child who had been instructed by the trainer to "just hang on and not let go', because he could not swim. I don't know what the parents were thinking! If you like photos, you have to purchase them imediately after the swim. They do not have it set up online where you can order them once you are back home. 1 photo is $25 and it doesn't get cheaper if you buy more. As a group of 4 we were offered 2 discs for $140. But declined. All said and done...the dolphins were amazing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamplesEvrythng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    253
    114
    43
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So worthwhile our family would do it again!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our family booked the Royal Swim package through the Dolphin Discovery website. I would recommend looking there for specials if you plan on going, as we booked during a 20% off special. Our children saved their money to do this activity, and we were unsure if it would be worth the money, but we were very happy with the value of the activity. We spent almost an hour and a half in the water with the dophins (this package included things like dorsal tow, foot push, and an unexpected bonus of kayak time), and our entire family participated.
For no extra fee you can use a wetsuit, towels, and a locker (I think it was a $5 deposit for the locker). There are outdoor shower facilities for rinsing off afterward, and the washroom facilities are nice and clean.
As for the photos, yes, they are expensive, but do try to negotiate. We discussed pricing with our photographer, and then came to an agreement on what price we would pay for all of the photos he had taken of our group (almost 120 of them). It would have been a shame to leave without photos of such a memorable experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 519snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun, but really expensive”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

$240 for the 4 of us, plus $150 for the picture DVD. But it's a once in a lifetime thing, so we sucked it up and paid :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DTurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Dream come true”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Dolphins are fantastic! Magical. Too bad we couldn't tak pictures

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 42Moore42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun, but too expensive”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The swim with the dolphins was great but they won't allow the observers to take any photos. At the end of the swim they try to get you to buy their photos (minimum $US 25). I think the cost of the swim is enough and the sales pitch at the end for the photos makes you feel ripped off. One free photo should be included with the price of admission.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Los Cabos also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing