We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful break”
Kittiwake, Upper deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake, Upper deck
Kingsize bedroom en-suite View from garden of deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Kittiwake, Upper deck
Kingsize bedroom en-suite
View from garden of deck
Aerial view of Hope Cove
Upstairs living room
Additional seating/beds
Our crab and lobster fishing boat
Sue demonstrating crabpot making
Willow crab pots made by Sue
Apartment suite bathroom
downstairs bathroom
Family bedroom
Downstairs kitchen
Kitchen
Walking on Bolt Tail
View from Bolt Tail nearby
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hope Cove, Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LynIpswic...
Ipswich Suffolk England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful break”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a very relaxing couple of days in Hope Cove. The accommodation was very comfortable and nicely furnished with every little extra that you could think of. Plenty of kitchen equipment if you want to eat in. Sue was very welcoming. The village is so unspoilt and very pretty lovely place for costal walks. There's a couple of hotels and restaurants and a friendly pub where we ate twice. Hopefully we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

10 of us stayed at the beautiful Kittiwake cottage for a friends wedding, the place was stunning all the rooms were beautiful with fresh flowers, candles, bathrobes etc, Couldn't have asked for more and when we did (best man forgot his cuff links) the owners were soo helpful and kind to us. Would love to stay again, and I would defiantly recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LateGappe...
Christchurch England
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations.”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were looking for a reasonably priced rental for a long weekend away in February. Kittiwake was very reasonably priced and we had the whole of the upstairs. 2 lovely bedrooms. 2 bathrooms a sitting room /kitchen / dining area and hallway. The quality of everything was superb and it was so well equipped. A short walk to the beach and cliff path. The only tiny potential problem for anyone not so agile..both bathrooms have baths not walk in showers and the shower is hand held and low down due to the sloping ceiling. Ample hot water though and it wasn't a problem for us. A super place. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windmill2...
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A top quality, extremely comfortable, cosy and relaxing break.”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were a group of four mums, leaving children, partners and chores behind for a weekend! We certainly felt the 'wow' factor when we arrived, as Kittiwake is beautiful and extremely spacious. The very good heating made it toasty warm too, which was much appreciated during the beautifully sunny but very cold February weekend. The furnishings were gorgeous, the beds and bathrooms especially making us feel that our own homes could do with some serious up-grading!

Sue and David were away during our visit, so we got a little confused when we first arrived, walking into a lounge and kitchen that felt like someone's home ...it was their home! But we soon sorted ourselves out and enjoyed the luxury of having so much space to enjoy. We used the two bedrooms downstairs and all the upstairs. We slept so well!

We had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant just round the corner and happened to meet some of Sue and Dave's friends there. The next day, we enjoyed a long walk along the coast and a good pub lunch in Thurlestone (turn inland by the shed on the edge of the golf course). The weather was perfect for February, cold but bright. It showed Hope Cove and the whole area off beautifully during the day and showed us a great starry sky by night.

We would thoroughly recommend a holiday in Kittiwake. We didn't want to leave. Thank you Sue and Dave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An ideal family holiday”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our 4th visit to "Kittiwake" and as always was a real pleasure to return.
Dave and Sue are very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, we have enjoyed delicous crab and lobster from Dave, a wonderful treat!
Hopefully we will return soon, many thanks to you both!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigelmalc...
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sadly, only a three night stay......”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Yet three nights in this part of the world is incredibly restorative. Scenically, the coastal walk eastwards from Hope Cove to Salcombe must rate with the finest in the country. Simply stunning and great for bird watchers, look out for Peregrines around Bolberry Down. Likewise the walk from Hope Cove to Bantham bay is very picturesque but an altogether easier hike although the stretch of coastal path from Hope Cove to South Milton is currently closed and a detour inland via track and road is necessary adding 30 mins or so to the walk.

We have stayed in Salcombe and Hope Cove many times over the years but this was our first stay at Kittiwake. The standard of accommodation is superb. Everywhere is tastefully furnished to a very high standard and very well equipped. We stayed upstairs in a self contained flat which could have accommodated six or more people quite easily. A particular delight was the marvellous array of books both fiction and non fiction (art, local history, natural history, cookery etc) which we would have liked to spend many more hours browsing.

The owners, Sue and David, were very welcoming and we didn't feel as if we were intruding too much. Our Retriever was made very welcome and Sue had provided a basket and feeding bowls for her. Fortunately Maisie (dog) was on best behaviour and didn't let us down. They also have a lovely, well tended garden which guests are welcome to make use of.

David is a crab fisherman who owns his own boat and fishes out of Salcombe. He will bring back (and cook!) crabs or lobsters if asked, weather permitting. We enjoyed an enormous cock crab one night and brought back some lobsters to enjoy at home. Both were fantastic and well worth the money.

Reasonable food can be enjoyed at the Hope and Anchor Inn but the Sand Pebbles has a more extensive menu especially if you are after fish. The Cottage Hotel is more expensive but you get excellent service.

Kittiwake would make an excellent base for exploring this part of the South Hams and is thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather which was glorious.
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonJoa...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flexible sleeping arrangements for large group - perfect”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed as a large family group with oldies and teenagers for our wedding. Susan was so accommodating and flexible on all levels. The rooms were lovely, clean, bright, and the upstairs self contained flat perfect for our varied needs. Couldn't have asked for more. Sue also did the flower arranging for our wedding in the small Methodist Chapel in the square and my wedding bouquet - it was perfect, just what I had envisaged. We stay in Hope Cove a lot but never ay Kittiwake before. We would definitely book again. Thanks Sue!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendliness and flexibility of Sue
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing