We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spot, decent food but rude manager”

The Hope and Anchor
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely spot to enjoy a drink with friends, perfect for a sundowner. We couldn’t fault the position and eager to please younger staff however were left with a bad taste in the mouth following an unnecessarily aggressive outburst from the bar manager when we tried to move tables. A smile goes a long way!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank rtw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you were able to watch the beautiful sunset with a few drinks with us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 623 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in January with 6 other blokes for a few days walking the South West Coast Path.
Large pub with rooms in the small village of Hope Cove was a great choice. Serves good selection of ales & varied food menu. There was live music on one evening. As it was January pub was very quiet must get busy in summer months.
Breakfast was very good and set us up nicely for a days walking.
The cafe / bistro next door also very good.
Look forward to visiting again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Beardsmore-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had gone to Salcombe on a very wet and windy day
We popped down to Hope cove for a drink
Immediately shown to a table by a very efficient head of house
Ordered a bottle of white wine
We saw lots of great food coming out and a lot of large groups eating
I had a table booked for dinner elsewhere and my partner decided to get us to cancel and have an early dinner
We ordered the seafood platter for two at £26 it was absolutely delicious
And came with plenty of bread chips and sauces
This place is dog friendly and children friendly so if that’s not your bag don’t go
Would highly recommend for impromptu dining

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Johneroberts59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed you food with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Really good food and fast service. Dogs are also allowed. Not sure if you can book as we just walked in and got the last table.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 220travel2011220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed you food with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Myself and family love this place. Super happy memories eating lobster, crab, mussels, cod, steak, overlooking beautiful sunsets at the cove.

The staff are always super-friendly, very well trained and professional, and work as a team in constant communication via headset radio. Darned impressive operation when it's busy.

Food is always perfect, totally fresh and delicious. Great wine and ale selection. Super family-friendly. Great vibe and location, live music occasionally.

Great experience.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoy our menu and our team spirit, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hope and Anchor also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Hope and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing