We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
83
52
33
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
52
33
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street noise stayed in a junior suite beautiful lobby beautiful hotel wooden shutters ceiling fan old world rooms are spacious reception staff the heart of the city the main square sitting area colonial building colonial mexico included breakfast hot water plaza
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 190 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here for several days with friends in January, 2006. We were not disappointed! It has the feeling of days gone by, with a beautiful lobby and friendly staff. It is centrally located which is quite important. Great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Disastrous from start to finish. First, they got our reservations wrong. Booked only half the rooms. After a long stand-off, they tried to make it up by upgrading one of the rooms to the master suite. Well, the suite wasn't ready. It took a team of very surly staff a long time to get it ready. Meantime, the streets had turned mean. Two of our group were harassed at night on the way back to the hotel in the evening. To top it all, no room service at night.

The next morning, breakfast was pathetic. Ill-prepared and badly served. Check-out took forever. And the whole time, this air of apathy hung around the place. The staff just couldn't be bothered.

Definitely seen better days, this one. Such a majestic building going slowly to seed. Time for a management shake-up if you ask me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singhy_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This beautiful Historic hotel right in the center of the historic district, is an absolute gem. The rooms are furnished with lovely antiques imported mainly from Europe, and all linens are plush and monogrammed.
It is ideally situated for shopping, tours and close to many excellent restaurants. The hotel restaurant is also top notch. All meals are elegantly presented and some dishes are amazingly delicious, such as the cream of artichoke soup, the best I've ever had.
We have recommended this hotel to friends who were delighted with it.
We also plan to return on an annual basis, since it is now our home away from home and a truly romantic getaway. The city is our favorite in all of Mexico.
I would recommend a suite overlooking the lobby. Much quieter than an exterior facing room, and extremely reasonable. We paid roughly $130 a night which included breakfast. The suites have floor to ceiling windows and an excellent view of the gorgeous lounge and its grand piano. Now about 150 years old.
One minor warning, the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned. Personally, I find them charming and part of the overall ambiance. They are very clean, huge bathtub in our room, and the towels and bathrobes first class all the way.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mexigal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2010

In the midsts of beautiful, historic Morelia - Loved this hotel: opulent, eye catching, full of history..the lounge is quite stunning.

Stayed in 2 different rooms- the junior suite was wonderful, with antiques and a great view across to the magnificent cathedral. The standard room was more simple, with too much noise from the central courtyard-lounge...

Morelia is terrific - and this is the place to stay in style (ask for a quiet, roomy room)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonartist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. We had a substantial discount, and I think without it the hotel wouldn't be worth it. It's a great location, right on the plaza, but that also means you have a lot of street noise. The rooms were very pretty and clean, and the staff was very nice. I loved all the antiques around the hotel, and they have a beautiful stained glass ceiling. The simple breakfast was also included and very filling, and if you want to pay for the buffet it's delicious. But the service was horribly slow. I think we waited an hour to get our food so by the time we finished it was lunchtime. But if you want to spend the money, this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews