We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$38
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$43
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Real San Juan(Morelia)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aeropuerto Morelia(Morelia)(Great Value!)
US$32
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
82
52
33
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
52
33
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde mendozastreet noisestayed in a junior suitebeautiful lobbybeautiful hotelwooden shuttersmain plazaceiling fanold worldpiano playermiddle of townrooms are spaciousreception staffnice breakfastsitting areacolonial buildingcolonial mexico
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 187 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Staying in this hotel is to experience the charms of Colonial Mexico. It is beautifully appointed with wonderful antique furniture, portraits from another era, and a strained glass atrium ceiling in the lobby to die for. The rooms are spacious and generously furnished. The American breakfast which you can add to the room is worth every penny, and the dining room is elegant with good service. I recommend a cathederal view room because it provides you with an opportunity to people watch that can't be beaten. Don't worry about the noise because if you close the heavy wooden shutters on the windows silence reigns.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral room suite on the first floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeraldineOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very nice historic building, but needs to be refreshed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here for several days with friends in January, 2006. We were not disappointed! It has the feeling of days gone by, with a beautiful lobby and friendly staff. It is centrally located which is quite important. Great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Disastrous from start to finish. First, they got our reservations wrong. Booked only half the rooms. After a long stand-off, they tried to make it up by upgrading one of the rooms to the master suite. Well, the suite wasn't ready. It took a team of very surly staff a long time to get it ready. Meantime, the streets had turned mean. Two of our group were harassed at night on the way back to the hotel in the evening. To top it all, no room service at night.

The next morning, breakfast was pathetic. Ill-prepared and badly served. Check-out took forever. And the whole time, this air of apathy hung around the place. The staff just couldn't be bothered.

Definitely seen better days, this one. Such a majestic building going slowly to seed. Time for a management shake-up if you ask me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singhy_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This beautiful Historic hotel right in the center of the historic district, is an absolute gem. The rooms are furnished with lovely antiques imported mainly from Europe, and all linens are plush and monogrammed.
It is ideally situated for shopping, tours and close to many excellent restaurants. The hotel restaurant is also top notch. All meals are elegantly presented and some dishes are amazingly delicious, such as the cream of artichoke soup, the best I've ever had.
We have recommended this hotel to friends who were delighted with it.
We also plan to return on an annual basis, since it is now our home away from home and a truly romantic getaway. The city is our favorite in all of Mexico.
I would recommend a suite overlooking the lobby. Much quieter than an exterior facing room, and extremely reasonable. We paid roughly $130 a night which included breakfast. The suites have floor to ceiling windows and an excellent view of the gorgeous lounge and its grand piano. Now about 150 years old.
One minor warning, the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned. Personally, I find them charming and part of the overall ambiance. They are very clean, huge bathtub in our room, and the towels and bathrobes first class all the way.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mexigal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews