We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Callejon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Casa del Callejon
Ranked #36 of 59 Puebla B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent one night here and whilst it didn't make a huge impression on us, there was nothing majorly wrong with our stay. The building is quite lovely, and the central courtyard is a very pleasant place to sit and have breakfast. Our room was spacious and the shower was great. It was one of the cheaper rooms but online some other people who've reviewed here, we didn't have any problems with the noise next door. The mattress was extremely hard, which we didn't mind, although some might find it a bit annoying. The shower was great.
Breakfast was fresh fruit, coffee and sweet rolls - they could probably improve things by serving some bread and cheese. All in all it was a very affordable and pleasant place to stay for our one night in Purbla.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJudeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a very pretty, colonial hotel in a terrific location. It is just a couple of blocks from the zocolo and we were there on the weekend when street markets surrounded it. I highly recommend going on a weekend if possible as the markets were interesting; some original crafts, antiques as well as the usual items.

The room was simple and beautifully decorated with colonial furniture. The bathroom was large and tiled and supplied with nice big towels. Because of reading other reviews, I requested a quiet room and we got one that faced the inner courtyard instead of the street, but the club music did penetrate the thick walls - nonetheless, I slept well and we were warm enough.

I say quirky because while the staff was very, very kind, there were a few things. Breakfast? No one told us about any breakfast although we did see a few people eating in the courtyard one morning and wondered about it.

They said they had parking (and this is not unusual in Mexico) but what they really meant is they have a place somewhere else that you pay, at a discount for parking.

I wasn't too clear on the housekeeping service, though we were there for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday so perhaps they weren't working? One day they came, another day they didn't. Overall though, the place did feel clean, well cared for and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This bed & breakfast is adequate for staying one night when en route elsewhere. It’s plus side is the fabulous central location – very close to the cathedral in Puebla. Breakfast was coffee and juice and some pastries. All the room were ensuite though it was a little chilly in the winter – there were plenty of extra blankets provided. Not sure why they couldn’t take payment for the rooms on credit card so we paid in cash. Rooms were clean and en-suite. Can’t ask for anything more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosey5nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

PROS:
-Very well situated. Next to a couple of hip cafes and just a few blocks from the Zocalo.
-Rooms are colorful and charming.
-Staff were accommodating and spoke decent English.
-Breakfast was decent as well. Had local pastries and coffee.
-Free wi-fi
-Balcony that looks over the bustling street.
CONS:
-We stayed for 3 nights but the staff never came in to clean our room.
-Freezing at night but the staff offered us a space heater.
-Can get noisy since the B&B is right above a frenzy market.
-Lighting in room is rather dim.
-Bathroom has leaking issues, leaving puddles on the floor.
OVERALL:
-While my partner was sick while we were in Puebla, the staff was helpful in getting us boiled water for his medicine. For the location, this B&B offers a great value. Excellent restaurant choices are within a block. A good choice for a stay in Puebla.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingydingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

The hotel is both historically interesting and centrally well located. I was told the structure is originally one of the many residences built by Don Agustin de Ovando y Villavicencio, a very wealthy and connected Spanish Merchant from the late 18th century. It has some 6 or 7 rooms, which circle a central covered patio where continental breakfast is served. It has the feel of a B&B, but the breakfast could be considered too simple for the average American expectations.

Once situated in it, you don't need to hire too many taxis to get around, since so much of the old city is within comfortable walking distance. This, I would say, is it's main attraction.

The staff is friendly and helpful, albeit rather limited (the front desk person is the same as the one who carries your bags, and the one who brings you the breakfast). This was not an issue.

Here's the "one thing": There is a discotheque in a building next door. Much to my surprise, the double 4-inch thick wooden doors and solid adobe walls do an incredible job of keeping the noise out, and thanks to Puebla's 7,000+ ft. altitude, closing the doors does not heat up the room too much (there is no air conditioning). So the music does not impede sleeping. What I did have trouble with is the cars that come by around 3:30 or 4:00 AM honking their horns. It only happened twice (I assume it was somebody picking someone up from the club), but it did wake me up each time. I assume that this is only a problem on Friday & Saturday nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this nice family-owned hotel. The rooms are comfortable, affordable and nicely styled. Breakfast is served in the nice colonial patio. Outside, you're immediately in the old city-center and "the barrio des artistes", with nice restaurants and live music everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marleensxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

located in the historical center of Puebla, near markets and burs, 2 blocks from the zocalo. all the 5 rooms of the second fl. are beutiful and large, clean, colonial stile.
we had a very good time there. also, the service was very kind.
one can get tips on Puebla's highlights from Diego, one of the family owners, who speeks fluent Eanglish.
enjoy...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.8 km away
Suites La Concordia
Suites La Concordia
#65 of 95 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 km away
Nueva Luna Hotel Boutique Spa
0.4 km away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#26 of 95 in Puebla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Meson San Sabastian
Meson San Sabastian
#54 of 95 in Puebla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 km away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.5 km away
Suites 201
Suites 201
#22 of 59 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Callejon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Callejon

Property: Hotel Casa del Callejon
Address: 3 Oriente No. 603 | Col. Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Callejon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a colonial hotel that is family oriented, right in the middle of downtown puebla. with a antique market and crafts market every saturday and sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa del Callejon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing