We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
pool Suite from the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Entrance
pool
Suite from the water
passing by boat
kitchen
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gayle C
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Villa Santa Barbara is a beautiful casa located on the canal in Barra. It is a short 5-10 minute walk to town and the ocean- or you can choose take a water taxi which picks you up at the dock of the villa and drops you off in town! There are lots of great restaurants, shopping and groceries all within walking distance.
The owners, Barb and Barry, we're very welcoming - the fruit basket, wine, basic groceries and dinner on the first night were a nice touch and very thoughtful. Our suite was well appointed having a fully eqipped kitchen, fridge, stove, microwave and BBQ. The shared space around the pool area includes a large palapa and your own deck loungers and sun umbrella.
I think the most important part was that Barb and Barry do a fantastic job of making their house feel like your own home while you are there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thank you both for being so gracious and helpful! We loved having you stay with is!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbieAud...
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay in Barra!”
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a quaint, lovely, little boutique hotel. We were greeted by the owner, shown around the property and felt more welcome than we ever had before! Barbara is friendly and very informed about the entire area.
There’s a water taxi that takes you to shopping or restaurants. It’s amazing! We loved it and will go back soon. Don’t miss Villa Santa Barbara if you’re going to be in Barra de Navidad.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2017
Thank you both for staying with us and we hope to see you again.I very much enjoyed you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redflower...
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our stay was truly wonderful, the suite beautiful and comfortable. The location just perfect and easy to get around. Our hostess planned everything and provided everything we could possibly need she was also available to answer any questions and provide info on the local town and the best places to go,as well she was a lovely and easy to talk to woman,we had a perfect stay and would stay there again as our stay wasnt long enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Thank you for staying with us,you were great and I very much enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances P
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
“Five star condo”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful pet friendly condo which has everything you need. Home away from home with a touch of luxury. Fabulous location, everything is close by. Our hosts were amazing. WIll definitely return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thanks for being the perfect guests Frances and we are not normally that pet friendly but when we heard the story of these little sweethearts we could not say no. We fell in love,can not wait to see all of you again
thanks so much,
Barb and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammyphx2...
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of Barra!”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a terrific property with delightful hosts. The photos do not do this unit justice - everything is designed and decorated with guest comfort in mind. Huge walk-in shower, double sinks, large fluffy towels and robes highlight the luxurious bath. The bedroom features a comfortable king bed, large closet and lots of drawers for clothes and personal items. Although the tropical breezes and well placed ceiling fan negated the need, the bedroom has air conditioning available. The kitchen is fully equipped and this unit includes a private outdoor barbecue. The living room floor to ceiling sliding doors showcase water views and original artwork that captures the freedom and adventure of a good vacation. We enjoyed afternoons lounging in the pool or under the palapa. The home is situated on a corner lot on one of the Barra canals, ensuring natural cross ventilation. Excellent wi-fi too! Highlight of this property are the gracious hosts - from the home made meal at the end of arrival travel day to suggestions about area activities, Barbara and Barry are the best. Solid referrals for drivers, boat captains, restaurants, bars, grocery stores, shops and day trips - they never steered us wrong. This property is a gem! We'll be back & will recommend it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - easy access to all that Barra has to offer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machiasri...
Snohomish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed 2 weeks and it way to fast. Barb & Barry are really nice and a great help knowing we're eveything is. Really liked Barra. A lot quieter then Melaque. $5.00 or 60 pesos one way taxi from Barra to Melaque. Fun watching the fishing boats going by. Great pool and room. Nice ceiling fans. Didn't need to use air conditioning and it was 86 or warmer some days. The bed is wonderful! Just a really nice place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandVi...
Gibsons, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a terrific, relaxing week at Villa Santa Barbara. The premiere suite was attractive, clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. Our hostess, Barbara, is a talented artist and her work decorates the walls - in fact, we liked it so much we bought one of her paintings. Barry and Barbara were friendly, hospitable, considerate and accomodating hosts. For example, when we mentioned that we would like to go kayaking in the lagoon but were having trouble finding kayaks to rent, Barbara got on the phone and got us kayaks from some neighbours. Barry also took us and the other guests on a boat ride out to the lagoon and over to the Grand Hotel. And... I can't forget to mention the delicious dinner Barbara had waiting for us in the fridge on the day of our arrival!
The property is about a 5 minute walk to the beach and the village or a $3.00 (30 peso) taxi ride. The Mexican people we met were very friendly and patient with us when we attempted to communicate with our very limited Spanish vocabulary. We also met some couples who are part of the community of Canadians and Americans who spend their winters in Barra. We understand the attraction and will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
You were both so easy to be around we missed you when you left.We look forward to having you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing