We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely owners, just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here in January for a couple of nights. It was very reasonably priced, even for a suite. All the hotel rooms with a balcony had a lovely view of the beach, and the pool is a really bonus! The owners were really friendly and very happy to help, we were able to extend our stay for a few hours while waiting for our return journey at a really good price. The hotel is minutes away from the main beach and restaurants, and a short walk from some of the quieter beaches and the market. Food was good, and internet access made the stay thoroughly enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here last novembre, what a great experience. A very friendly yet professional, family run establishment. Sergio couldn't have been more accommodating. Set back from the craziness of the beachfront this hotel was calm and relaxing but not too far away from anything. Unique and affordable rooms plus a beautiful view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms based on budjet to some extent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I know....why do you need wi-fi in a relaxed place like Puerto Escondido? Well, we are addicted to our e-mails and news at home and Facebook. So we were quite unhappy when the signal either couldn't be found by our computers or wasn't strong enough to get to the third floor. We tried connecting at the restaurant, also without success, though did see people connected there the following day. The signal never worked in four full days in our room.

Otherwise, the hotel is very beautiful. It is on somewhat of a hill, so it has very nice views of the sea, one beach, and possibly the sunset, though not in January...the sun sets too far north.
Though it is not a new hotel, it has been very well taken care of. The suite that we stayed in on the top floor was in excellent condition, and very spacious. Given all the space, I have to say that it could have been better furnished to be better utilized...for example a workdesk, and more comfortable chairs. Also, there was not a three-prong plug, and my friend had a laptop that needed an adapter to connect....in vain, after we found that there was no wi-fi.

The pool area seems nice enough, though we didn't use it much, preferring the beach. My friend took a short swim one evening without comment.

The front desk people were quite friendly and helpful regarding directions.

The service in the restaurant at breakfast was quite slow, even when not busy. I had my companion order an unwanted coffee so that I would have a second cup ready when I finished mine.

All in all, though the hotel and room were clean and spacious, and the location good, I would probably try another place next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Friendly staff, Lovely swimming pool for cooling off. Rooms very clean and comfortable, small library of second hand books in various languages. Bar with cold drinks and hot snacks close to pool. Close to beaches and bars / restaurants but not too close to hear late night party scene. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confusanation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in Hotel Paraiso Escondido during the Christmas / New Year period. We booked at the last minute and Sergio, the manager, worked to accommodate us.

The room was clean and comfortable. The water was hot. Everything worked. Some things were a little tired and worn and quirky. For example the air conditioning unit was old and rather noisy. The grounds and building are spectacular, with a lush lawn and nice pool. Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean.

Sergio was a godsend and super helpful. He speaks excellent English and was easy to deal with. The rest of the staff were friendly and helpful.

The location was perfect. We were just far enough up the hill to catch a slight breeze, but close enough to the beach and amenities that it was very convenient.

Hotel Paraiso Escondido is not the cheapest hotel in town, but offers good value. I would highly recommend it to travelers who want a little extra in their accomodations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have easy access to the pool and patio area, but may be a little lacking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirdnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is beautiful, quiet, and has an old-world charm. The hotel and grounds are decorated with artistic touches. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to do anything for you. This is a place to escape the hectic world - to relax and enjoy. A real gem.

Room Tip: An upper room overlooking the pool is the best location - you can also see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Nice location close to all. Lots of history to look at in this place . Service was good . No problem
If you want old style Mexico this is a place that has some of that

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
315 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#26 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
84 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
182 reviews
14 km away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
209 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ribera del Mar
Hotel Ribera del Mar
#45 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso Escondido

Address: Calle Union 10 | Street next to Banamex Bank, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paraiso Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique hotel in Puerto Escondido, just like being in an old Mexican Hacienda. Colorful, peaceful, excellent location, great service, staff and view to the bay. Paraiso Escondido is really your best bet for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Paraiso Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Escondido Hotel
Paraiso Escondido Puerto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing