We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
104
36
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
36
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool and bar minute walk crowning glory covered area central atrium mid november painted doors expansive views large deck waves crashing the upper deck breakfast and dinner english speaking twenty years quiet at night the room was nice night stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 149 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2016

This is the second time my sister and I have travelled to this small hotel. It feels like home. Joanne and Paul, expats themselves, treat you like family. You meet people there who come back year after year, some stay for the winter. It is a place you want to come back to. The rooms are basic but immaculately clean. The price of the rooms is very reasonable. The staff is wonderful. The restaurant serves absolutely delicious cuisine with an Italian flair and is well known throughout Puerto Escondido. The restaurant is filled every night with expats. The location of the hotel is great, about a two-minute walk down the lane to the beautiful Playa Zicatela, a popular beach area with stores and restaurants that you can stroll safely along in the evening, or you can sit on the rooftop of this hotel sipping wine and gazing at the stars. Writing this makes me wish I was back there right now.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank cyntav44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2016

This is the friendliest place to stay in! Since coming home I've told friends it's the type of place you can wear your pyjamas to breakfast! It's small, intimate and attracts Canadians in particular. The clientele is very loyal and many of the people we met had been there year after year, meeting up with each other. Despite that it was very easy to join in with everyone. Sundowners on the roof at sunset, or alternately at Lisa's, next door; such an easy place to be. Everyone was welcoming.The restaurant is excellent, headed up by Joanne and managed by Pedro. Paul and Joanne, the owners are easily accessible and are a wealth of info. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MogadishuMogadishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2016

We loved this little hotel like a home away from home. The owners, Joanne and Paul were welcoming and warm and eager to make us comfortable and look after our every need. The meals were very good and they also booked tours for us. It was handy to the beach and had a wonderful terrace and swimming pool with a view over the beach where we could relax away from the heat.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony as they are cooler
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

Been coming to Puerto Escondido for many years and have always thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this little gem of a hotel. The innkeepers Paul and Joanne are amazing. The food in the restaurant never disappoints. It is not a resort so if that is your thing look elsewhere. It is a clean, quiet family run hotel about 60 yards from the beach. Hammocks are always inviting you on the rooftop terrace/bar. No hesitation to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2015

Hotel Flor de Maria was highly recommended on Tripadvisor so we decide to check it out. It is a real find! First, for many people, it is quiet at night. At Mexican beach resorts, the bars and discos play music at full volume till the wee hours. Flor de Maria is on a very quiet side street. The hotel is beautifully designed around a patio filled with plants. The rooms are large with super overhead fans. You'll appreciate the sink/dressing area outside the bath room with a large mirror and good lighting. The best beach is steps away (Playa Marinero; Zicatela is also nearby but usually has red flags posted) and restaurants are a short walk away. The rooftop pool is great for cooling off when you are sunbathing but the hammocks under a thatch roof were our favorite. We had a nice breakfast there but since it was low season, that was the only meal offered. We met the owners and they were so friendly. This will be our beach hotel from now on.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies and ocean views but we had an interior room with no outside window and it was fine.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews