We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
154
113
52
22
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
113
52
22
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa sol beach club bento pollo pool area shuttle pez pools ocean gracias sunset
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 367 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Hotel is very pretty and clean & the workers are nice.
---Hotel is VERY NOISY with construction that is worse during the day but right now (5:15 pm) I'm hearing construction noise also. Sunday they were constantly hammering until 6 Pm.
--When we booked it said breakfast was included in the price and right now, on trip advisor says "BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED". We are getting charged so we asked a manager who said it's not included anymore. PLEASE CORRECT THE LISTING.
--The beach is very close (< 1mile) away, has a nice pool with lots of chairs but you need to take a taxi or the hotel shuttle (starts at 10 ends at 3pm, I think). There's also a pool in hotel courtyard - very nice. There seems to be a beach towel shortage, couldn't get any day 1 so we are just bringing them back to the room to reuse them. P.E. is known for having great waves, surf is very rough and the ocean is warm & beautiful, just be prepared.
---The room is very basic. TV, remote controlled Ac, stand up shower, a few outlets. There is only one closet for hanging clothes, no other shelves or dressers for holding items. A shelving unit would be a nice addition.
---For disabled folks, Mexico in general isn't a great place to go if you require a wheelchair, and this hotel is the same. There are lots of steps, some have steep ramps beside them.
-- Puerto E. is gorgeous and the people are friendly and nice. The taxis are very inexpensive as is the food.
-- There is a hotel restaurant on site and also one at the beach club open for lunch (and dinner Fridays). The food has been hit or miss.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Aragon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Suites Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Thanks for sharing your comments!

We're sorry about the noise, we're remodeling the rooms so we had to take some days to hard working.

The breakfast is included in our regular rooms rate,and probably you book with a promotional rate, by the way we're glad you had good days in Puerto Escondido.

Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Desk: not very helpful, not great attitude
Bar/restaurant staff: extremely nice and friendly
Breakfast: Excellent buffet choice every morning
Bedrooms: OK. Sort of spartan. No chairs to sit. No shelves or closet, just a hanging bar.
Room service: forgot to bring fresh towels couple days.
Pool: not as large as it seems in the pics
Location: Good. Away from the crowds and noice downtown. Twenty minute walk to main bay, and 15 to a most beautiful beach (Carrizalillo)

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. First floor are the best rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Aragon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Suites Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thanks for your review Irma. Very complete. We will find what happened, and work on that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

The good parts: Hotel Villasol is situated in a quiet neighbourhood outside of the slightly down at heel main strip of Playa Zicatela, about 5 minutes by plentiful & cheap taxis. There are glimpses of the Pacific from some parts of the property and the gardens and pool area are well maintained. The young staff are friendly and keen to help where they can. The beach club is located on a very nice beach & Villasol runs half hourly shuttles between the hotel and the beach club. However unfortunately there are also some not so good parts. Its not apparent from the website but there is a very big difference in room quality between rooms without a balcony and those with. Make sure you get an upper level room with a balcony. Its very much worth the extra MXP200 per night. There are a few odd things about this place. We were told they have fewer beach towels than guests so they are always in short supply. Room service is very late in the day so beware if you have returned from a day at the beach expecting a tidy room. Beautiful sunsets are a feature of this part of the Pacific Coast. Unfortunately the beach club and the shuttle shut down before sunset so we enjoyed marageritas and the sunsets elsewhere. (Nearby Villa Cazaralillo is spectacular for this). On checking in Villasol they took a deposit on my credit card but booking anything to our room seemed extraordinarily difficult each tme I tried. You need to carry cash at all times. Also make sure you keep all your receipts - the hotel system runs well behind so like us you may be challenged after checking out whether you have in fact paid up. Maybe they've had a fraud problem in the past but its not an attitude I've ever come across before in 35 years of travel. This could be a great hotel. The junior staff try really hard - they just badly need some good systems and a bit of good leadership.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Aragon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Suites Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thanks for your comments. We will work on them.

I hope you visit us again soon. We're making many changes. You're gonna like the new rooms. Ask for Deluxe Rooms ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Only complaint is no comfortable place to sit in the room. Bed was comfortable. The staff was very good; friendly and very helpful. That includes every one from reception to maid. Great food in the restaurant. The beach club is wonderful. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Aragon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Suites Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thanks for sharing your comments, we´re glad your enjoy your time here. We're having many changes in rooms and beach club, so don't stop visit us.

Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

My kids had a good time since they spent most of their time at the pool. Service at the pool started great then was very slow. I think because when they got busy, the staff could not keep up. Will come back and try again

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Alain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Aragon, Community Manager at Hotel Suites Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015

Thanks for the review Alain,

We are working to improve our service and making some changes, we hope you come back soon, we are sure you will be surprised!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews