We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cactus Escondido

Infinity and beyond view from the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity and beyond view from the pool
View of the house facing the Pacific Jacuzzi on the rocks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Infinity and beyond view from the pool
View of the house facing the Pacific
Jacuzzi on the rocks
Inside main house a sunken dining table
master bedroom with ocean views
view from the sofa at dusk
view of Angelito beach from downstairs dining palalpa
view from upstairs bedroom
2nd master bedroom
infinity from anoter angle
Master bedroom terrace
View from the pool fo main lounge
Large granite kitchen with island breakfast bar withdirectly laundry room and pantry off the kitchen
Sunset reflecting into lounge
pool at night looking into main lounge
Media room/6th bedroom
Master bath
View from downstairs dining area looking back
Downstairs dining and sitting area
view from 2nd Master bdroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Puerto Escondido, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
garyweinb...
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Everything was excellent. The house is much better than the pictures reveal. Multi-level, multi- area property. 2 enclosed bedrooms, 1under a palapa (no walls), and a media room. Jackie was great, quick to reply, and checked in during our stay. Nelson and Marisol kept everything clean and cared for (especially required as the home is open to the elements. Highly recommended.
Thanks for letting us use your home for our month long stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smallfrye...
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great House”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house is outstanding. Excellent location central to all the beaches. Great snorkeling 10 mins from the house. Not a 4 bedroom house but perfect for the right combination of people. The house keepers are also very sweet and do a great job. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Home. Disorganized, hostile and uncommunicative owners”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Cactus escondido is one of, if not the most incredible homes we have ever stayed in. We booked it for a month over Christmas this past year. As the ads can be confusing, allow me to clarify the property. It is a 3 bedroom home (not 4 as advertised) with a tv room where you can sleep on the couch. All bedrooms have ensuites. Attached to the home in the back are two casitas with a separate entrance, each with a double bed and kitchenette, they share a central stove. The home and casitas are rented separately and you need to be explicitly clear as to which you are renting. In the home there are 3 dining rooms, a main kitchen and a lower bbq kitchen area in the house. There are two pools, the infinity pool and the "cool tub" down on the cliffs, plus a pool in the Casita compound. The sun goes down directly in front of the property every night.

The on site staff Nelson and Marisol are wonderful. They leave the place spotless and are excellent cooks. We had them make several meals for our family and all were delicious. Any issues we had Nelson quickly took care of them.

The location is great, you are seconds from Manzanilla beach, not far from Carrazalillo beach, 15 minutes from the Super Che (large American style grocer) and 30 min walk or faster by transport to the central market.

When we booked we were quoted for a 6 bedroom house. There were no separate ads, just two separate prices for the same home. We of course chose the cheaper and verified with the owners several times that we were booking a 6 bedroom home. Despite being assured this, and having the 6 bedrooms available to us when we arrived we were soon informed that we had only booked the 4 bedrooms (despite repeat emails from the owner stating otherwise). She became very hostile and rude. While she blamed Nelson for the mistake, I can assure you he had nothing to do with it. Her communications were nearly illiterate, numerous and made little sense. We were able to remedy the situation by paying double the trip advisor posted price for the casitas, but only after days of stress that the rest of our family would arrive and be sleeping on the couches. Had we known from the start the total price for both Casitas and the home we would have happily paid it, instead we had to go through 3 days of teeth pulling emails and stress to appease the owners.

As we later learned from friends in the expat community it is regular business practise for the owners to demand additional money from renters after they had occupied the house. They are also actually two people under multiple email addresses, hence the horrible and inconsistent communications.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would consider going back if it was under different owners. You will love staying at Cactus, just beware you may be in for an emotional headache.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Trace paid and booked the house then expected to have the two caistas free
He used the casita free for several days which he did not pay for
Agressive and uncommunicative guest who expected free accommodation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowatravl...
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been traveling over 25 years ( Staying at some of the finest resorts and rentals ) and this property is at the top of our list. The pictures you see on the web site don't even begin to capture the beauty of this property. The decorating is beautiful you are just at aw looking around at all the nice things on the walls etc. We stayed the month of Feb 2016 and we never got tired of looking at the view from this property. The staff on site were incredible the way they took care of the grounds and cleaned inside and out was fantastic. Always there to answer any questions. Jackie ( the owner ) checked in by email to make sure all was well and if we asked her something she responded back almost immediately. The location of the property is perfect close to the beaches, grocery store, shopping and dining ( Cabs 25 pesos to go anywhere ). We never go to the same place twice but this is an exception. We have already booked it for next Feb. I hope this was helpful . Feel free to email me if you have any other questions about the property randyroussel@live.com

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave and go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara2366
méxico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
Google Translation
4
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Gracias por tus comentarios
La casa esta situada en el promontorio frente el oceano y se beneficia de la brisa del mar y tiene ventalidores de refrigacion. Si tiene que dormir en un refrigerador creado por una maquina de aire acondicionada, alta huella de carbono esta casa no es parati
Israel sabia la casa no dejase tiene ac pero alquila mi cas no se porque. Habia ventalidores extra pero no pidio para ellos. Fue el deciembre calluroso de la historia, gracias el nino/
Por un cuota por seperado negociado la parajea qui trabaja por nosotros va a cocinar algunas comidas no se inclui I alquiler . Israel optio por tener dos personas por menos 20 USD par dia El tiene necesidades dieteticas especiales. No puede comer gambas ostras langostas y algunas carnes. El invitado siemre compra la comida o le dice a la pareja que compra
Yo estaba alli en deciembre y disfrutamos de dormer en las habitacionesy toda la comida cocinada por encima de mi personal.
Si no le gust dormer en habitaciones tan frio como Antartida – piguinos no se suminstran pero puede ver pelicanos – Nos encantaria darlle bienvenida a esta pedazo de pariaso especial
Lo siento por mi pobre espanol Nelson y Marisol el personal habla perfecta mexicana y tienen hermosas sonrisas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing