We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
33
15
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
15
4
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 59 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

Why in a nice place , the restaurant is so terrible!
They make us 2 horrible sandwiches ( hope to feel good tonight ) with frozen fish fillet still like a stone and another one with no taste e frozen beef! Why do you do this? Good bye and good luck. A lot . You need.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaChicatana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Chicatana, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho que tu experiencia con nuestra hamburgesa consentida no haya sido lo que tú esperabas.
Desde luego que agradecemos mucho tu feed back, ésto nos ayuda a poner más atención en el día a día. Y aunque tu post nos sorprende, nos inspira a cuidar (todos) nuestros detalles.
Por favor, la p´roxima vez que visites Puerto Escondido, ven a visitarnos. Esperamos ésta vez obtener tu visto bueno.
Saludos Cordiales
desde Aukate, en Casa Chicatana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2015

This hotel / hostel is right across the street from Zicatela beach. I was given a second floor room facing the ocean. I had a small balcony where I could sit and watch the ocean. The property is clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Joe at the front desk speaks excellent English. The pool in the back was cool and refreshing. I bought some charcoal at the store next door and used the community BBQ grill. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an inexpensive place to stay without all the frills. I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

I originally passed this place over due to all the party photos, but I'm glad I walked by and asked if they had rooms with a view (lady next door said they did). One-hundred and sixteen steps (yup, counted) later I had the best view in town and a hammock - which was exactly what I was looking for. The room was clean, and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Very nice people. The place gets loud at night down below...but up at the top all you hear is the ocean. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank SEPDXHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Ive traveled all over and this hostel/hotel is amazing. Has everything you want, great location, good price, good food, kitchen (2 actually), a good pool, a bar, great staff and I can't say it enough great location. 10 second walk to beach. Im going back asap!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jazzistica, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Chicatana, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2015

Thanks for your staying with us.
we are happy with your visit.
Please, come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2015

We had a few decent days in the Hostel. The Restaurant is quite nice with good value. Also the pool is very good.

Unfortunately one guy of the staff waited for our snorkeling trip on 6:00 am to enter our room and steal money from our luggage. He used the second key for our room which we didn´t receive on our check-in. The other employees couldn´t / wouldn´t help. Very very disappointed experience. This is why i strongly recommend not visiting this Hostel!

Room Tip: Please take care that you always get all the keys to your room. The staff won´t give every key to you and enters the rooms afterward for stealing purposes
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jazzistica, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Chicatana, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2015

Thank you very much for your feed back, we are extremely sorry your experience with us was not what you hoped for. An atmosphere of trust is fundamental to our philosophy at Pakololo.
Please write to us via facebook or pakololohotel@gmail.com, we would love to hear from you.
Sincerely,
the Direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews