We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Weekend!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Ongar Bell

Take a seat at your very own bar!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time! Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time!
Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Art deco backdrop behind the bar
The dining room with exposed original beams
The living room with a real log fire
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in blue
En suite double bedroom tastefully decorated in black and white
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in green
Double bedroom with bay window, tastefully decorated in gold
Spacious landing
Large family kitchen with American style fridge freezer
Kitchen double doors open out on to a spacious terrace, perfect for al fresco dining!
The Ongar Bell, an impressive landmark on the High Street
A perfect place to relax in your own lounge bar
Patio area
Garden area
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
High Ongar, Ongar, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard S
Chinnor, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Weekend!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the Bell with a group of friends for 40th Birthday Celebrations.

Everyone had a great time and Keith and Yvonne could not have done more to ensure our stay was perfect.
Accommodation very stylish and comfortable , We especially like the Bar and Hot tub 
Already planning next year’s weekend @ the Bell.
Thanks again Keith and Yvonne for an amazing weekend.

Richard and Claire Simpson.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoJo599
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Christmas to treasure”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We said we would come back to the Ongar Bell & luckily we were able to at the most fabulous time of year...Christmas! We spent a whole week with our close family & had the best time ever. Yvonne & Keith & staff again went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. The decorations for Christmas were gorgeous and the atmosphere wonderful. The kids being together with their cousins and grandparents at such a special time of year couldn't be beaten and it was great recuperation for Grandpa who was recovering from recent heart surgery ,with everyone to look after him. A stay at anytime of year is fantastic but the memories of Christmas 2012 will last forever. A wonderful addition since our last stay is the new outdoor hot tub area. Absolutely fantastic! Not sure what else can be done to make The Ongar Bell any better-to us it's perfect and we can't wait to be able to return. We hope! Definately recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Christmas time together with loved ones
Liked least: Once again...leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
471MrsInn...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Essex in Style”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We came to the Ongar Bell in a large group for a best friends Hen-Do. I must say that from the moment we stepped through the door, we know we would have an excellent time. WE booked the Ongar Bell due to it's proximity to Sugar Hut in Brentwood where we went on the Friday Evening as it is a short taxi ride away.

The Ongar Bell has such well apointed rooms, a beautiful garden, and amazing private pub, you couldn't ask for more from a location. We all hope to be back at some point in the near future, especially as the owners mentioned they were planning on installing a large hot-tub at the ottom of the garden. This is a venue not to be missed, and very convenient if travveling from London as you are in the countryside within an hour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michellea...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We hired the Ongar Bell for our wedding reception and honestly could not fault a thing.  We were heavily involved in the planning and finer details which ensured that the day was absolutely perfect.  We hired the house a few days before the wedding and stayed for the whole weekend which meant that the whole experience was incredibly relaxed and we made the most of every single minute.    Keith and Yvonne are absolutely amazing hosts, we felt entirely at home throughout the planning and up to the big day - they were so warm and welcoming that we felt part of the family and have truly made friends for life!   The food was outstanding and it just kept on coming!  We had an amazing, intimate family meal the night before the wedding, for which we sat in the beautiful garden.  Our families are proper 'foodies' and everyone was blown away by the standard of the food and the service we received.  The day of the wedding started with a beautiful champagne breakfast in the garden and with everyone getting ready in the surrounds of the beautifully furnished rooms.  When we got back from our ceremony the house was transformed into the ultimate wedding reception venue, with a bar area, marquee and stunning garden, alight with fairy lights and candles.  Our guests could not stop commenting on the uniqueness of our venue and how lovely Keith, Yvonne and all their staff were.  Everyone felt at home and our photos reflect an amazing day with everyone having such a fantastic time.   The beauty of having the house for the whole weekend meant that the day after the wedding we could host an impromptu bbq in the garden - so many of our close friends and family came back to relive the night before and continue the celebrations!   We would not hesitate a single moment in recommending the Ongar Bell for any special occasion, it really is a magical, and very special venue....enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the venue.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Without doubt - everything!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful location with a personal touch!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My family and I stayed at The Ongar Bell in May 2012 for my sister's wedding. The happy couple was looking for a location that would provide a personal touch as well as a place that could offer them a unique and original setting. Luckily they found The Ongar Bell and visited to book their big day.
As soon as you walk through the door you feel as if you have been there before. The friendly, warm and vivacious welcome you receive stays with you throughout your stay. The house itself is just as welcoming as the owners, Keith & Yvonne. Needless to say all of our friends and family fell in love with The Bell the moment they walked through the door including all who helped to make the lead up, the wedding day and the days after a blissful place to share your most memorable moments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food - Exceptional, The hosts - Exceptional, The Ongar Bell - Exceptional.
Liked least: You couldn't possibly not like anything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PauletteP...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The Ongar Bell where magic happens”
Reviewed June 22, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is our second visit to the Ongar Bell. Our last visit was a birthday party where money was raised for McMillan Nurses. From the moment we arrived we were made feel special and their work and organisation was amazing. The food was absolutely wonderful, not only wonderful quality but copious amounts Yvonne and Keith are two very special people who put their heart and soul into making everything special. We can't wait to go back again soon. If you choose this venue for wedding, party or corporate events you could not choose a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hospitality
Liked least: The End of our stay.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing