We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
155
113
68
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
113
68
18
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 366 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

If you are using the hotel just to sleep, it would do the trick. Its not very well located, but its cheap and very decent. Breakfast is very frugal but ok. Parking is free, but there is not too much space for the cars.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Luisitorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

This is their business model so it shouldn't come as a surprise, but for those not familiar with this chain it helps to know what to expect.

The hotel is clean and functional, but the rooms are like student dorms with basic ikea furniture, a miniature bathroom and a cheap mattress. Towels look like they have been used a million times. The walls had skid marks. Breakfast is free but very limited and served in disposable dishware.

On the positive side, the hotel has a strong environmental policy. Wifi service is good, and front desk staff is helpful. Being in the university area, there are plenty of options within walking distance, such as restaurants, bars and cafes. The city center is about 15 minutes by taxi and worth a quick visit.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016

City Express San Luis Potosi Zona Universitaria is a small hotel that provides quite simple accommodation in a quiet and safe area of the city that is about 20 min away from the historic downtown area. It is conveniently located within easy walking distance to a supermarket, a beautiful park, a bank, a small coffee shop with snacks and public transportation. The rooms are not big, but mine was clean, and everything worked. I had a room on the 4th floor, which was quiet although the hotel was fully booked. My friend, however, got a room on the 1st floor next to the housekeeping staff, and that room was quite noisy. We stayed in the hotel for three nights, and every morning she was woken up around 5 – 6 a.m. by the housekeepers, who just got to work and were quite noisy getting ready for their shift.
Although everything was very functional, there were a few things that were not available in the rooms, and that made the stay a bit uncomfortable: it would be nice to have a coffee maker in the room as it seems the hotel does not provide any; also, it would be convenient to have some face cloths in addition to the standard set of towels. All those were just minor inconveniences that could be seen as some areas for improvement by the management.
The major things that you should be aware of if you considering this hotel are the following two: there was no safe in the room to store passports, credit cards, money and other valuables; and the sink tap in the bathroom was practically a sprinkler. There was no way to use the sink without being wet all over because the water from the tap would come out splashing around, leaving everything wet and covered in tiny drops.
Breakfasts in the lobby were quite good and quite standard. I am not a picky eater, so they worked for me. The hotel does have a gym, but it is very small and only has three machines.
As I said, it was an OK but very simple stay. If I come to SLP again, I will most likely stay elsewhere unless they fix the taps and put safes in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MiroToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan T, Guest Relations Manager at City Express San Luis Potosi Zona Universitaria, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Dear MiroTor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us further to your visit over the Holidays. We’re delighted to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, namely due to the service offered by all the colleagues. Regarding the safes in the room , we do have but in reception,if you want to use it, it does not have extra charge and you just have to tell the receptionist, regarding the taps , we will fix them to provide you the quality you diserve. We’re also glad to know the central location of the hotel, close to shopping, restaurants and public tranposrtation, was convenient for you.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back.

Kind regards. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

The staff is very nice and quite helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and private; although we could hear the TV on the room next door.

The relationship between price and quality it's very good; it's a reasonably priced option with very good and comfortable rooms. I

It also offers complimentary breakfast.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlen c, Guest Relations Manager at City Express San Luis Potosi Zona Universitaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2015

Dear Manuel M,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments with the tripadvisor community, it's such a pleasure to know that City Express San Luis Potosí Zona Universitaria exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2015

This was my first business trip to San Luis Potosi. I didn't even know the name of this city. Location is good. I felt very safe even at 10:00pm. Convenience store is very close and many coffee shops are open. Room was large and comfortable, staff members were very friendly. I cannot have any complaints with this fee.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlen c, Guest Relations Manager at City Express San Luis Potosi Zona Universitaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2015

Dear Henrypapa,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments with the tripadvisor community, it's such a pleasure to know that City Express San Luis Potosí exceeded your service expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews