We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March 24 - April 7 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“March 24 - April 7 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

You know when you look at a brochure and think this place is too good to be true, well on this occasion the brochure was right and possibly didn't do this hotel it's full justice.
Set at the end of a half mile drive and with natural jungle on each side a warm welcome is guaranteed as soon as you roll up outside the lobby, no queuing at reception you are taken to a small room and served champagne and canapes whilst you go through the formality of checking in and then whisked to your room by golf buggy.
All the rooms, villas and suites are painted in the same colour and connected by a series of pathways, don't be surprised that for the first couple of days you end up getting slightly lost getting back to your room especially at night - I did.
The gardens are extensive full of tropical plants and are kept immaculate.
You will more than likely come across Iguanas and Racoons on your walks and the bird life is spectacular.

ROOMS - We stayed in a Junior Suite with a beach location. The room was large and incorporated a king size four poster bed, bath with jaccuzzi,shower,WC,2 wash basins,TV and DVD,minibar. The room was spotless and was kept that way by our maid. The minibar was restocked each day with water, soft drinks and local beer

RESTAURANTS - 5 A LA CARTE restaurants on site serving Mexican, Italian, Oriental, International and Grill cuisine. In addition there is a Sandwicherie serving pizza, burgers and burritos at lunchtime. There is no booking system for the restaurants, it is on a first come first served basis, they can be quite busy between 1800 and 1930 but are open until 2200. Didn't have a complaint regarding the food it was all to a high standard in each of the restaurants.
Room service is available 24 hours

BARS - Seven bars located within the complex, the Guacamaya is open until 0200. In addition there are two more located on the beach- drinks can be ordered from your sun bed up until about 1600. A good selection of spirits, cocktails and beers are available, all international brands are available.

BEACH - a long and narrow sandy beach is located from the centre of the complex up until the right hand side boundary, to the left of the complex there is no beach as the coral reef extends up to the shoreline. As a natural coral reef is located here it is advisable to wear some form of footwear when swimming although not essential as there are large patches of sand.
Sunbeds and four poster beds line the beach, however not all sunbeds have shade and there is a 0700 rush to put towels on the best ones - yes I hold my hands up I did this.
The beach is constantly swept and kept free of seaweed throughout the day.

POOLS - if you don't fancy a dip in the sea there are two large pools and in addition some rooms have swim up pools.Sports and activities are centered around the activities pool.

SPA - there is a spa within the hotel complex where you can get a wide range of massages etcetera. There is an additional charge for these but the price can be negotiated beforehand.

SHOPS - three gift shops located on site one offers jewellery. These can be a little expensive so If you are looking to buy souvenirs then a taxi trip to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen is worthwhile - cost about $10.
A warning, if you are going to use a taxi let the Concierge book it for you, the price is fixed, if you go on you own the price can be expensive and not guaranteed at the end of your journey

ENTERTAINMENT - this is where possibly the hotel lets itself down slightly, there are nightly shows and live bands playing in the Guacamayas Lounge. Some of the shows are well presented but a couple during my stay were poor. In addition Karaoke and a sort of Mr and Mrs quiz was also presented which are definitely not my cup of tea

TRIPS - I'm not usually one that takes advantage of these as I usually find them overpriced but I did take two and I can recommend both to you. The first was organised by Thomsons and took us to a Mayan Village, the temples at Coba, a Mayan market and finally to a splash pool in the jungle for a refreshing swim. The second was organised by the Hotel's own tour firm (located in he lobby) and was a Jeep Safari to Sian Ka'an nature reserve, this involves an hour and a half drive through the reserve to Punta Allan, here you will then have a snack and board a speedboat which takes you through the mangroves and then into open water where yo can spot dolphins and turtles and then spend time snorkelling, then it is back to Punta Allan for lunch.

STAFF - I don't think I have met such friendly, helpful and dedicated staff anywhere else on my travels, everyone had a smile on their faces and greeted you with Hola - expect to say that at least 50 times a day.

SUMMARY - Stunning location, first class hotel, wonderful staff, amazing holiday. It was probably the best holiday I have had and would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone. See you next year

Room Tip: Rooms near the Mangroves tend to suffer a slight smell from them (south side of the complex), howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,366
    1,528
    509
    226
    149
See reviews for
218
6,115
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

First of all Location: We were so far out of civilisation I expected Bear Grills to meet and greet us and teach survival skills! Pack travel sickness pills as you will need a long drive.
Resort: If you are looking for a 5 star resort then book a real 5 star hotel. Unless you spend your life savings on tipping the staff then you will be treated like a left over taco. The hotel policy is no booking the 'gourmet' restaurants, you just turn up to be told there are no tables where you are dumped at the nearest bar and will be collected when one is available, unless you are American or complain the most, then suprisingly you are propelled like a rocket above everybody else who have been patiently waiting (especially the Italian restaurant)!
The rooms are really nice, the maids are friendly and do an excellent job without constantly giving their 'tipping' hand some exercise by holding it in front of you!
Puerto del Carmen is well worth a visit as the beaches are actually sand!! and not crushed coral like El Dorado where you get a free pedicure everytime you dare have a wander along the beach. ps Look for the giant Barracuda who hangs out in the bay - frightning!
pps - Do you know it takes a full 9 months in Mexico for a child to be conceived and born...disgraceful!
This is irony, I apologise but could not help it...if you have had the will power to read through this tripe - bloody great!, faultless but the bit about the itailian is true! I had to wait and drink great cocktails and G&T for over an hour....what the F XX

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EMillsWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Dear Guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We also value your feedback as this helps us to improve and keep offering the best experiences.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards,

Andrea Duerre
General Manager
aduerre@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

what a great place the staff could not do enough for u stayed first 2 weeks of march i am a very fussy eater cannot eat spicey food or like sauses just plain food took a couple of evening meals to work out but spent the rest of evening meals in the italian restarant and was looked after by the manager and his staff who went to great lenghts to help me all other meals taken at beach grill and restarant for breakfeast and luncht he room was second to none 4018 was our room no. played vollyball everyday and did a lot of other sports ext met some great people and maybe the sea could be cleared a bit of the rocks which they where doing when we lefthad a couple of days out to tolun and playa del carmen on our own using the local bus if u like to walk take a walk along the beach to the right of the hotel right along the beach u will come to the tip where u will find a sea water pool at another hotel who did not mind us waking about i hope money pemitting to return one day

Room Tip: our room was 4018 and we thought it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raythepostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My boyfriend Scott and I stayed at El Dorado Seaside March 26 2012 to April 2 2012. Our room number was #4126. This was our first time we had ever stayed at an all inclusive resort anywhere. We were not sure what to expect. I know everything was beyond our expectations. All of the staff was very polite and always had a smile on their face. The food was excellent. The activities that the entrainment staff did were great. Tasia and Roger do an awesome job instructing the aqua class at noon. We really enjoyed the fire show as well as Caribbean night. The resort always looked green and clean. The rooms were fresh and clean. The gym was clean and the music was very upbeat. We always felt like we were welcome where ever we were in the resort. I think the thing we like the most, was by the end of the week we were starting to get to know staff by their first name and they were starting to know us by our first name. The Concierge Serjentro helped Scott set up a beautiful romantic dinner. Ricardo was our server for the evening and he did an amazing job. I'm not sure who decorated the room, but all I can say is WOW! We painted 2 ceramic candle holders at handicrafts. The candle holders looked spectacular when they were finished. We booked a day trip to Xplor with Anna from Lomus Travel. Xplor was a thrill Scott booked a Scuba Diving trip with Pablo and Alberto at the beach. The day Scott was Scuba Diving I stayed behind and enjoyed a massage and facial on the beach from Lilana. Eva from the Sandwicherie was teaching me Spanish as she served us daily. That was great because my Spanish is not very good. Denise from Caribe photo took beautiful pictures of us. We got rain on Wednesday and Ceaser stopped his cart and gave us a ride back to our hotel room. The bartenders Freddy, Fransico and Alahandro were excellent at Guacamayas. On Wednesday night we stayed in the room watched a movie and ordered room service which was also fantastic. There was never a dull moment on the resort. When we needed help with something there was always someone there to help us out. On our last day at the resort we also received a couple’s massage at the beach which was a great way to end our vacation. We look forward to going back in 2013.

Room Tip: We did not upgrade to a swim up room and we were very happy with that decision. The patio doors lock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lytasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having been reading trip advisor before we went, we knew that the hotel would be lovely but other peoples interpretations can be different so we were still holding back judgement until we arrived. All we can say is that the hotel lived up to all the positive reviews here!! On arrival we had champagne and spring rolls which were amazing and were taken to our room which was amazing. Lots of people had reviewed saying that a swim up room is nice but it doesnt matter where you are, and i agree - We had a room that was on the top floor and loved it. We only used the beach so wouldnt have got any use out of the swim up rooms. We were in room 3626 and that was towards the back of the complex which had an added bonus of being quieter - some of the rooms are near to the middle pool which plays music (very nice and wouldnt have been a problem if we were there, but we loved our location)
Each of the hotels had something different to offer and all were nice, We went to each one and then choose our favourite from there. Food is amazing. In terms of drinks - there is everything, on our first night we were a little reserved in ordering drinks as there isnt a menu unless you ask, so here is a list of my favourites (mimosa - Champagne and fresh orange, Oasis - Mix of fresh fruit juices and at night a dash of vodka, and a chic which was a fruit smoothie with nuts in (i know sounds horrible but lovely. To be honest anything you ask for they will make. Beach was perfect, plenty of sunbeds. There is really nothing i can comment on as not nice. Whilst there we had a couples massage on the beach which was lovely and we did the romantic meal on the beach which you pay a bit extra for but made a special night. We instantly felt relaxed as soon as we arrived which is unusual as it normally takes my husband and i a while to wind down from our hectic lives, but the atmosphere and the philosophy of the hotel is to relax and i agree its completely peacefull. In fact we did well to stay awake past 11 as we were so relaxed. Even through there are lots of people, the complex is spaced out and with all the restuarants and different ares of the hotel, you hardly ever see that many people and we loved it. In terms of trips we went on an underwater world trip to snorkel with sea turtles and swim in the underground caves which i would recommend. To sum this hotel up - i would say complete relaxation and an amazing hotel. My husband and i would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EnglandLorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I have been annual visitors the past 5 yrs and it's the staff (Jesus, Angel, Omar, Anicito, Porferio, "Smiley", Village Chief, Esperanza) and their over the top service, the cleanliness and the beautiful, relaxing setting of the resort. We LOVE it!

Room Tip: Room on south side, 2nd level are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunFlowerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

When my Wife suggested Mexico I had my doubts but, having spent two weeks at this lovely hotel, I can say I was wrong. Nothing is too much for the lovely staff, you are forever saying hola...lol. Everything is kept spotlessly clean, the rooms, the restaurants, bars and beach.

The food is lovely, from the beach BBQ to the al la carte evening restaurants. A special mention to Yorlando, our beach waiter, Tribercio, our barman and Isobella from the entertianment staff.

The beach isn't the loviest but I've seen worse. The snorkeeling was a bit of a disappointment but having been to the Maldives a few times maybe I've been spoilt.

Xel-ha is a great day out although a dolphin dislocated my Wife's toe...lol

All in all a lovely place.

Now for the negatives. We received a text from Thomsom the day before our flight saying the flight had been put back from 09.30 to 15.00. As we wre staying in the Hilton it was not a big deal or so we thought. We went to the terminal in the morning to see the flight had been out back to 16.00. Only an extra hour or so we thought. We went through passport control at Midday, did a bit of shopping , had lunch and had a few drinks. Four o'clock was nearing and no sign of a Gate number. We noticed a large crowd by customer services so we investigated. People were asking about our flight without any success. The service agents were giving out pieces of paper containing a phone number and an e-mail address which, I was told, both didn't work.
As this was going on, a Gate number for our flight appeared. Great or so we thought. We truddled to the gate, went through and sat down. An hour went by before the Captain and Chief Steward appeared ( the only two from Thomson who get any credit from this debacle) and told the Gate staff to get on with it. We eventually boarded, an old First Choice plane which had seen better days and sat down. It was soon obvious there was no air conditioning. We noticed people working on the engine at the back as we sat in the Gate, obviously was not fixed. About an hour later at 17.45ish we took off.

On the flight home, still no air conditioning and only 3 toilets.

All in all, a great holiday. Would I go back?....Yes....would I fly Thomson? As Virgin are flying direct to Cancun soon I seriously doubt it.

Room Tip: Room 3604 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDSS S, Gerente at El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest,

Great to hear you had a great holiday while staying at Sensimar Seaside Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience, your opinion is truly important for us. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities, food and specially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to keep offering the best service.

We are looking forward for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than glad to accommodate your requests.

Best regards
Andrea Duerre
General Manager
gm@eldoradoseasidesuites.com.mx
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
35.3 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,855 reviews
11.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
7.7 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
3.4 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
29.3 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya

Property: El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
El Dorado Sensimar Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing