We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“lovely honeymoon location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lovely honeymoon location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous honeymoon. Spent 10 days at Sea Side Suites ( followed by a 4 day visit to Azul Sensatori hotel closer to Cancun which is part of the same hotel group). The rooms at Sea Side Suites are perfect for honeymooners or any "couples" holidays. Very spacious and romantic, huge canopied bed which is probably the most comfortable bed I have ever experienced in any hotel room. The jacuzi bath is a real bonus and the perfect place for a glass of bubbly. Enjoyed all the different restaurants - especially at breakfast the fresh fruit bar was great. Didnt get to see much of the evening entertainment (well it was our honeymoon ! ) but the shows we did see we really enjoyed. They were varied and of a good quality.
Without a shadow of a doubt the jewel in the crown at this hotel ( and Azul Sensatori ) is the fantastic service provided by the very capable staff. nothing is too much trouble and everyone is smiling and helpful. More importantly staff seem genuinely happy to serve you and seem very happy to be employed here. We are freqent travellers and usually travel around Europe and dont recall ever enjoying this consistently high level of customer service anywhere in Europe. Hugo from the entertainment team is a credit to the hotel and Matt the Thomson rep was extremely good at his job and such a nice guy. I particularly applaud the "personal Concierge" system.
( gazebo style offices around the resort serving one or two accommodation blocks) staff at these offices deal with any queries or requests, provide beach towels and book special meals, spa treatments etc. they offer a much more personal service than the more usual main reception concierge service.
Im finding it hard to think of anything negative to say about the place- ok so the beach was not perfect but still very nice. The gardens and the wildlife in the area certainly make up for it !
My top tip for travellers to Sea Side Suites - do not hesitate to use the local collectivos to get out and about cheaply. Take the hotel spa shuttle up to the main road then get the mini bus / collectivo service along the highway. Go north to Playa del Carmen or better still go south to Tulum. to see the fantastic Mayan ruins there. Buses are about every 10 mins. They are very safe, comfortable and usually with air con. Fares are about £1.50 each way so much cheaper than a taxi and more fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank grandmasuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,870
    1,403
    476
    216
    142
See reviews for
197
5,529
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a lovely holiday 5-19 Apr 2012 where the staff were excellent. We had our 'spot' on the beach near the main pool, enjoying the sea breeze and excellent weather. Of special mention is the bar waitress Lucy who kept us supplied with drinks. We would have preferred mattresses on the sunbeds.
Our overall favourite restaurant was La Vida and we would like to complement all staff there. Service was rather slow in Mia Casa. The main bar and entertainment were excellent as were the activities staff. We enjoyed the hotel's ecological tour. A good day out was a visit to Tulum followed by watersports at Xel Ha organised by our tour operator.
We had super rooms with a good supply of hot water and towels.

Room Tip: we were in block 17** which was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I just visited El Dorado Seaside April 13th to 20th, 2012. Amazing resort, area, etc.
While there I was wishing I had my computer to write a review immediately. I really don't know why people are complaining about the AC not working or it being outdated, etc. My AC worked too well. After the first night I just shut it off. I did not see anywhere at this resort that was outdated. From the marble floors in the rooms to the restaurants. They chefs are great at putting out a good variety of meals to chose from, as this is a Gourmet Inclusive resort. You sit down for all meals... the closest you'll get to a buffet here in continental breakfast @ the main restaurant. Even then they will do eggs to order, have French Toast, etc.
So... I travelled solo! Yep, for the first time I went on a vacation by myself leaving kids and hubby home. It is adults only. BUT I did feel like it was more couples only. That got a little old towards the end, as this is my ONLY complaint.
There was a couple there leavinga and not wanting to pay for their charges cause they didn't like the decor or landscaping. I TOOK PICTURES OF THEIR LANDSCAPING. So cool... instead of using rocks as fillers they used cocnuts. They're everywhere. This is also an eco-friendly resort and at one of the other El Dorado's they have a HUGE garden where they grown all their own vegetables, etc. They use the coconuts from their own trees to make drinks. It's just a great place! They ocean floor is pretty rocky, but this is at the 2nd largest coral reef in the world, but... the beach is great. I fell asleep a few times after the server came ONTO the breach maybe one too many times with drinks. :-) NICE!
I went into Playa del Carmen a few times... I guess you can walk to the main gate and catch a $5.00 public transportation OR do what I did and grab a cab from lobby for $23.00. It's about 40 minutes away and for 40 here I couldn't go anywhere in a cab for $23.00.
Lots of people go to and from town.... just split a ride there and that'll save you half.
I also went to Xel-Ha... an amazing waterpark. Not slides! Rope swings, cliff jumping, dolphins, a REAL lazy river, Iguanas everywhere, hammock jungles, restaurants and bars. AND... your ticket gets you all the food and drinks even. And all-inclusive park. Pretty cool!
I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS TO YOU! It's very tasteful, elegant, calm and relaxing!
Oh... I did notice noise as that is a big complaint to some. I had room 2502. It was directly between the main lobby bar (which is outside and under a thatched roof) and the swim up bar. And beachfront. I had the best room there. It was noisy at night, but after two nights I got very used to it. And every morning about 2 or 3 am these crazy loud birds starting howling. More howling, less singing. That was annoying, I will admit. But by the end of the week I was wondering if someone finally did them off or I just don't even notice them anymore. Very small price to pay for a fantastic trip!

Room Tip: Room 2502. My room was the closest room to main bar, swim up bar and beach. A little noisy at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a great holiday at this resort.

Well looked after by really friendly staff in a really great location set along the beach.

As mentioned elsewhere (and by the marketing blurb) the hotel offers a la carte dining and the selections on offer were superb. The Mia Casa Italian is the classiest place and gave us some wonderful food. The Mexican place was very good also, a bit quieter but none the worse for that. We only ate at the Asian place once but were royally looked after. Dinner in one of the sky palapa's was a real treat too (you'll pay extra for that though - see the helpful concierges dotted about). Try a Mexican breakfast too - chillies and peppers in the morning shouldn't really work but the plate of food I had was ace!

The room was great, spotless, lots of space, big huge bed, cracking shower and jacuzzi bath. We loved the "towel animals" made by the chamber maid each day - swans, elephants, rabbits, even a dinosaur one day! Our air-con packed in one day but they had it repaired in about 30 minutes.

Not a problem getting some space on the beach or getting a proper 4 poster bed now and then and great service while you were there. We used the spa services which were right on the beach too with the waves lapping in behind you - lovely!

There was the occassional wait at a bar while we were there and inevitably you'll pay a bit more for the privilege of the a la carte dining and branded drinks but overall this was a great holiday and we would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank craigfyfe1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We would have given a 5 star rating but for the beach>>> The service was brilliant the staff could not do enough for us and they were pleasant at all times even though they worked so hard and long hours.The best food was at the Mia Casa & the staff were great especially Marco & Roberto who made my birthday so special.We had a beachfront suite and it was worth the extra expense,the suites were spotless and cleaned every day if you so wished.The beach barbeque & the sandwichiere were good if you did not want to eat inside. This is a small resort compared to others but we found it more intimate and personal overall we would recommend it just beware the>>>early morning cabanna grabbers,we could not believe the time some people got up to put towels out even though the signs clearly said not before 7am.Being at the front we had such fun watching the antics if we happened to be up ourselves.The beach was the only let down staff were digging up rocks in the water all the time we were there and the sand is very shingley, but Angel the beach waiter was a pleasure to know.The evening entertainment in the bar was rather poor a bit 1980's for 5 star other than the mexican entertainment which was very good.Overall a lovely place to stay and relax, and be looked after.Its just like the brochure says.

Room Tip: Book your own trips dont go through the reps - taxis are reasonable and safe or book at the diving h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Perfect holiday! All the food at every restaurant was first class - had one cold meal one evening in Mia Casa & the manager soon replaced it with a fresh meal ( not the original one warmed up!).
Never had to wait for a drink refill! All branded drinks. Champagne bellinis on the beach & Baileys nightcaps with as many cocktails or beers as you want in between!
Staff are so cheerful & helpful - especially in the Sandwicherie where we ate our breakfast outside every morning.
Ok so we had a garden view room which maybe needed a bit updating but it was spotless & very spacious - comfy bed, great shower & huge bath! All areas in the hotel from the gardens to reception are immaculate.
No problem finding a four poster bed on the beach every day.
All in all a fab holiday.

Room Tip: As said our garden room was very quiet - spoke to someone in the swim-up rooms by the main bar &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holidayqueen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
red deer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff & resort were great, also the food was very good. out of 100 people we were with we
never has one bad comment about the food.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are great & have great access to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdhRedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
34.8 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,037 reviews
11.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.3 km away
El Dorado Seaside Suites
El Dorado Seaside Suites
#108 of 382 in Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
3.5 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
2.3 km away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa

Property: Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa
Address: Km 95 Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Seaside Suites)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Seaside Hotel
El Dorado Seaside Suites Mexico
El Dorado Resort Spa
Hotel El Dorado Seaside
El Dorado Seaside Resort
El Dorado Spa
El Dorado Seaside Mexico
Eldorado Seaside Suites
Eldorado Resort
Sensimar Seaside Suites & Spa Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing