We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Quebec
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We went to the Barcelo Maya Beach at the end of February. The site is wonderful, very clean, a lot of vegetation. Everything is not too far (5 to 7 minutes walk between everything). The rooms are very clean and the mini bar is filled every day. The food is very good and the restaurants are good too. Except maybe the Mexican restaurant which does not offer that much different food from the buffet. The evening shows are very nice. They usually are an hour long which is perfect. The service was pretty good overall. The two negative things are the wine and the beach is not that beautiful if you compare to Varadero or even Punta Cana beaches. We snorkelled every day at the hotel, near the pier. There are a lot of fish there. Overall a great vacation and a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank serena68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,137
    2,240
    748
    336
    237
See reviews for
2,632
2,775
71
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Barcelo has a seemingly nice deal going, in which you get a greater discount for booking farther in advance on their web site. And there's no credit card run up front. My family had a week planned for my daughter's 16th birthday. When I emailed to reconfirm our room request three days before our scheduled departure (we had confirmation emails from when we made the reservation), they said our reservations had been cancelled. No explanation, no apology, either from customer service or the hotel manager. Their only answer was to offer to put us in a different hotel for two nights in a lousy location (middle of Cancun) and then move us. We declined. This is a bait and switch operation, in which they kick out clients at lower rates if they get higher rates. To be avoided.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We booked 1 week here February 2012 and were extremely pleased with this resort. The grounds are beautiful -lots of foliage, the pools are HUGE, and our room was very nice and clean. Service here was excellent, food was very good with a variety of restaurants to choose from. They have 2 very large theaters and the shows were excellent! The lobby bar - opened 24 hours! We have been traveling to Mexico since 2000, although this was our 1st stay in Riveria Maya -would definately go back ((:

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank retired04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have been to this area 4 times now and have stayed at a different resort each time and haven't ever had a complaint. We love Mexico!

Overall, the rooms were average but clean. Our air conditioning didn't work and the maintenance crew did try to fix it, but at best it still only worked about 50%.

The service was the Pitts. I waited on more than one occasion at the swim up bar for over 10 minute before being served.

In the buffets the food choices were hit and miss. There was always a huge assortment of choices but not something for everyone. Unfortunately, we were unable to make reservations for a la carte resteraunts, as they were always booked or lack of availabity until 10pm or later.

We were misinformed upon check in that we were able to visit the other buildings for dinners if we paid extra, which we did do on 2 occasions and we encountered the same hit and miss service at the Barcelo Palace.


The entertainment was decent overall, however each night they kicked it off with a spotlight on Tina Turner. By the end of our vacation, my 10 year old knew all the words to "steamy windows". At first it was funny but Tina grew old on us :)

The beach was beautiful, even more gorgeous than the secrets resort we stayed at last year and the resort itself was beautiful, clean and had many activities for during the day but the poor service was enough for us not to go back or refer friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked 2 weeks for Spring Break. Despite a 'so so' experience at the Barcelo Los Cabos last March, seven of us booked the Barcelo Maya Bach and went. This is our 9th trip to Mexico in five years. We have never been so disappointed and disgusted. All we hope for is clean, good food and a nice beach. The food was so horrible and selection so small, that on day 4, we had no choice but to upgrade to 'Premium' (allowing us to eat at the other resorts on the property) at a cost of $400 USD plus tax (per room) for the remaining 10 days. We were promised upgraded rooms as well. The food was slightly better at the Colonial and Tropical, but hardly. We lived off of soup and the sandwiches, which we made ourselves. The promised 'upgraded' room never happened, instead we were moved to an identical room (after a 2 hour delay). Glasses regularly filthy. They are not washed, merely rinsed and the stench and residue are disgusting. Hold on to your own glass and wash them yourselves! Half of our trip, there was no ice at any of the pool bars or beach snack huts. Warm drinks on a hot day, not good. Staff were very unfriendly and even rude. Pools are dirty. We love Mexico which is why we travel here twice per year, we love the people, we love the culture. The staff here must be very unhappy, as we have *never encountered such rudeness. With the exception of Angel and Israel the bellboys and Marcos the pool bartender. They were truly wonderful. We had someone place charges to our room and spend 1.5 hours having them 'credited' back as we could not get a refund, despite the fact they found who charged dinners to our room. The list goes on and on, please feel free to private message me for more info. *Also, Cancun Express did not show up to drive us to the airport depsite two confirmation calls from our travel agent the day prior. We were forced to rush and pay $150 USD to taxi to the airport. We were told 'that is their problem' by the CE agent. I will return to the country I love many, many times in the future. However, I will *never book a Barcelo Hotel again, definately their loss, as our two previous trips we booked in a group of 22 and a trip of 44 of us. Stay at Sandos Playacar. We have been there twice, once for two weeks and once for ten days. It is amazing, we simply wanted to try something new and wow what a mistake.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are identical to a basic room. The only difference is location within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cupcake33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The resort had excellent service staff. They are friendly and courteous. Restaurants were hard to get reservations for when more than 2 people. Buffet food was better in the Colonial area. Show were good and provided alternative entertainment. Beach was very nice infront of Caribe and Beach sections of the property. Pool was best in the Tropical section. Colonial and Tropical appeared to be either remodeled or newer than the Caribe or Beach sections. Assistance with excursions or off property activities was poor at best. Difficult to get things organized. We had a Premier status, which helped on some items of accessibilities.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Colonial or Tropical section of the resort. The pool is better and is in the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy in Victoria BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our first trip to the Mayan Riviera and my husband was somewhat reluctant to go. We've had three sun holidays in Hawaii and love it very much, however, the beach, the water and weather were unbeatable at the Barcelo resort. I've never been really comfortable in water and am picky about cool temps, but this was truly amazing! The water was warm, crystal clear and the 2 km stretch of white sand beach was just lovely for walking or playing. The resort is huge and offers lots of strolling paths along the shoreline and criss-crossing throughout with a variety of sunny open spaces, tree shaded areas and some wooded areas that we loved walking through. The ever shy iguanas come out to sun themselves and availed us of many photo ops. They are very timid, gentle creatures so don't be afraid. My husband went diving off Cozumel, arranged by the hotel's dive club. He loved it. We also did day tours of Coba and Chichen Itza. Recommend Coba first as a prelude to Chichen. Highly recommended, if you appreciate ancient cultures. Lots of activities at the resort too and very family friendly. Would recommend it for anyone wanting a great sun holiday. We met lots of tourists from around the globe, especially the Mediterranean, and of course lots of Canadians too! I have just started to learn Spanish and staff were so polite when I foisted my poor grammar upon them! Most staff speak English quite well so that's not an issue, but I think it's only courteous to try to speak their language in their country. We love Mexico, we love Barcelo and we will be back for sure. PS: We are world travellers and temper our expectations wherever we go. We don't expect 'perfect' anything, but this was pretty close!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Notanewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,627 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
0.6 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
17.0 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,413 reviews
17.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Barcelo so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing