We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This place was amazing!! For a first time traveler to this resort I was beyond impressed. The rooms are airy, clean, and cool (in Mexico when it's 80+ degrees you want it cool). The staff is very friendly and quick to help you if you need it. The buffets are very well stocked and the all inclusive options are quite plentiful. Go and stay long enough to get a dinner at the ala carte restaurants which you do have to reserve, because it's actually worth it--esp. at Don Quixote the Spanish one. Second, book an off resort tour, they have so many and it's worth it just to see the sites of the area. Tulum is by far superior if you want to see the ruins (at least to Chechen Itza). Secondly, they don't tell you this right off, but this resort is located just south of Playa del Carmen, step outside the gates and catch a local shuttle to Playa. It's a 15 min ride for the equivalent of $2 each way. Once there, go south (toward the beach) two blocks and you're on Cinco Aveneda (5th Ave) the tourist shopping area. Also while there you can connect with the ferry to Cozumel for a day trip. Both definitely worth doing.

I was a bit surprised, they cleaned our room exactly three times each day, which was nice but a bit overdone. Nonetheless I'll be coming back to their hotels.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, so be prepared to hear your neighbors. Don't face the pool or else you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Jen C,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    637
    197
    90
    76
See reviews for
1,331
892
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I've never stayed anywhere I didn't have to go on a scavenger hunt for food, or that was anything more than a base camp for other adventures, but I won this trip from Barcelo hotels. I was a bit apprehensive, since I'd rather do as the locals do, but from the beginning I was impressed with the cleanliness and the service. The resort was spotless and the employees beyond helpful. There was plenty to do and see during the two nights we were there, even on the morning it rained (fortunately it cleared up by the afternoon!)

We only ate in the buffet. The food was good and there were a lot of choices, although most of the fresh fruit was disappointingly unripe. The drinks in the bars must not have been too strong, based on the amount that I drank! But still yummy, Corona Extra on tap everywhere was a nice touch. Swim up bar was fun, although the water in the pool a little chilly. Jaguars Discotheque an interesting Saturday night, although it felt a little more like a family wedding than a disco. All ages represented though, which was kind of neat.

One note of caution: This section of the Barcelo resort (Caribe/Beach) doesn't have the best beach. The water was warm and clear, but I like to swim in the ocean and not just wade. The coral reef starts about waist deep and you can't really go much further, unless you're wearing shoes. There was also a lot of seaweed. Of course it was still a Caribbean beach, but just a caution for those who like to swim. They did have SCUBA, which was pretty neat.

I was confused on was tips; we saw some people tipping (mostly in the bar) but not often, and there were no notes about it in any of the check-in literature. We tipped the bartenders a few times, and left a few pesos for the cleaning service, but didn't tip the bellhops, concierge, and in the buffet. Not sure what the protocol was.

The only issues were that the ceiling fan clunked; there was a very faint closed-up smell to the room and I'd liked to have run the fan instead of the a/c. Plus we could hear everything happening through the ceiling above; didn't affect us at night but we could hear cleaning during the day when we stopped to drop things off. The patio in the room was a lovely for the sunrise on our morning departure. Loved the Mayan statues and the buildings were beautiful. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Top floor if you can, the ceilings seem to be a little thin. The Sayil building has a view closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGetOutGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear TheGetOutGirl,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We (2 adults) have just returned from a week spent at the Barcelo Maya Caribe resort, and we feel great. Service is very good, the resort is beautiful and always kept very clean. There were a lot of families with young kids, but there's room to spare for all, and either at the beach or at one of the various pools you can relax and enjoy your vacation. Food is always plenty and the buffets have a lot of variety. Although the food at the buffets is good, at the restaurants (you have to make prior reservations) it is excellent. On our first night we were put on a room on the bottom floor (the rooms are in buildings with 3 floors) and we were awaken very early by some very noisy upstairs neighbours. However, after we contacted the manager about it, we were promptly moved to a room on the top floor for the rest of our stay. This new room was very pleasant, quiet and peacefull. All in all, it's a very nice resort and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Bruno S,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel was wonderful! Full of friendly staff that are eager to help, clean environment and good food!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear SNMcLeod,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I have just (Feburary 2012) returned from a two week holiday in this wonderful hotel. We can find nothing to fault at all. Our room was comfortable and cleaned every day. Fresh towels and linen as required. The food in all the resturants was varied and plentiful and all tastes were catered for. There was the opportunity to eat al la carte and we particulary liked the Spanish resturant although the others were also excellent. There is lot to do on site, sport, shopping, fitness centre and beauty facilities. It is easy to get to Tulum by local bus or taxi both cheaper than trips from the hotel. There is a cenote just across the road. Could be walked to if you are young and fit, we had a taxi from across the road £7 return and the hire of life jackets included, a must do experience. The Lagoon at Ackamel is also a must do, not advertised much but wonderful snorkelling. This hotel is excellent for Children with lots to do at no extra charge, we are thinking of returning with grandchildren. Lots of places to sit and we never had to look far for a sunbed or hammock All in all this was a great holiday one of our personal bests. Well done Barcelo

Room Tip: We had a roon in the Labna building second floor we looked onto the gardens and Fountain lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marioncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear marioncook,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We (2 adults, one 4yo and one 2yo) spent 2 weeks here in jan-feb 2012.
* Service
Very good except when calling the reception from our room. Took us several calls each time we wanted something until they actually did something. If they didn't understand from the beginning, they acted like they did..but nothing happened.

Food service was very good with plenty to choose from on every meal. Sometimes a bit annoying since waiters were very quick to ask "are you finished, can I take your plate".

Had a leaking tap in the bathroom but they fixed it within 4 minutes from when I spoke to the cleaning lady.

* Standard
-General: Very high to my standards (without previous experience of all inclusive) with modern and pretty recently refurbished rooms.
-Food: Very good but still buffét feeling. Of course you recognice the seasoning after a while. We only tried one of the a la carte restaurants and it was definately not better than the buffét. Besides, with small children it is only stressing when they try to create a more "fine dine" environment with dress code etc, but they don't succed, still the same quick questions "are you done, can I take your plate?".
-Pools: Very good pool areas. All pools with a swim up bar. Biiiig pools in several locations.

* Sleeping
Pretty good beds although I found the sheets a bit "squeeky"?.. Made a strange squeeky sound when moving. Almost felt a bit plastic.

* Cleanliness
Cleaning was really good overall. In the rooms, in the surroundings (you would often see someone mowing, cutting down coconuts, picking up empty cups etc etc) and in the pools. Every path was cleaned from leaves on a regular basis so . Looked in the main kitchen in the buffét restaurang and it looked like a sterile space station with white tiles and stainless steel, in an enclosed area. Very hygenic was the impression.

* Location
Very good. The beach was just next to the pools and the hotel area is well designed. The hotel was over booked when we were there but we could not believe it since you would always find a good sun bed at any time of the day, and we where never more than 10 people in the pool. Very spacious obviously. Always very quick to get bar service.

Beach is nice, slightly rocky at some parts so walk slowly before you know the area.. But with our small childrens, they preferred the pools..

* Rooms
Good standard with enough space for a comfy stay.

* Children
Very well adapted for kids with plenty of activities in different clubs. Excellent pools for the youngest children as well, with shade provided in and around the pool if you wanted. Flat surfaces and ramps all around the area and down to the beach, making it very accessible for baby carriages (and we saw a couple of wheel chairs as well so I guess it´s good for those too)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Staffan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Staffan72,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Do not choose the ground floor, the room we got at first was dark and smelled of mildew. The room we switched to on the third floor, however, was very nice! Check the air conditioning so it works. The food at the restaurants was delicious. Breakfast was fantastic! The pools were large and clean. There were plenty of sun loungers and hammocks to all guests, both at the pool and beach. The beach below the hotel was very nice. The activities at the hotel was good, both at day and at evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MammaMia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear MiaZ,

Many thanks for your full review and your comments which are very important for us. We invite you to visit our website to know the new Barceló Maya Caribe

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,619 reviews
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
17.6 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
9.1 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Property: Barcelo Maya Caribe
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing