We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,864)
Filter reviews
5,864 results
Traveller rating
3,573
1,384
483
248
176
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,573
1,384
483
248
176
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yucatan building seafood maya tropical specialty restaurants other resorts mini golf spring breakers great resort playa del carmen club premium beach grills japanese restaurant a la cartes palm trees kids water park steak beach resort
Filter
Updating list...
3,418 - 3,423 of 5,864 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2007

This was our second visit to the Barcelo Tropical. The weather was wonderful the entire week. The resort is comprised of 5 sections, Maya Beach, Caribe, Colonial, Tropical, and the new Palace which was not open at the time of of vacation. The Colonial and the Tropical are my favorite. They are newer and the grounds are not as grown up as the others. The rooms are spacious. Tile floors, refrigerator stocked daily, coffee maker, safe. We did have a problem getting wash cloths. I guess I'll take some next time because it will not stop me from going. We ate in the buffet restaurants all the time. Plenty choices and they have theme nights. Don't miss the wonderful ice cream. Different flavors every night. The buffet restaurant at the Caribe is nice. It is screened in. The waiters are extremely friendly and work HARD. The atmosphere is more intimate than the Tropical buffet.

The beach is 3/4 mile long. Gorgeous white sand. Plenty chairs. There are a few palm trees on beach, no palapas. The pools are to die for. There are kayaks, hobie cats, and tricycles to play in the water on. These are part of the all inclusive plan.

The resort is beautiful at night as well. There are millions of white lights on all the trees. Bridges over the pools and lights in the pools for nighttime swimming. There is a spa, but I did not try it. Also, an workout area, but 4 of the 7 treadmills did not work.

The palace is probably open now. I'm sure it will be pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank middleagemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear middleagemom,

Barcelo Maya Tropical is lucky to have you as a guest, we deeply thank your loyalty to Barcelo Hotels & Resorts, your finest words regarding the resort is always much appreciated.
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.


Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you!
Best wishes

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2007

My husband & I just returned from the Barcelo Maya Tropical -
Mayan Rivieria (Nov 18 - Dec 2) & we absolutely loved it. First some background this was my husband's 1st trip to Mexico & my 5th (2nd go around in the Mayan Rivieria) & we want to go back again.
I'll break my review into sections to make things easier;

GETTING THERE: Just a reminder don't talk to the time share sharks in the airport & unless you really need help with your bags NEVER let go of them, because the second you do a porter will grab them ($$)
We didn't get a big bus from the airport to the hotel, we rode in a mini van (no extra cost) - which to me was better because: 1) we got there faster - less people to drop off and faster speed & 2) our driver told us a lot about the area.
Check in was a breeze being that we were the only ones arriving.

THE RESORT: Huge & lots of walking!!! Beautiful!!! As everyone has said the gardens are amazing and all along the paths are info signs of the types of plants & animals in the gardens. There are water fountains from the lobby to the pools - great for photos. One of the things I loved about this resort is that it is between 20 minutes to an hour to the majority of the tours - it's still about a 3 hour bus ride to Chichen Itza, which you can no longer climb (we went to Coba instead). There is lots of stuff for everyone to do on this resort: pools are huge but not heated - chilly getting in. Lots of games to play or you can paint some pottery($$), Barclay Kids Club looked great for little ones - I even wanted to go play in the kids waterpark it looked like so much fun. You could play tennis or 18 hole mini golf. There is a "shopping center" on the resort so if you don't like to play the haggling game or pay the $40.00 in cab fare to go to 5th Ave then buy your souveniers here and save the aggravation and time. It's all the same junk you don't need and nobody really wants.
Remember if you stay in either the Tropical or the Colonial you can use all the services of the Barcelo resort but if you stay in the Caribe or Maya Beach you are limited. When we go back we will be asking to stay specifically in theTropical Yucatan building (not the Veracruz building) or the Colonial building but not on the side that faces the theater (the theater can get loud).

THE BEACH: BEAUTIFUL but bring water shoes. Both in the water & on the beach people were stepping & cutting themselves on coral or rocks. The beach seems to go on forever & it's great for both sunrise and sunset pictures. Bring your snorkel gear & an underwater camera, we saw everything: squid, turtle, and tons of different fish. At the pier you can feed the fish right from your hand (bring cereal or a banana from the buffet.) We never had a problem getting a chair either on the beach or at the pool but it was November.

THE FOOD: Yes the food gets repeated but there is so much I can't believe anyone could get bored or say it was bad. The buffet has a different theme night each day of the week. Also we never got sick (Thank you Imodium, I'll never use Pepto bismal again). Bottled water is everywhere. For all my fellow beer drinking Canadians, they have free pour Corona on tap. You can eat from 7am till 10pm either at the buffets,grills or a la cartes. As for a la carte restaurants we went to 4 - Capri (Italian) very good, Bali Hai (Japanese) very good & the food is cooked in from of you - lots of fun, Santa Fe (steakhouse) great - but hard to get reservations at, and Marenostrum (seafood) our absolute favorite & the best service out of all - Thanks Jose!
You must try a Mexican coffee when you go to any bar or restaurant, my husband is now hooked on them.

THE ROOMS: We found the beds comfortable & rooms very clean. Great showers & a nice touch having shampoo,conditioner,& body wash available. Here is the negative part of my review - the walls are paper thin, at least on the ground floor. Imagine having a great sleep & then being woken up almost every night at about 2:30am by drunks yelling & slamming doors (coming back from the Jaguars Nightclub also on the resort) or hearing your neighbours t.v. & baby crying till midnight. If the resort reads this review please post some security or night guards in the hallways from about midnight till 4am & then maybe we'll all get some sleep.
I don't blame the resort for this, just remember when you go on vacation don't be an ignorant, selfish jerk & have some respect for the other people that paid thousand of dollars to enjoy their vacations.

EXCURSIONS: I know everyone has different experiences on tours and what they find interesting, so this is just my opinion on what's good to see & remember I've been here twice.

Xel-Ha - (less than 20 minutes from the Barcelo) awesome, worth seeing everytime. I recommend doing a whole day here and not the half day in Xel-ha & half in Tulum. You can not see all of Xel-Ha in 1/2 a day.

Xcaret - (less than 30 minutes from the Barcelo) awesome, & here's a money saving tip - bring food from the hotel. Buying food there is expensive & to pay for it with your tour isn't worth it, pack some sandwiches,snacks & bottled water & save up to $60.00 or more.
The underground rivers are chilly but more than safe (you must wear a lifejacket), it's a relaxing float. Above ground it's like a big zoo, aquarium, and historical park all in one. My suggestion is opposite from the guides - I suggest you tour the above ground first & then do the underground river, that way when you're tired, hot & sweaty from the above stuff you can cool down & relax in the river. Just put you end of the day dry clothes in the supplied bag & it will meet you at the end of the river float. The guide suggest the river first but if you do that then you will be walking the park in a wet bathing suit. It's all up to you. The night show(2 hours long) is a must, 260 dancers/singers, it's wonderful & interesting.

Coba - (about an hour from the Barcelo) we took a large bus to Coba (amazing guide Geraldo) hiked 2km into the jungle, learning & seeing the Mayan culture along the way, then climbed the highest pyramid in the Yucatan. We then had lunch at a little restaurant (o.k. food-I brought some from the hotel just in case), our guide fed an alligator some chicken. Then we went to a small Mayan community where we gave the kids the presents we brought. If you want to bring stuff they love anything - when we go back I will bring crayons & coloring books, that way they have a gift & they learn. After the village we went to a cenote in the jungle, it was very green and "refreshing" (cold) water but it felt good after climbing the pyramid and being in the hot village. Definatley worth the money for the all day tour.

SeaLife Plus - ( less than 10 minutes from the Barcelo) Probably the most disappointing of all our tours & the one that cost the most money. Unlike the dolphin swim where you just swim with the dolpins, SeaLife Plus you swim with Manatees, touch a Sea Lion & swim with the dolphins (2). You also get to waste a lot of time sitting around while they set up their video of you swimming with these animals. This sitting around happens twice - once after the manitee/sea lion swim & once after the dolphin swim. Before you swim you also have to sit & watch a video about manitees & dolphins. If you want to buy your video it's $60.00 and if you want to buy the pictures they take they are between $12.00 &
$15.00 per picture. NO UNDERWATER CAMERAS ALLOWED. It also seems like the staff are very disorganized (do not get separated from your group) - although the trainers are very good. Another money saving tip the Catermaran is included/free if you do the tour on Wednesday otherwise you have to pay extra & for how much the tour originally costs, the free catermaran eases some of that. Please take motion sickness pills if you even think you'll be sick, we had to come back early because people were sick. You can also drink lots on the Catermaran but the lunch is just a sandwich & a bag of chips. Although it was a wonderful experience swimming with the wildlife, overall it was an extremely overpriced, nickel & dime you, poorly run tour.

Overall we loved the Barcelo & couldn't find anything wrong with the resort, the staff (super helpful & friendly) or the location & we can't wait to go back. Just remember it is a huge resort so if you have problems walking it may not be great for you & if you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs. Also the floor are slick & there are rocks so save your feet & body & bring non-slip footwear/watershoes.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Edmontontravelbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear Edmontontravelbugz,

We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical to expend this holiday o trip o family vacation
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.
We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

Warmest Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2007

This was our first visit to the mayan riveria and it was more than we expected. We stayed at the tropical beach side and found the room extremely clean and comfortable. The maid service during our nov 17 to 24 stay was exceptional. The food at the buffet and al a carte's were good. The service was also good. We had a waiter a couple of times named Roman and he looked after us very well, with great service and good humor. The nightly entertainment was also quite good.
The beach is fantastic. A very enjoyable walk from one end of the beach to the other is relaxing. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank rasras24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear rasras24,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends,
Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We would be honor to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2007

The Barcelo was AWESOME!!! The resort was huge, yet, it felt small at the same time. There were so many people there over Thanksgiving, yet, we had no problems with service and it felt deserted because it is so large, there's plenty of room for everyone. We had a wonderful time. The beach was great in two large coves and the rocks are no big deal at all. Water is beautiful. Snorkeling was fun. We had good service. Very family friendly. Perfect for kids. The food was good. The restaurants were great. The beds were not hard, just right. We are so thankful to Mark Brooker at Cancun all inclusive for suggesting this resort. We were planning on other Playa del Carmen resorts and we are so very glad that he suggested this resort. It was perfect for us. And we enjoyed using all side and all parts of the resorts. We never needed to leave the resort and in our ten days, we never tired of it!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Traveling3Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear Traveling3Forever,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical. We really appreciate your visit and the time taken to write your impression about your stay, Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and we will work on Housekeeping issues to improve them.
Once again thank you for having chose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your recent stay and really hope to have your preference for your next holidays. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back.
Warmest Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We just returned from a 10 year anniversary at the Barcelo Maya Tropical . It was an excellent stay on the whole lovely people, clean rooms, meticulous grounds , good food ( some of the ala cartes weren't great) the buffet has a good variety and switches themes throughout the week. Beach was breathtaking and pools were well kept . This was the ultimate relaxing trip probably best suited for couples or families with children. There were many kids but they did not take over as they do in many resorts , very quiet on the whole. In the room we did not get side to side noise but could hear people talking in the hallways outside sometimes late at night. The nightly shows were outstanding. The only two very minor downsides were the expensive telephone charges and no inroom internet access ( i think this is pretty much the case for all the resorts thought). The resort was large which we thought was a bonus because after a few days you may feel like a bit of different scenery. Would highly recommend taking a collectivo to Tulum and Playa del carmen over a taxi (you have to haggle with taxis some times) they are efficent clean and quick. If you rent a car.. beware the gas station attendants! at one place (outside the resort) they tried to charge us double what the meter read! for no reason other than that we were tourists.
Over all we were extremely glad that we picked this resort. It is a guarenteed great place to stay and I would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank cinda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear cinda71,

Barcelo Maya Tropical is lucky to have you as a guest, we deeply thank your loyalty to Barcelo Hotels & Resorts, your finest words regarding the resort is always much appreciated.
Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want them to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.


Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you!
Best wishes

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews