We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Loved everything about this resort, the location, the food, the beaches and the pool. The swim up bar was awesome, and our kids even enjoyed floating up and getting their kitty cocktails. The shows were fantastic, as good as Vegas shows, and the rooms were absolutely gorgeous. Our kids also took advantage of the kids club, lots of parties and arts and crafts.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camillenesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,041)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Maya Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,240 - 4,246 of 7,041 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Returned from Barcelo Palace Deluxe a week ago - absolutely beautiful resort with impeccable service. Grounds are gorgeous. Food was good everywhere, especially the Japananese restaurant. There is HUGE playground for children and was lots of children at this resort. If you're looking for quiet time, maybe consider booking at Tropical or Colonial where there are less families. Would definitely consider going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvthesuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this resort in early February for 8 nights. We were traveling with 8 adults, ages 27-62. We had originally booked the Colonial, and found out upon arrival that we had been upgraded to the Palace. We were very happy!

Check-in was easy and since it was after 3pm, our rooms were ready. We were given a map of the resort and were off to our rooms. The resort is very large, but easy to navigate around. It would be fairly difficult to get lost, as all covered pathways lead from the lobby to the blocks of rooms. We had a pool-view room with a partial ocean view if you hung your head out and looked :) The rooms were very spacious and nice. The balcony was larger than other resorts I have been to. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were awful. The bathroom was awesome- double sinks and two showers, and a private toilet area. Plenty of closet and drawer space. The a/c worked great. The biggest downfall was the noise. We were in a second floor room and we heard everything- children screaming/crying at 6am, people slamming doors both late at night and early morning, carts being rolled by our door before 7am, etc. Also, everytime someone above us would move a chair across their floor it woke us up. Not sure if this was housekeeping or what was going on up there. Finally on the third night we turned the sound machine on our iPhone on and it did help a little. But noise was clearly a problem- the walls are thin. Another party in our group could actually hear their neighbors conversations when they were trying to sleep. I have heard a third floor room may be less noisy, so perhaps you request this before you arrive. You do have a fridge with pop, beer, water. If yours is not cool enough, pull it out and there is a dial in the back that allows you to turn the temperature down and this will keep things more cool. You also get light snacks (peanuts and chips) in your room as well. Room service is extra.

The food was good with a few exceptions. You could find whatever you wanted at the buffets. The breakfast buffet had made to order omelets, smoothies, pancakes, tons of pastries and breads, cereals, fresh fruit and juices, yogurt, bagel sandwiches. I am not sure how you could not find something. Lunch had the best grilled tacos- you could have chicken or beef. I recommend the chicken. And they had fresh fish, shrimp, salmon you can have grilled to order. A pasta bar, etc. Lots of variety. You have to try the coconut ice cream- it is awesome. All of their ice cream was really good. I do not recommend the snack bars over at the Colonial/Tropical. We went there one day because it was close and it was packed and the food seemed cold and they were out of a lot of stuff. We never went back.

We ate at the Brazilian Steakhouse- the guys really liked it and the women were not that impressed. You really have to like meat. The Caribe (seafood) was good. They have recently opened a second Japanese restaurant on the Palace side because the one over at the Colonial/Tropical was so popular. The food was really good here. I had the salad, the tempura shrimp and the grilled shrimp for the main meal. Everyone was very happy with their meal here. I highly recommend it. Our favorite was the French. We actually ate there twice because we liked it so much. The lobster and filet are really good. I also recommend the escargo and french onion soup. We ran across a couple who said it was just okay- but when they told us what they ordered it wasn't anything we had while we were there. So I think you just have to know what to order. Our waiter recommended his favorites and that is how we ordered. They have a starter shrimp salad that was also great. The wine at the resort was not good, but they have a decent list you can order from at additional cost, which we took advantage of. We did eat at the Italian restaurant over at the Tropical/Colonial one night and it was not good. The salad bar and pasta were okay, but the main dishes (fish, pizza and calzones) were not good at all. I would recommend skipping this one.

The bars were all very nice- they had top shelf alcohol and we never had any problems getting service.

The beach was A-MAZING. This was my favorite part of the resort and why I would recommend this place to anyone. It is a little bay so the water was totally calm while we were there- you can actually sit out on a float. Also, there is great snorkeling in front of the palace. We saw sea turtles almost daily that hung out right in front of the Palace beach. They do water aerobics each day at Noon out in the ocean as well.

The pools were great- there is a lot of space around them. And the swim-up bar was nice to have. The adults pool was always busy, so we stayed around the main pool most of the time. The water was cool, but not too cold to get in. It was just right for us.

Overall I would recommend this resort for the beach and pools. I have been to Mexico several times and this was by far the best beach I have seen.

Room Tip: I recommend requesting a pool-view room on the third floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brooklyn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality about the things you liked and improving in our areas of opportunity as the ones you´ve mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were there from Jan 22 to 29 and loved every minute. Cant wait to return

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfasgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Loved the beach and pool and give a huge thumbs up on both. The bar service was excellent in the hotel bar as well as the swim up bars.

Now the bad parts...
First...our room smelled terrible. We had a main floor room that overlooked pool, but it wreaked like mildew. The bed is rock hard so if you don't like hard beds, you're not going to get a good nights rest.

Second...the food here is terrible. It didn't matter what meal or what restaurant, it was all terrible.

Third...the waiters at the Caribe restaurant try to rip you off. They had a bottle of wine on the table which they wanted to serve us which was $85. When we asked for house wine, all they had was white even though they didn't tell us that right away. When we asked for a bottle of red wine we picked from the wine list, they said they were out of it and wanted us to pick a more expensive Mexican bottle. When we asked for a manager, all of a sudden the bottle we originally asked for suddenly appeared.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the main floor!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomasmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our second trip to the palace and we found it to be just as spectacular as the first! Our room over looked the gardens and entry to the Palace. Beautiful. Peaceful. We got to experience seeing the nature and wildlife of Mexico this time. Last time our room overlooked the Pool which was always full of activity so it was nice to see the "other" side of the Palace. The staff is perfect to deal with. The food is amazing, especially the French restaurant! The grounds are amazing - always saw landscapers making sure all the trees and plants were perfectly groomed at all times. Anyone who complains about this place is crazy!

Room Tip: If you like the activity and hustle of bustle, or just people watching, ask for a third floor facing...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgonzo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you are looking for a great beach, terrific food and drinks and fun in a comfortable relaxing atmosphere all at a very reasonable price this is the place to stay. The grounds are beautiful and the quality of everything at the resort is just first class. The meals at the buffet are excellent but the ala carte restaurants are simply incredible. There are several air conditioned bars that are terrific for fun and conversation. We have stayed at several others resorts in Mexico, Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Cozumel and Arbua. The Barcelo Maya Palace is by far the best! It is also an easy flight from the USA and a quick drive from the Cancun airport. The nearby town of Playa Del Carmen also offers some great shopping and the best Margarita I have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebureman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,708 reviews
0.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,420 reviews
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,715 reviews
26.8 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,855 reviews
29.7 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $276 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing