We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous beach, pools and room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach, pools and room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We went to the Iberostar Paraiso Maya, Paradisus Esmeralda and this Barcelo on a recent trip. Barcelo wins for us. However, and it's a big however, they screwed up our reservation. When you arrive at the resort, a bellman looks up your name on a list to see what room category you are in. We reserved a club premium. After waiting half an hour on the check in line at 2pm, it took another 10-15 min to be given our key. I asked if it was club premium, and he said it was not. After a while of searching, they realized that they had made a mistake. Now I was told that I need to check in at the club premium desk. That check in desk is in a lounge area reserved solely for club premium. There's no wait! The lady tells us that our room is not ready (it's 3pm) and to come back in a half hour. At 4pm our room is still not ready, so I just headed to the room to wait while housekeeping cleans. Get to the room, and it's a king bed...we wanted two doubles--traveling with children. I call front desk and they tell me to wait. At 4:30 they call and say that all double rooms are full.
Even after waiting 2 and a 1/2 hrs for the wrong room, we appreciate that the room was wonderful. Clean, contemporary yet Mexican, beautiful bathroom, great shower, and big. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, lush, colorful flowers everywhere. Gorgeous. The beach is enormous and has lots of chairs with lots or space. We saw turtles and schools of fish in the clear water. Down the beach a bit, there are water toys--jetskis.... The pool is amazing, huge, water sprays, water falls, seats in the pool and a pool bar. Next to the main pool is an activity pool for basketball or volleyball. There are hammocks everywhere on property, and activity guys playing games or dancing.
Food was okay. Chicken at the steak restaurant was delish and the breakfast buffet was over the top. Lunch buffet was not that good, but decent enough. Picky kids might not be too happy. And there's no food by the beach of pool.
Transportation to the other bldgs for dinners was a small school bus--cute and easy. There are stores in the Palace (snack items, souvenirs, clothing) and every other lobby--that are open late.
Some other things to know--the beds are hard and it's a little over an hour drive from the airport, almost half hour to 5th ave at Playa.
We loved Barcelo and would definitely recommend, as long as you don't care about what bed you get. We met others who wanted a king and were put in doubles! In retrospect, I think club premium is worth it--other than not waiting to check in, you get an air conditioned lounge with snacks and drinks, a hang out area w/TV, computers and private concierge...but the big plus is that you get as many towels as you need and no towel card.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,384
    1,295
    517
    177
    156
See reviews for
3,018
1,313
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Have just returned from the Barcelo Maya Palace and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The front desk was the only sub-par event we had at the resort, with confusion and not being prepared for guests arriving. The beaches were incredible and snorkling with the sea turtles, rays and barracudas was an experience like none before. The restaurants were unbelievable, truly one of the best parts of being at the Palace. The Brazilian and French restaurants were outstanding with fantastic food. The service by all waiters, bartenders and room cleaning staff at the Palace was great, always in a great mood and very helpful to all. The pools at the Palace were crystal clear and some of the best pools we've ever swam in, just beautiful, including the adult only pool, again beautiful.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone travelling to the Riviera area. Our private driver from Cancun Shuttle Service told us the Barcelo resort area was one of the nicest in this area which was nice to hear.

Room Tip: Front desk said at first all they had were 2 double beds when I had reserved a room with a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hfxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace in February with two other couples, and just had a blast! The pools are HUGE and never over-crowded. However, it's wise to have someone in your group get up early and reserve lounge chairs with towels, t-shirts, etc. The pool itself isn't crowded (in the water), but the chairs fill up quickly. The adult pool is quiet and has 10 private cabanas that can be rented for only $10 per day - not a bad deal at all! The entire grounds are just beautiful!

Be sure to make your dinner reservations for the week early, or even call ahead before you arrive at the resort. We stayed for five nights and made all of our reservations on the first day right after we checked in. Our dinner time every night was either 9:00 or 9:30 depending on which restaurant we ate at because there was no earlier availability. Our favorite restaurants were the Mexican and the French. Our least favorite was the Brazillian since the meat was well over-done. Don't count on the salad bars if you're looking for a traditional salad. They have lettuce, but then a ton of creamy cold salads (think cold seafood salad, cauliflower and cheese, green beans and corn, etc.).

The room (Junior Suite) was spacious, with a nice bathroom. There is a rain shower as well as a shower in the bathtub. There are two sinks, which is handy as well! The only bad thing about the room is the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. It felt like a piece of plywood with a few cotton balls scattered across the top. I didn't sleep through the night once, and was often awake every hour because of how uncomfortable the bed was. However, that was really the only downside to our stay.

The fitness center is tiny. There are three tredmills, two stationary bikes, two of the type of bikes where you sit in a seat low to the ground, and a few elliptical machines, in addition to a small weight training area. If you are working out on your trip, plan to wait in (a short) line for a machine, or take your workout outside along the beach and go for a nice run! No need to pack a water bottle since the fitness center has a fridge stocked with (free) bottled water for you!

Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. If I went back to Riviera Maya again, I may try something different just to see what else is out there, but I would not turn down another opportunity to return to the Maya Palace!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLS101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you can go to a resort and not have to deal with staff, this resort is great - the pool is great, the bars are great, the food is good at the buffets and great at the restaurants. Our room was good too, we had a junior suite, very nice. Beach was good, bring your snorkel, lots of fish to see.

OK, so not so bad right, well not so much.

Here's the deal, when you spend your hard earned money and pay for a nice resort, you expect some level of service.

It started at check-in, we traveled with friends, we reserved 6 months ago, why couldn't we have our rooms next to each other? That was the first "no". Others were asking and being refused too.

Our rooms were nice, but they couldn't be much further from the restaurants without being the neighboring resort. We got our exercise this week. I'm not really upset with this, but I thought it strange since we reserved so long ago.

Second "no" was when we asked for a second room key "can't do it right now, too busy". The next day we stopped by the desk and asked for the key - it took 20 seconds to do.

Now for the really bad part. Guest services is terrible and this is the place that you need to go to make restaurant reservations. Not a good thing. We tried calling, we got "disconnected". We tried stopping by to find a line that was not moving. One person with one computer helping a couple make reservations for more than 20 minutes??? You have got to be kidding me, but no. And guess what folks, we weren't the only one with this problem. We saw numerous frustrated guests with the same problem; and the worst part is that they don't even need a person to do this - a kiosk would do the job much better and faster!! How about a service on the room's TV set? Anything but making guests wait for an indefinite period of time with no comment. At one point, he picked up the phone and took someone else's call while working with us, we couldn't get his attention even sitting right in front of him.

I told the resort the problems in their survey. Don't know if it will do any good, but needless to say, we are not returning to this resort. There are much better places to stay in the area. People that treat their guests with respect and don't tell them "no". (There are other ways)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quietsinglecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a lovely 5 days in the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. It is a beautiful resort with friendly staff, comfortable and plush rooms, gorgeous pool area great for the whole family with kids pool and play areas and a swim up bar for adults. The beach here was gorgeous, you can snorkel right off of it and there's a good chance you will see some sea turtles. I even had a rare sighting of an octopus. The food in the buffets was surprisingly good but in the restaurants was even better. Make sure to try the French restaurant but you need to make a reservation.

All the various activities of the Mayan Riviera were close by such as Xplor Park and Xcaret, only about 15 mins away by car. All in all the resort was great of you are into all-inclusives. The one downfall was that it was really big so it took a long time to get anywhere. Saying that, the grounds were beautiful so we didn't mind walking everywhere. The only problem was that if you forgot something in your room and you were not close to the beach or pool, it was quite the trek to go back. If you can, book one of the rooms that are above the pool or close to the beach and you won't have this problem. We were near the back which was quite a distance.

All in all this was a nice resort. We don't typically do all inclusive holidays but we did like it here and we felt safe despite some of the bad stories you hear coming out of Mexico lately.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdn_fam_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Deluxe for the second time this February. We enjoyed the resort so much we will be returning again this June with our children. Both times we stayed in the junior suites, which are beautiful, spacious and perfect for a family of 4. The resort is extremely clean, well maintained, and safe. Staff is friendly and helpful; the overall service is wonderful. Be sure to book your restaurant reservations shortly after arriving and checking in. We waited until the second day of our trip to make reservations and early dinner reservation times, between the hours of 6 and 8, were impossible to make. The beach and snorkeling was one of the best parts of this hotel. Nothing but great things to say about the resort...surpassed our expectations, twice. Highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Barcelo Maya Palace but unfortunately the only issue was dealing with the front desk. We were travelling with 6 adults and 3 children, ages 8, 10 and 11 so we requeted to have 3 rooms on the same floor.When we arrived to the hotel our rooms were not ready and we were asked to come back at 3pm. When we came back they informed us that only 1 room was ready out of the 3 rooms. They suggested that we take a look at some other rooms. These rooms were far away from everything and the veiw from the balcony was facing a tree. We had also requested ocean/pool view, but were informed that it was an extra fee and there were no rooms available. What bothered us the most is that the front desk staff kept passing us to different managers with NO apology. We had been travelling for awhile and frankly we were not prepared for the rudeness of the staff. One staff member was so rude that she made a face and comment about us under her breath. When we asked her what she said she repied with another snarky comment. Unfortunately, the first people you see when you go to the hotel is the front desk, so naturally it didn't leave a good impression. Evenutally, 2hrs later, we were given rooms that faced the pool, which were wonderful. They miraculously became available. The hotel in itself was very clean and beautiful. The food was great but you really had to book your reservation as soon as you got to the hotel. A lot the reservations were for 8:30pm or 9:00pm. We found though if you got there early the restaurant would take you sooner. Also, a lot of the restaurants are booked up but when you get into the restaurant it's certainly not full? Men must remember to wear long pants or they'll send you back to your room. No room for discussion! The water park is amazing for young kids. What's nice is when you stay at Barcelo Maya Palace you can use all the other Barcelo hotels and waterparks. Great choices for food. I recommend the french restaurant called Brasserie. Really good food. The beach is nice but you should bring water shoes as the water can be very rocky. I ended up scraping my leg on the coral.
Our kids loved the kids club, so much so that they wanted to stay there everyday. The staff (not including front desk) were wonderful. Everyone was helpful and went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The room we stayed in was fabulous, except there were a lot of ants on the tables. Suggestion, put baby powder down. It kills the ants!
The entertainment was fabulous. Very professional. Our only suggestion would be to have the kids entertainment in the evening start earlier. It's hard to keep kids up until 10:30pm.
If you like snorkelling, then the ocean is the place to be. We saw the most beautiful fish swimming around us. Bring bread or fish food. Some people saw turtles as well. Quite amazing. Overall, I would give the hotel a 41/2 star rating. Probably a 5 if it weren't for the front desk staff who were probably the rudest staff I've met. Lovely holiday and we would definitely go back. The trip from the airport to the hotel is over an hour but worth it. We had Best Day travel pick up and return. The driver was wonderful and gave us a tour on the way home.All 9 people had a fantastic time. Great resort!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean/pool view. It's worth it! It's closer and has the best view. When our ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaS45155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,098 reviews
30.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,816 reviews
17.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing