We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort, but know that it is large!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went here with our two little kids and another family with a young child. This resort is very family-friendly. The beaches were terrific with beautiful clear water, lots of fish to see, and plenty of chairs. The sand is very soft. (I had brought water shoes based on reviews but not sure what people are talking about-- the rocks are very obvious, only at the shore, and none of us needed water shoes). The food was good with a lot of variety and we were able to get to all the reservation restaurants without a problem. The kids pool is fantastic. The staff was very friendly and went the extra mile at all times. The only downside is that this is a HUGE resort and i could not imagine not staying in the two closest buildings (michoacan or oaxaca). So this is not an intimate boutique experience, which has pros and cons. Lots of things to do though, and no lines or anything bad like that (and we were at the peak holiday week). Also because it is so kid-oriented it does not attract a party crowd so no people are guzzling alcohol in big gulp cups. always my fear when I hear "all-inclusive." Check-in needs help as they are probably the weakest part of the resort's excellent staff.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
15  Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,290 - 4,296 of 7,212 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We loved this place. The buffet was awesome. We did not enjoy the Japanese restaurant and canceled all our reservations. We just loved the buffets as they were always fresh and the selection was great. We could eat when we wanted as well. The beach and ocean were better than we could have dreamed. There was so much to do and lots of places to walk around. The bars always great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dad4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We really loved this resort for the beach and the snorkeling. it was fantastic, I have never seen some of the fish that we saw out on the coral reef.. loved the turtles... the only thing we thought was odd was that the beach bar and pools closed at 7pm. so to congregate and socialize with people you had to go upstairs to the lobby or the veranda. would like to have sat down by the ocean and enjoy the waves. there is a lot of walking and we asked to switch rooms as my knees are bad. we did get in the Michaocan building, which cut off some walking. I could handle that. the food was really good, we had no problem finding food that we liked. the fruit was very good and ripe. my husband is kind of a picky eater and he had no problems. the french rest. was awesome, and yes the brazillian with its 7 courses of meats, I could not finish but the taste was very good. flavorfull and grilled just right... our room on the 3rd floor was great and the air worked just fine and it was very clean. beds are a little hard. all in all would go back. oh we thought the coco beach bar was too understaffed to handle all the people, and they weren't too friendly. maybe overworked? we took a snorkel trip with Deja vue out of Puerto Aventuras. the owner Roberto was great as was Pablo. they took us to see and snorkel with turtles and fish and we went 3 places, had lunch and a fantastic trip.I recommend them.

Room Tip: the closer building would be the Micoachan, our bottom room the 1st day smelled moldy, so we moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We went here as a group of 8 (4 couples) with high expectations. My husband and I have been to the Mayan a couple times before and had a great experience each time. The other 3 couples, had never been to Mexico and one of the 3 are die hard cruisers and have never done an all inclusive. We thought that being a five star this place would be awesome. We were very mistaken. The resort itself is very beautiful and large. The service was well below average and quite disappointing at times. Even if you tipped the bar tender a hefty tip, they wouldn't acknowledge it or do any better on the service. The staff rarely smiled or said hello. Our room keys and phones were out of service more often than not for 3 of the four rooms. the rooms were nice but the pillows were too small and the beds were quite lumpy. The big shower was very nice and it was a great setup for the bathrooms. The food was great in the a la cartes but the buffet was very disappointing. You would think in Mexico it wouldnt be so hard to find Nacho's and Guacamole.

If you think this is like other all inclusive resorts and appreciate a glass of wine, you will be quite surprised to find out that the house wine is watered down. Admitted to us by one of our waiters. If you want nice wine, you have to pay for it and it is only sold by the bottle. average price is about $40 a bottle and they charge it to your room. The French restaurant was by far the best and if you like Escargot....be sure to order it there.

If asked whether or not we would go back, I dont think anyone in our group would return to this resort. Be very careful of the floors as well, they are very slippery and people were falling all the time. I fell one morning and was wearing runners at the time.

Everyone has a different idea of what is great. My husband and I love the Iberostar resorts and from now on will stick with them. We've never had an issue with food or service at any of them we've been to. And not just in Mexico.

The beach was very nice but make sure you bring water shoes as there are a lot of rocks and you will cut your feet.

The entertainment was just ok. Nothing worth writing about.

This is the first time I've written a review for any resort that was not completely positive. The great friends we travelled with were the highlight of our week.

Room Tip: ask for rooms closer to the lobby if you are not able to do a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The word "no" is banished here....everything perfect and the staff looks to it that every whim is satisfied....first class rooms, the food incredible, the amenities impeccable....you never want to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: near the beach and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloria i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Anyone going to this resort will have a great time. Food, beverages, and restaurants are fab! The rooms are outstanding especially the "rain forest shower". We all enjoyed it! Friendly staff, great food at buffet in morning, lunch great! Wrist-bands to go to all the dinner venues on the property. The buffet was so good you really didn't need to go to the dinners, but, they were outstanding! The only thing that I did not like was the coral drop-off on the beautiful beach. It is beautiful but, on the Yucatican pennisula there is alot of coral. Great time, well worth your $$

Room Tip: It is in the middle of the Yucatan Pennisula. Travel to the Tulum Ruins will be about 1 hr. 40 mins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We just returned from 6 days at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. Fabulous! I have been to many other resorts in Riviera Maya- Occidental, RIU, Moon Palace, Xcaret- and I have to say this ranks at the top. We travelled with three kids ages 8,9,11 and they had plenty to keep them busy here. The pool was huge and clean and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The beach was nice- I still prefer the beach by Playa del Carmen since it has no rocky areas, but having the reef right out from the beach at the Barcelo was great for snorkeling. My only criticism would be that it was difficult to get reservations at the restaurants. We were only able to try the French and steakhouse ones, but the food at both was excellent. The nice thing is that the restaurants have kids menus- something other all-inclusives have not had. I would recommend booking transport from the airport to the resort and back through their Vacationes company- we had private transport and they met us with a sign and left promptly from the airport- no hassles and no waiting for other travellers and no stopping at other resorts first.The rooms were nice and spacious with a great bathroom- nice rain showerhead. Like other reviewers, I will say there is a lot of walking here- very large resort but we knew that ahead of time and the grounds are gorgeous and my sons loved seeing all the iguanas and geckos along the way. Also, the buses run regularly to go to the other Barcelo resorts. We also enjoyed the Plaza Mexicana shopping area by the Barcelo Colonial. We are already planning to go back!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the ends of the buildings closest to the pool/beach since it is a long walk to the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,782 reviews
0.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,473 reviews
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,753 reviews
26.8 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,053 reviews
29.7 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: $286 - $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing