We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We are big snorkelers and do this about 8 hours a day. We love the Barcelo group for snorkeling right off the beach. There are differnet rock formation in different areas. To the left are deeper areas with large rocks and fish. To the way far right is a shallow area with oddly very big fish. We have seen big barracuda, large fish, turtles, tons of sting rays, conch, so much to see. At this resort we enjoy lots of different fish to see and a great environment, bars, food, dining, service and so much more. We love them and all of their fish. Enjoy.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the lower cost colonial and beach. Those are fine too. You get access to almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank intenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 8 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,808
    1,476
    579
    204
    168
See reviews for
3,453
1,458
37
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

in 2 yrs we have been to Dreams Huatalco,Rio Palace P.V. and twice to Bacelo Palace,all 5 star resorts but Bacelo Palace has that little extra.We are already booked for this christmas We just hope that nothing has changed ,as everything last visit was perfect,only thing they have no control over are their guests,dont go in spring break!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 983steve42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your feedback as our main goal is to leave all our Guest satisfied . We will continue all the hard work to keep satisfying all our guests and we hope to host you back real soon!!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Returned last night from a week of pure relaxation. I was worried from reading previous reviews but I have decided that you just can not please everyone!
Our arrival and check in was perfect. Met with a drink at the front desk. Check in took less than 10 minutes. Next stop, booking the specialty restaurants. Had absolutely no problems! Ate at the three on the Palace grounds and tried the Italian and the Japanese at the Tropical and Colonial. All were very good. The least favorite was the Caribe. Not much other than sea food.
Our room was on the first floor in the 8100's. Perfect! Once again, everyone and their complaints about the walking. Really? You are on vacation people....you eat a lot, you need to walk it off. Beautiful grounds and the walk to all things are within reason. I had requested a second or third floor room because I was worried about the security, but I was very happy to be on the first floor and felt very safe. The beds were not that bad. Once again, these people must have tempur pedic or air number beds at home. Yes, they were firm but my back did not hurt the entire week. The pillows are firm but not bad. The only complaint are the sheets constintly feel damp due to the 100% humidity and they are a bit slippery. But, not a big deal. We were in the tropics for goodness sake!
The beach....ahhhhh. Fine, soft sand. Warm water and lots of fish and sea turtles. You don't have to use a snorkel to see the fish, you can see them in the clear water. There were rocky areas and you just leared to stay away from those.
The pools....we used all at the Palace and even walked over to the Tropical and Colonial for a day. The pools at the Palace are larger and many more areas to sit. The Tropical and Colonial seemed to cater to the younger, more party-type people. It was busier there and not as relaxing. We did eat at the grill at the Tropical and Colonial one day for lunch to mix it up a bit.
I was amazed at the way some people acted. My husband and I always left a tip at the breakfast buffets and lunch buffets. Always left a nice tip at the dinner restaurants. We believed that the servers were doing a fantastic job and worked hard. We always said please and thank you, (in spanish after a couple of drinks!) and really appreciated how hard they worked. I saw MANY people be rude to the bartenders and or wait staff DEMANDING their drinks and not leaving any tips.
The drinks were not always the best. It really differed who made them. I had very good Mojitos and some that were not so good. Same with the margaritas. You can't go wrong with beer! I did drink the house wine at the dinners. I guess I am not a wine snob because the wine is not TERRIBLE and others have said.
We booked one excursion to Tulum through Best Day Travel. It was a great half day trip. The tour consisted of 10 people and was on time and very informative. Even had time to shop and eat lunch at the little cafe. Two for one Coronas!
All in all it was sad to see our week end. Would we go back? YES! This was a wonderful relaxing vacation with fantastic people there to help you.
Thank you Barcelo Palace!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Deanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great food, service, people, beach, room,pool. The place is immaculate. we had a wonderful time and mill be back. Lobster at the a la cartes was always so tasty, highly recommend the french. This place was built after the other places in this resort and you can tell when you walk around. It is worth the extra money to stay here vs. the others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fisher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have been to many resorts 4 / 5 Stars in Cuba, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Mexico and a few other Caribbean Destinations, but by far this resort is the most best resort I have stayed at. It has absolutely everything you may need and want and more! All the people on here complaining - I honestly don't know what is wrong with you. Are you this picky and demanding at home? Remember people - what we all have in countries such as Canada & the US will never be the same as in Mexico and other Caribbean Destinations, but you’re on vacation to enjoy yourself not complain.

This resort is good for families with young or older children & Couples. If you are single and what to have a relaxing vacation then this is the place for you, but if you are looking to party every day / night then you would be better off staying in Cancun.

With that being said, as soon as you arrive you are greeted with a welcome drink. I was travelling with a toddler and they even had a glass of juice for him. Check in was fast and they had our rooms ready right away.

The rooms are beautiful and always clean. In fact the hotel grounds are kept clean all the times. Our cleaning lady was very nice and nothing ever went missing in the room. Also, the mini fridge is stocked up every day so if you drink all the drinks there or eat all your chips and peanuts, they will have it re-stocked the following day.

Buffet always has something for everyone and food is always very fresh. My family and I ate at 2 of the 3 a la carte restaurants (French & Brazilian) excellent food and service. Both nights we did not even have reservations and they had no problem letting us eat there. I'm not sure why all these people are complaining that the restaurants were full.

The pools are well kept and there is pools and activities for everyone. I spent most of my time in the kiddie area. The beach has clear water and you can even see little small clear fish swimming by.

You don’t even have to leave the resort in order to buy souvenirs as there are a few shops on the lower level.

Entertainments is also very well put together and there are activities for the kids as well as the adults.

All I can say is that I recommend this resort 100% and I will definitely be returning

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MamiLatinaSexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing feedback, this motivates us as a hotel to keep up the good work and improve day by day to create great experiences to our guests.
We really appreciate your evaluation and hope to welcome you back soon!!

Warm Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Palace resort is great and beautiful. For an all inclusive, the food was outstanding. The buffets were clean and had a great variety. The 3 restaurants located on the Palace property were amazing. We also ate at the buffets at the Colonial and Tropical and they were also very good.

The resort is kept very clean. Since we live in Orlando, we find ourselves always comparing to Disney quality. This resort meets or even exceeds Disney standards as far as cleanliness.

Now when it comes to the pillows and mattresses, I have no idea what standard the Barcelo Corporation is following. I have traveled a lot of places and I have never slept on a more UNCOMFORTABLE pillow. A brick would have been better. After the first night, my wife requested better pillows and they were able to provide feather and memory foam. Now why they wouldn't have had these in the room from the beginning is beyond me. Better pillows did help the not so good mattress seem bearable. As we meet other people, they too shared the same complaint. I have also passed this onto our AAA travel agent.

Being there during September, it was low season and that is the time to be at this resort. I would not want to be there during peak season. We had a little taste of how it would be during a busy time, as our 9 day stay included the one weekend that was Mexico's Independence. The resort did get very busy that weekend and I can see how some people would complain about not getting drinks quick enough at the pool bars. The breakfast buffet that we had been going too every morning which normally was empty, actually had a very long line to get in. It was very interesting to see how crowded this resort could possible be. Fortunately, the weekend past and all the crowds left and we have our quiet resort back. If you want this type of mega resort to be relaxing, go during off season.

Don't worry about the drinking water. At every restaurant, all the water they bring is bottled and you can get plenty of bottled water from the bar and from the mini bar in your room.

Room Tip: Only speaking for the rooms located on the Palace property. A first floor room facing the pool is aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimdrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2017
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference and we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write your feedback about our resort.
As a hotel is it is very satisfactory to see that our guests enjoyed their stay here, and we will continue providing the service with the same quality and improving in our areas of opportunity.
We hope to welcome you back soon !!

Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went there for my brother's marriage, marriage was ok organized, but they never have any rooms for the a la carte restaurants, and after finding out we were outraged at the fact that they charge a price for the adjacent hotels to come and eat at their restaurant a la carte and they have priority over the customer already staying at the hotel!! in 1 week we managed to get only one time in an a la carte restaurant they were always telling us to go to the buffet!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank milly591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 21 April 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review, we are sorry about our reply being delayed as we really appreciate that you have taken some time to write your comments about your experience in our hotel and this comments have been noted and shared with the leaders of every department.
We have been working hard to improve all our opportunity areas in order to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome back soon.

Regards,

Them Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,209 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,425 reviews
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,036 reviews
2.9 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,581 reviews
2.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing