We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Inchlonaig House

Inchlonaig House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Inchlonaig House
Kitchen / Family Room
Dining Room
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Second Bedroom Ensuite
Childrens Bunk Room off Master Bedroom
Port William Harbour
Sunset from Second Sands
Mountain Biking at Kirroughtree
Inchlonaig House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian22may
Balloch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is fantastic, met all our needs from a toddler to a sixty year old. Clean comfortable and warm, we will definitely go back next year. Sarah has thought of everything even a bottle of wine an shortbread on arrival .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LianneKW
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you need and more!”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful weekend at Inchlonaig House celebrating a family birthday. The house was immaculate and contained everything you could possibly need...and more! From the utility area with washing machine, tumble dryer and towels for the dogs paws, to toys for the kids (and highchair, stair gate etc for little ones), to dvds, games, a wii, sky tv and brochures for surrounding attractions in the living room, to large comfy beds with towels and linens in the bedrooms, and even patio furniture and a BBQ outisde incase you're lucky with the weather! Sarah was more than happy to help with any questions we had on the house and surrounding area and couldn't have done more to make our weekend enjoyable. There was more than enough room for 8 adults, 2 kids (who loved the bunk beds!) and 2 dogs.

The house provides a great base to visit Dumfries and Galloway and we wish we had more time to see and do more! We spent time exploring the local shops in Wigtown (Scotland's book town) and Newton Stewart, and enjoyed walks with the dogs around Port William and had a game of family rounders on the beach (which you can see from the house!). Laggan outdoor centre, a tank driving experience, cream of galloway and many other attractions are within driving distance. You can even take the ferry from Stranraer to Belfast for the day! There is a local shop in Port William that sells bread, milk etc, and a tesco and some lovely butcher shops in Newton Stewart. We didn't eat out but were recommended to try The Clansman which is only a 5-10 minute walk from the house.

Port William is a lovely area and Inchlonaig House is the perfect place to stay! If we visit the area again we wouldn't hesistate to book again. Thank you for a great weekend, Sarah! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Inchlonaig House and your break in Dumfries and Galloway, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpat514
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house and location, it ticks all the boxes.”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent an enjoyable weekend at Inchlonaig House, it is a spacious,well equiped, immaculately clean comfortable house.
There are toys for the children, TVs, Wi-Fi and a Wii as well as lots of room to relax.
We had really stormy weather but enjoyed watching the spectacular waves from our cosy surroundings.
The owner Sarah was very helpful, from when we made the booking through till when we left

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenkley2...
Easington village
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Brilliant holiday accomodation for large groups”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The house was fabulous with great sea views and sunsets,loads of space for a large family , Very comfortable . Sarah has thought of everything especially for the children with loads of Games and toys to suit all ages from the Wii games to buckets spades and nets for the beach a very child friendly home. The shortbread and the wine on our arrival was also much appreciated .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayshree...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous, excellent home and warm welcome, we will be back and thank you Sarah”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very friendly and warm welcome. Awesome views from the balcony of the sea and sun set. Beautiful home with an enclosed garden safe for my dog. Great days out to The Cocoa Bean Chocolate Factory and Newton Stewart. A great short break and family get-together

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and facilities at Inchlonaig House and the peaceful atmosphere. The friendly people of Port William.
Liked least: no negative thoughts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashmorayw
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Delightful holiday home”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Inchlonaig House. The house is spacious and furnished to an extremely high standard. The kitchen/diner is a great space to eat, chat and take advantage of the sea view. We enjoyed trips to Wigtown ( recommend the Reading Lasses cafe for lunch) and did the river walk at Newton Stewart. We broke the journey with a visit to Castle Kennedy Gardens near Stranraer. This is a beautiful place with a good tearoom. We really appreciated being able to bring our dog with us on holiday. Our party ranged from age 19 to 80 and we all had a fabulous time. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality furnishings.
Liked least: We liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod B
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Holiday Home That Really Was Home”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After adverse weather conditions we arrived for my wife's 60th birthday celebration and were warmly greeted by Sarah Barr who kindly showed us around her wonderful house. Everything was perfect we were short of NOTHING..

The village of Port William and surrounding area is wonderful and we visited many old haunts that we had visited with the children on holidays but this time we had our kids plus grand children with us. Fantastic!

I would strongly recommend this property it is warm; well equipped with the right useful requirements; situated in a great spot; dog friendly and so so relaxing.

Many thanks Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth, comfort, space and plenty of bathrooms
Liked least: No recycling facilities in the area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing