We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Family-sized self-catering accommodation in village location.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family-sized self-catering accommodation in village location.
First floor living/dining room with windows on three sides and great views. Also open fire. Upstairs bathroom with shower over bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Family-sized self-catering accommodation in village location.
First floor living/dining room with windows on three sides and great views. Also open fire.
Upstairs bathroom with shower over bath
Well-equipped kitchen includes dishwasher and microwave as well as oven and hob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Orton, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roving546...
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I stayed here with My husband, mum,Daughters&Grandchildren, we all had a fabulous time. The area is perfect for all, the upside down house is perfect to take in the views. The house had everything we needed and more, the bedrooms are lovely and big with lots of storage. I loved the open fire, great for the cold nights, the kitchen was nicely laid out with lovely views, It was a great start to my day looking out at the sheep and geese. The local pub is excellent and just 2 minutes away. The chocolate factory with cafe was great for breakfast. As it was just before Halloween, there was a party for the children in the village hall, my grandchildren had a fabulous time and were made very welcome. I hope to go back there one day soon, still lots to do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Really pleased that you all had such a good time and made the most of things going on in Orton as well as further afield. Always great to have such a good review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thanks for such an enthusiastic and positive review. Old School House is very much aimed at families wanting to explore this area so it's great to know that it met your expectations and you had a such a good break. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrs Kathi...
1 review
“Lovely, comfy cottage in peaceful village setting”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Peaceful village with real community feel-'Scarecrow Wedding' during the bank-holiday weekend added to interest and helped us see what the village had to offer.
Great rural setting-geese and sheep looking at us through the kitchen window! Good walks around-saw lots of cyclists too.
We travelled to the Lakes from here-about 45mins-and an hour in the opposite brought us to Hadrian's Wall. Lots to explore!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to cram so much into your time in Orton. It sounds as if you made the most of our location as well as enjoying the scarecrows!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noffler11...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old School House Orton”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The old school house is an ideal location for exploring the Lakes with the advantage of been close to the Motorway so your not tied down to one location.
There are plenty of of amenities with in the village itself and the warm welcome and good food at the George Hotel is well worth a visit.
The School House is a great size and is well appointed with a spacious garage that was excellent for our 6 cyclists.
The inside was clean and tidy and had some great views up onto the Scar, well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space to store bikes and walking equipment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Glad that you and your cycling group were pleased with the accommodation and the location too. I'll let Hazel at the George know that you enjoyed your meals there too. Hope to see you all again either next year or in September for the Tour of Britain! Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing