We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort in nice location”
Review of Whitbarrow Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitbarrow Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We booked this week through Interval timeshare and enjoyed our time at the lake district and managed to do a daytrip to edinburgh in that time too as only 2 hours away so brilliant idea. the unit we were given was B6 which was one of the first units so not as good as the rest but we expected that as we came through interval. the unit itself had all the utensils, equipment you could ask for, loads of towels and sheets, cutlery, dishware( which ive never had in other interval units) BUT....we just had one big problem....smell. it constantly smelt of damp and we constantly had at least 4 flies in the house. we thought it was becaues we were located next to launderette but upon returning and reading reviews its relevant for a few other units albeit just the old ones. the beds were creaky and lino needs to be replaced by tiles as it lets the units down badly, and although no noise at all from outside, we had to suffer regular whirring from laundertte next door. apart from that the unit was certainly one of the better ones we had with interval.
the place could do with a shop, if not a vending machine, although the restuarnat was kind enough to let us buy milk on the occasion ours wen toff, albeit double the normal price but better than going to nearest petrol station which was 10 mins away then back.
the swimming pool gave lots of fun for kids to end day with, and the park area was enough for our kids( teenager and 10 yr old) to be entertained for an hour or so. After a great day exloring the lakes, going to local shopping places etc, we never returned home before 6, after which time it was pool then park before dinner and tv!
no wifi was hard for them, but brilliant for me as a parent as they could only use wifi at reception area.
it was game of thrones finale night for us and bar staff were amazing in letting us watch that practically all to ourself which was greatly appreciated. all the staff are lovely but i do find that they were all non stop busy so nice time for a chit chat even, perhaps a few people more would help. my fave members was the lady in the bar, and then the gentleman in friday evenings at reception who were friendly and helpful
we did not eat in the restaurant, prices were too expensive for us, and when we did a takeaway pizza it was only enough for 2 of us but we made pasta and glad we bought it as it was delicious.
all in all, once its decorated and renovated these units, its definitely a nice resort to go to with not all the thrills and frills but certainly peaceful.

Room Tip: new units in phase 3 or 2, but not 1 unless decorated fully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BritishAsianfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a great base for exploring the Lakes and further afield. It is disappointing to see that you were somewhat underwhelmed by your accommodation in certain aspects, please be assured that your feedback has been passed to all relevant departments and that we are indeed starting a refurbishment process on the traditional farm cottages over the coming months, which we are sure our guests will love. Thank you again for your feedback, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Whitbarrow again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Whitbarrow Village and found the accommodation was spotless and so was the grounds, there is plenty of car parking in the car park area, the Restaurant, we used on two occasions and we was very satisfied with the food and service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly impressed with the housekeeping and grounds teams that we have onsite. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Just back from a week in Whitbarrow Village with my children. Well-equipped house, good facilities, decent pool, friendly staff. A very good base for exploring the Lakes.

Only downside; the double bed was very small and uncomfortable so steer clear of T19 if you are very tall or large.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank fjl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you and your children enjoyed your break and found us to be a great base for exploring the Lake District. Your constructive feedback regarding the double bed has been passed to our Maintenance Manager. Thank you again for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We visited last week for a 3 night mini break at the hotel.The room was clean, modern and spacious, with the addition of a small kitchen and outside patio space. In the bar there was a varied choice of bar snacks,greatly appreciated after a long day of walking and the restaurant which we used on our last night was exceptional.There are a number of individual self catering properties linked to the hotel which are also able to use the facilities of the hotel.The pool never seemed crowded and there were adult only swim sessions available.Overall a lovely stay with friendly atmosphere and staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor with a patio however the rooms on the first floor have a balcony area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We stayed in the hotel part of the village, it was amazing. The bath is Huge! it has a seperate living room with kithcen and an upstairs bedroom.

Sadly the kitchen just has a microwave not an oven but does has a hob. We wish we knew this before we got there as we wasting alot of oven food. Also the bed was a standard double bed in a massive room, upgrading the beds would make a massive difference!

But the location, views & steam room are amazing, would defintly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azaira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed with family who had booked one of the cottages. Lovely quiet setting far enough away from the hotel and busier parts of the complex. We took advantage of the swimming pool which was big enough for the serious swimmers and with a childrens pool, satisfied most family needs. The unisex changing facilities work amazingly well with some changing cubicles big enough for a family of four. Everything was there from costume spinning dryers, hair dryers and body was on tap. Swimmers are limited to 30 so sometimes theres a wait.
The biggest plus was the Eden restaurant in the hotel. We ate there two nights and had some of the best meals for a while. The waiting staff were very pleasant and hard working, nothing being any trouble for them, partyicularly dealing with children. Both the gammon and the sirloin steak, not cheap but worth every penny.
Ideallly located for north Lakes, would recommend it for family holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We booked a week here with Interval International and were allocated unit B4. Based on other reviews of Whitbarrow, it would appear we got the worst unit on the complex!
It was small, dark and dingy. The beds were small and uncomfortable. The bathroom was terrible - a very old suite looking like it was last updated in the 70s. Only way to shower was to use the shower attachment whilst crouching down in the bath and as there was no place to affix the shower attachment or a shower curtain, it was awkward and you ended up spraying water all over the place! The whole unit smelled vaguely of fish, had flies and the lack of decent sized windows meant it was permanently gloomy even though the sun was shining on most days.
Another major issue was the lack of Wi-Fi in the unit. In this day and age Wi-Fi should be standard. You should be going away to enjoy facilities at least as good as you have at home (unless you are camping or deliberately going for a rustic experience) - shower and Wi-Fi are essentials in my book.
We didn't try the restaurant, but the bar food was terrible. The desserts were some of the worst we have experienced in a long time: cheap slabs of very over-sweet bakewell tart, dry chocolate brownies and extremely poor quality ice cream.
On the positive side, and saving this place from a 1 star rating, the bar staff were friendly enough, the location is pretty and the swimming pool adequate.
We left 2 days early and won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BucksToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. All guest feedback is greatly appreciated and considered of the utmost importance as we strive to provide amazing experiences for all our guests. It is disappointing to see that you were left underwhelmed by your accommodation during your stay, our resort comprises of traditional Victorian farm buildings and the feedback we receive regarding the quirky layout of the cottages is usually very positive. It is unfortunate that we were unable to move you to accommodation more to your taste due to the incredibly busy nature of the resort but please be assured that your feedback has been taken on board and will certainly be useful as continue to develop and improve our lodges. We are in the process of installing wifi across the resort and hope to have it in place by the end of the year, which we are sure all our guests will love, but in the meantime we do have complimentary wifi available for our guests to use in our main building, restaurant, games room and lounge area. Your feedback regarding your bar meals is also disappointing to see, as the option to enjoy a lighter meal in the bar, or to take food away to the lodge, is a firm favourite with our guests. Please be assured that your feedback regarding the food has been passed to the Restaurant Management team so that actions can be taken to ensure that all our guests enjoy their dining experience in the Eden Bar and Restaurant. Despite your disappointment with aspects of your stay, it is great to see that you enjoyed making use of our onsite leisure facilities and that the bar and restaurant staff made a particularly good impression on you. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrier
0.1 km away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
383 reviews
10.3 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
14.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
486 reviews
19.1 km away
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
#1 of 6 in Bassenthwaite
164 reviews
9 km away
Waternook Lakeside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitbarrow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitbarrow Village

Address: Berrier | Penrith, Berrier CA11 0XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Berrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Berrier
Price Range: $123 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just fifteen minutes from the M6 motorway, halfway between Penrith and Keswick and a mere five minutes from Ullswater, The Whitbarrow Village resort sits beneath the famous blencathra fell (also known locally as Saddleback) and offers both luxury and serenity to all who visit – as well as easy access to the delights of The Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitbarrow Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Holidays Whitbarrow Village Hotel Berrier
Whitbarrow Village Cumbria, England - Berrier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing