We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitbarrow
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
523
265
61
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
523
265
61
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtcrazy golftime shareswimming poolleisure facilitiesduck pondon site restaurantguest relationsholiday villagenorthern lakesmain buildinglovely poolself cateringsteam roomreception staffbunk bedsgames room
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Nicely appointed rooms for 6. The setting is very pleasant, the grounds and rooms clean and comfortable. Interesting that some of the niceties of rental space are missing, there is no soap, shampoo, lotionin the bathrooms, no wifi in the units (misleading on the website.) there is wifi in the bar, needless to say, there are several people using it. Coffee is not available until 8:00 am, but the restaurant is quite nice. There is a workout room and a pool. Towels for use in the pool are £10, recommend you bring your own.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Take the opportunity to climb Saddleback / Blencathra, it's so close you'll never have a better chance. The hotel is clean and well maintained, and the restaurant food good and plentiful. I find it difficult to remember anything to criticise.

Room Tip: Perhaps the lounge was a little crowded with furniture, less is more!
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you loved your stay with us and found us to be a great base as you explored this beautiful part of the Lake District. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We booked this week through Interval timeshare and enjoyed our time at the lake district and managed to do a daytrip to edinburgh in that time too as only 2 hours away so brilliant idea. the unit we were given was B6 which was one of the first units so not as good as the rest but we expected that as we came through interval. the unit itself had all the utensils, equipment you could ask for, loads of towels and sheets, cutlery, dishware( which ive never had in other interval units) BUT....we just had one big problem....smell. it constantly smelt of damp and we constantly had at least 4 flies in the house. we thought it was becaues we were located next to launderette but upon returning and reading reviews its relevant for a few other units albeit just the old ones. the beds were creaky and lino needs to be replaced by tiles as it lets the units down badly, and although no noise at all from outside, we had to suffer regular whirring from laundertte next door. apart from that the unit was certainly one of the better ones we had with interval.
the place could do with a shop, if not a vending machine, although the restuarnat was kind enough to let us buy milk on the occasion ours wen toff, albeit double the normal price but better than going to nearest petrol station which was 10 mins away then back.
the swimming pool gave lots of fun for kids to end day with, and the park area was enough for our kids( teenager and 10 yr old) to be entertained for an hour or so. After a great day exloring the lakes, going to local shopping places etc, we never returned home before 6, after which time it was pool then park before dinner and tv!
no wifi was hard for them, but brilliant for me as a parent as they could only use wifi at reception area.
it was game of thrones finale night for us and bar staff were amazing in letting us watch that practically all to ourself which was greatly appreciated. all the staff are lovely but i do find that they were all non stop busy so nice time for a chit chat even, perhaps a few people more would help. my fave members was the lady in the bar, and then the gentleman in friday evenings at reception who were friendly and helpful
we did not eat in the restaurant, prices were too expensive for us, and when we did a takeaway pizza it was only enough for 2 of us but we made pasta and glad we bought it as it was delicious.
all in all, once its decorated and renovated these units, its definitely a nice resort to go to with not all the thrills and frills but certainly peaceful.

Room Tip: new units in phase 3 or 2, but not 1 unless decorated fully.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BritishAsianfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a great base for exploring the Lakes and further afield. It is disappointing to see that you were somewhat underwhelmed by your accommodation in certain aspects, please be assured that your feedback has been passed to all relevant departments and that we are indeed starting a refurbishment process on the traditional farm cottages over the coming months, which we are sure our guests will love. Thank you again for your feedback, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Whitbarrow again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Whitbarrow Village and found the accommodation was spotless and so was the grounds, there is plenty of car parking in the car park area, the Restaurant, we used on two occasions and we was very satisfied with the food and service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly impressed with the housekeeping and grounds teams that we have onsite. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Just back from a week in Whitbarrow Village with my children. Well-equipped house, good facilities, decent pool, friendly staff. A very good base for exploring the Lakes.

Only downside; the double bed was very small and uncomfortable so steer clear of T19 if you are very tall or large.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank fjl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Resort Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow Village. It is great to see that you and your children enjoyed your break and found us to be a great base for exploring the Lake District. Your constructive feedback regarding the double bed has been passed to our Maintenance Manager. Thank you again for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews