We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
350
28
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
350
28
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake district kedgeree country house evening meal lakeland breakfast homemade granola roaring fire living room hot tub fabulous breakfast kendal mint cake warm welcome home made beautiful room weekend break the main house no hesitation in recommending
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 390 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night but will definitely return if in the area again.The house is a beautiful double fronted Victorian property with lots of original features retained inside. It's very tastefully decorated throughout.Our room was very comfortable and it was lovely not to hear a sound outside- very peaceful.The breakfast was excellent- very good quality food.
We had read that there were evening meals but they now just do platters.I would have gone for this but my husband wanted a more substantial meal.However, we hadn't booked anywhere and had difficulty finding anywhere with availability when we arrived.Advise booking somewhere in advance and avoiding The Swan where we went - the food there was not good and very overpriced.Having tasted the breakfast at The Knoll, I think we should have stayed in the cosy lounge and had a platter!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A4296GZkathrynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

We had a relaxing and peaceful childfree weekend away.

Room was lovely and great wifi signal which was needed as we had no phone signal.

Food was amazing. We had a couple of platters one evening in our room which were really tasty. Would have liked more bread or crackers for the cheese and salted butter but that's just my personal choice.

Breakfast was really nice. Fruit, cereal and yogurts and then a full english breakfast which was very tasty and amazing quality. My husband said the black pudding is the best hes ever had.
Loved the local jams and lemon curd.

Great selection of tea and coffee in room and they happily provided some decaf tea. Would have liked a mug in the room as you dont get much tea in a cup.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AllisonB2146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018

Thank you for such an amazing stay! We would love to come back :) The hospitality and friendliness of staff was excellent and straight away we felt welcomed and relaxed. As the weather was wet, we decided to eat in the hotel and that was the best decision! The food, they had a special Valentine's Day menu, was exceptional. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the value for money was good for three courses of such lovely food. The food was just as good at breakfast and the black pudding was especially delicious! The room was clean and nicely decorated, very comfortable and warm. The shower was nicely powerful and the finishing touches in the room (Kendal mint cake, choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cookies, wifi) made our stay even better. It has a lounge room that feels like an old fashioned drawing room, it has a real fire and was great to relax in on an evening. The building itself is lovely and easy to find as it's just off the main Lakeside road. It is a 10 min walk from the aquarium of the lakes, Windermere lakeside and the posh hotel on the corner, which is good for a drink if you did want to venture out. If you walk for about 20 mins you come to the lovely Newby Bridge - it's also a great location for driving to towns like Conistone, Hawkshead, Keswick, Windermere and Grassmere - all of which are beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly come back, thank you!

Room tip: great views from top floor
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosymo, Public Relations Manager at The Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed our special Valentine’s menu. We hope you will stay with us again. Soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 x night on a business trip hosts were fantastic nothing to much trouble even cooked breakfast early for us due to our needs. Sat in the lounge in the evening with log fire relaxing meat and cheese platter was define. Well worth the money. Rooms were well equipped lovely and clean highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kirstyc774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosymo, Public Relations Manager at The Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

So pleased you had a great stay with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2018

What a truly lovely B&B, all the other reviews are right about the location, food and superb breakfasts but for us it was the ambience We've never felt so relaxed and at home, away from home. From the informal atmosphere in the snug with a roaring fire, candles, rugs to snuggle up in great background music and wonderful scents they've got all the bases covered. Over our 4 night weekend break we walked mountains during the day and came back to relax with great food and drink. Our main host was the ever attentive Denise who was warm and friendly with a genuine thoughtfulness for our needs while not been in our faces at all. For a couple who usually keep themselves to themselves we shared some lovely evenings chatting with Denise and other guests which we feel again is due in great part to the relaxed feeling we had, and the mulled wine certainly helped!! What ever it is they've certainly got it right! We cannot wait to return.

Room tip: Only 8 rooms so all probably great
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hellenp855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews