We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico at it's Best”
Review of Mayan Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Most people have the wrong attitude about mexico. People your in their counrty, so relax your standards and go with the flow. I love this place and they try so hard to please you. If your nice and just break a smile, they will go to great lengths to make you happy. I had a RCI screw up here, but the Mayan made my vacation a great experience. They made sure Iwas taken care of and so friendly. Their spa is wonderful and everything is maintained and so clean. So relax your standards in Mexico, change your attitude, and they will bend over backwards to make you happy. I found the front desk to be most helpful and listened very well. I love the Mayan experience, and I don't own here, but I exchange here often because they really do their best, and it meets my standards.
Beach is outstanding and clean. Service at the beach is tops. Nice weather except July and Aug, Sept, too hot but I have been here in those months, and they work to make your experience the best and keep you cool with that great pool and drinks.
The restaurant was Great. They made us special dinners at our request and we asked them to make these special preparation in fish and food for our son. THey did it. Yes it's a little pricey but worth it and very good. I found the quality to be great, despite what others say, and I'm picky.
Lower your standards and go have a safe trip and good time. I came back so relaxed and had a Fantastic Vacation. My husband and daughter said they want to live there. No one wanted to come back. :)

Room Tip: If you want a good beach view, then ask for the new towers. If your want a easy access to everythin...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kiki033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Mayan Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed a full week at the Mayan Palace at the end of March! We loved the secluded, very private beach which was also very clean. The outside facility of the Mayan Palace is quite beautiful, exotic and kept clean. The rooms are average in size, the two double beds fairly small and the balcony not for use. The Mayan palace is about 10 miles south of the city and there are no other restaurants, shops etc. close by. The restaurants and everything at the hotel is over priced and not even that good. After the second day of our stay we started to joke about "what can they possible charge us for now". Everything seems to have a price tag, the gym, usage of internet etc. I thought the staff was friendly and sufficient. This is by far the nicest beach at Puerto Penansco and if you don't mind either packing everything or paying the price tags, this is your spot!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ARIZONAULI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for a week in Febuary of 2012. Will never stay at a Mayan property again! The desk staff were less than helpful and could be considered rude. The resort itself is miles out of town and there are no restaurants between town and the resort. The resorts restaurants were over priced and the quality of food was not up to the standards set by other eateries in town. The road to town is not very good and doesn't seem to be getting any better with time. Rooms are cold and bare bones. Kitchens are small and hard to cook in. Kitchen utensils were pathetic. No throw rugs on the floors and feet never get warm. They put us in a room overlooking the parking lot until we asked for a ocean view, which they begrudgingly did. Building looked as if they could use some paint and maintenance. You can hear every step and movement in the room above you. Cheap contruction.
Seemed to us that the Mayan corporate creedo is to take every dollar out of their guests pocket and care about anything else.
Exchange rate in town everywhere was 12.50 pesos to the dollar. The Mayan was 11.50. Banks were even better than the town rates.
This is a very greedy resort and the attitude prevails through out the resort. There are no elevators in the hotel.

The beach is one of the better beaches in Northern Mexico and that is the one redeeming quality.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the room before you accept the key.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Harry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Spent a few weeks in Dec 2011 and was impressed by the facilities and the staff. This is not the warmest place in Mexico in the winter months but I can only imagine it as wonderful in the Spring and fall months. The place was spotless and the Huge Heated Indoor Pool really made a difference. The food selection in the restraunts was a bit on the higher priced side and the in room cooking facilities were the typical Myan Palace two hot plates, a bar size fridge and a small Microwave. Barely adequate but important to bring your own food as there is no real reasonable transportation into town. Veterans would bring some plastic tubs of groceries .
Graet beaches for those long walks a fabulous but windy Golf Course (at least in December). The transportation options for the guests to access Rocky Point is something the Mayan Palace group has neglected to take as a serious issue for their guests vacation pleasure. Although the town is within an easy drive of the US border there are many who are concerned about their safety who do not travel by car. 20 km is too far . Mayan Palace neds to initiate a transportation desk service and look at some scheduled reasonable service even if it was on a pre-booking basis.

Room Tip: Stay in the older areaseach side of the reception hall hey provide easie access to everything and wi...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank wayne248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The best part of the Mayan Palace vacation at the end of December and into January was the long, very private beach with amazing shells for collecting. We made a point of walking several miles every day, and during low tide we were rewarded with many treasures from the sea. At the MP, however, we encountered issues such that we will not return. One major problem for us was the extra charge for the use of any facility (tennis, fitness room, pool tables, internet/computers, ice for ice chests); it felt like being "nickeled and dimed" to death! Luckily we were not asked to pay to use the indoor pool. (Outdoor pool is not heated during the winter--quite a shame, especially since it's so beautiful.) Another huge drawback was the use of cheap hollow core doors that the MP has between rooms, leading to the hallways, everywhere! You can hear your neighbors' conversations, and I'm sure they heard our intimate times--not quite what you'd want from a luxury vacation hotel. The gurgling sink every time the toilet was flushed was an interesting feature to our room, too. Hard beds, smallish rooms, unusable balconies added to our disappointment, if not displeasure. Nonetheless, the front desk personnel and the housekeeping staff were all wonderfully accommodating, respectful, and gracious people within the rules and limits of their parent company. The property is located quite a distance from the town (at least 35 minutes by car), but we made the trek once and enjoyed it immensely. There are great bargains, lovely artifacts, and enjoyable encounters to be had among the townspeople.

Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view, and it was, indeed, lovely to wake up to the ocean and to watch th...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TucsonJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are Mayan Palace owners and decided to visit Puerto Penasco because we could drive there.

The Drive: Absolutely zero problems! We were stopped on the USA side of the border twice after leaving. We were stopped once on the Mexican side of the border during a drive from MP to Puerto Penasco by federales. The federales were very polite, looked at our IDs, and wished us a happy vacation.

The Mayan Palace: The beds were actually comfortable.... but we did ask for the egg crate toppers to be put on. The beach was AMAZING. The tidal variations are extreme.... about a mile between high tide and low tide. If you enjoy beach combing and shelling this is the place for you!!! My favorite part of the whole trips were walks during low tide. Food at MP was expensive as always, but we ate breakfast in our room most days. We rotated between staying on property and being lazy for a day with traveling into Puerto Penasco to explore and eat on alternate days. The indoor pool was great as it was a bit chilly during Thanksgiving to use the outdoor pool. We enjoyed water aerobics and volleyball.

Timeshare: We decided to attend the presentation to hear about the "updates." We were rewarded with discounted massages and a credit to our bill. We turned down the offers of paying $10 grand to eliminate usage fees because their financial illustrations assumed that the member would not actually use the time share for vacation. That is not the case with us. We are happy that the MP still has such a high exchange value when we use RCI. We can usually book 3 week long vacations using the MP week points. We asked our timeshare presentation guy where the locals eat in town and he gave us a few GREAT recommendations.

Puerto Penasco: The town was small and easy to navigate.... but we speak enough Spanish to read road signs and hold simple conversations. We took a fishing trip where the fish bit the hook as soon as it hit the water. We gave away MANY, MANY fish to the fishing guide's family and took the rest back to the MP to fry and to make ceviche. We ate at Mary's which had great quality seafood and offered a beautiful overlook of the bay. We walked the streets as well as the beach in town. The vendors are aggressive, but if you can speak enough Spanish to say "No gracias, senor" and then make a little small talk with them, it is not a bad experience. The town is not up to the standards of Cancun or Playa, with quite a few unpaved streets.

Overall impression: Visit here if you want a quiet, relaxing time and enjoy walking on the beach. A car is very useful because the town is about 25 minutes away, but if you speak no Spanish the driving could be a bit harrowing.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room and the desk help will accommodate you if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DrDebB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had booked a 2 week (Dec 17 - Dec 28) stay at the Mayan Palace with our friends through their RCI time share. So, there were 8 of us in total (4 adults & 4 children). We had a shuttle take us from Phoenix to the resort and were anticipating a wonderful Christmas vacation. Unfortunately, the weather was not very nice (around 17 Celsius on average and very windy). This caused us to spend most of our time indoors. The lobby, spa, gymn, restuarant, and pool areas of the resort are nice; however, the rooms are quite cramped and the decore is dated. We had a kitchenette that consisted of a bar sized fridge, micro wave, and a 2 burner hotplate style stove (no oven). There was also a small kitchen table and couch/TV area. Adjoining this room was a bedroom/bathroom with a king size bed and on the other side a bedroom/bathroom with 2 queen size beds. For some reason there was no heat in the kitchen/living room area or in the one bedroom. A worker came a few times to fix it, but it never did work. The other thing we found annoying was the "wind tunnel" hallways. One always had to make sure to hang onto your room door when going in and out, so it wouldn't slam. The extremely windy hallways in the resort made it a very chilly walk to get anywhere especially when coming back from a swim in the indoor pool (no change rooms to get back into your clothes after a dip, so everyone's lips would be blue by the time they got all the way back to the room). There were hardly any other people at the resort, so they weren't running the buffet which our children would have been able to eat for free at. Instead we were charged full price for meals off the menu. Since we didn't have a vehicle at our disposal we had to pay quite a lot for a trip into town ($35 each way for the 8 of us). We also needed to be careful about how many groceries we bought due to the small refridgerator. Like someone else had mentioned in their review, there was a fee to use the gym ($10/wk), internet, and washer/dryer ($5.50/use). A pina colada cost $8. I think that they definitely charge more for food/drinks as you are kind of screwed if you don't have a vehicle since it is so far from town. Couldn't go in the outdoor pools as they were freezing. In the end, we ended up leaving after only being there one week. Might have stayed for the full 2 weeks if the weather was better as the beach was amazing.

Room Tip: Looked like at least half the rooms have an unobstructed ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lara676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
151.1 km away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
770 reviews
153.2 km away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
717 reviews
151.9 km away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.1 km away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
212 reviews
149.9 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
154.5 km away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace

Address: Km. 24 Carretera Puerto Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $123 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco is an awe-inspiring vacation for guests of all ages. This desert oasis of relaxation and wonder offers a truly unique getaway, with its world-renowned golf course, luxurious outdoor pools, Jacuzzis, fire pits, and stunning surrounding scenery. As soon as you enter The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco, you’ll leave the rest of the world – and all of your cares – behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing