We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most relaxing vacation-ever!”
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
GUARD STATION AND ENTRY AS SEEN FROM THE SEA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
CASITA ABOVE THE GARAGE
GUARD STATION AND ENTRY
AS SEEN FROM THE SEA
LOOKING SOUTH AT CASITA FROM MASSIVE DECK
KAYAKING WITH DOLFINS AT SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
LIVING ROOM W FIREPLACE AND BRICK DOME
OWL ON GRAND CARDON NEAR OUR HOME
VIEWS FROM CASITA
SAILING RIGHT BEHIND THE HOME [taken from deck of home]
KITCHEN BAR LOOKING INTO LIVING ROOM
CASITA TO THE RIGHT ABOVE THE HOME
BRICK DOME IN LIVING ROOM
YAKING WITH BUDDIES [taken from deck of home]
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
HOW REMOTE? TAKE A LOOK.....
APPROACHING THE HOME. CASITA NEAR PALMS
SEA FRONT DECK OF CASITA
ADOLFO, HEAD OF SECURITY AND KEY MASTER
HOUSE SITTER, BLUE HERON ON THE PALAPA
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
BEAUTIFUL HOMES ON THE BEACH
ALL GOODIES AND APPLIANCES
HOME LOOKING NORTH, CASITA ABOVE GARAGE
HOW TO GET HERE
BILLIONS OF SHELLS 16  MILES DOWN THE BEACH
MASTER BEDROOM W KING
THANKSGIVING 2012 BASH
QUEEN BED IN BEDROOM 2
LUSH MATURE LANDSCAPE
FESTIVE BATHROOM DECOR
YUP, THAT'S HOW IT FEELS
2ND BATHROOM
TYPICAL SEA, PELICAN AND PONGA [Nov 2012]
FULL SIZE LAUNDRY CENTER
ROOF TERRACE
LIVING ROOM LOOKING INTO HALL
BUGAMVILIA
DOOR TO DECK FROM BEDROOM 2
WHALE ON THE BEACH [5 miles up the beach]
UPPER CONNECTED TERRACE
LITTLE SKIM BOARDER
SEA LIFE AND MILLIONS OF SHELLS
BIRD ISLAND-HOME TO OVER 3,000 SEA LIONS [about 25 miles north]
KIDS OF ALL AGES LOVE THE BEACH
BEACH STARFISH [right behind the home]
SKIM BOARDING IN THE TIDE POOLS [taken from deck of home]
VOLLEYBALL ON THE BEACH
COOL TRANSPORTATION IN Y GRIEGA 25 MILES TO THE EAST
PELICAN ON THE BEACH [1 mile north of home]
BEAUTIFUL WOMEN AND BUGAMVILLIA
TYPICAL SUNSET FROM THE DECK
MASSIVE GRAND CARDON JUST A FEW MILES AWAY [8 miles east of the home]
FAMILY FUN ALL DAY LONG
900 TO 2,000 YEAR OLD POTTERY WITHIN 1/4 MILE
MASSIVE SAGUARO CACTUS WITHIN 1 MILE
A LITTLE BAG OF CHEETOS FOR THE WAY HOME
SHRIMP BOAT IN THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
HUGE SAND DOLLAR [found on the beach by our home]
TYPICAL DESERT SUNSET [7 miles from the home]
RAINBOW OVER THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
RARE WHITE PELICANS [taken from deck of home]
NOV 2012 SUNSET FROM DECK
MASSIVE MUTANT CACTI [10 miles north]
AINCIENT PETROGYPHS [40 miles east]
ANOTHER TYPICAL SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
BIKE RIDES IN THE DESERT EAST OF THE HOME
GREAT BLUE HERONS [1 mile north]
VIEW OF THE SEA FROM THE ROOF TERRACE
LIVE SEA HORSE
BIRDS ON THE BEACH
SWEET BLUE JELLYFISH [the size of a softball and 'non-stinging']
MOUNTAIN OF PINK/WHITE SHELLS
WHALE SKELETON AT CEDO
PADRE KINO MISSION [in Pitiquito 55 miles east]
THE 2ND LARGEST ASPARAGUS PRODUCING AREA IN THE WORLD
GIANT SEA TURTLE [3 miles up the beach]
FATHER & SONS IN THE DESERT
I AM TALKING 'BIG'
HAPPY FAMILY VACATION NOV 2012
FAMILIES STROLLING THE BEACH
FRONT YARD AND STAIRCASE TO CASITA
INCREDIBLE SKY
YAKERS IN OCTOBER 2012
YAKING THE WAVES-NOV 2012
BLUE HERON IN TIDEPOOL NOV 2012
MORNING MOON OVER THE SEA NOV 2012
SITTIN' IN THE WAVES
ULTIMATE BODY SURF
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Penasco, Northern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CLKessler
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most relaxing vacation-ever!”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Initially I was going to stay in Puerto Penasco. But due to our last minute plans, there was no place decent to stay in PP, and I really didn't want to be in the middle of New Year's Eve chaos. My husband and I own a retail store in Scottsdale, AZ and we were exhausted from the Christmas shopping season. Somehow I found Milo's place in Santo Tomas, I was very reluctant because I had never travelled via auto, further south than PP, also was worried that it may be too isolated for us. We really just wanted to chill out, not cook, not do anything. After talking with Milo, I decided to give it a shot. So glad that I did!!! The drive past PP was about an hour further, on a very good highway. No hassle from anyone, or anything! The directions were clear and concise. We arrived around 11 a.m. and WOW! Driving over that small hill and getting our first glimpse of the ocean, I knew that we had made the right decision. We got to our "casita", a small 2 bedroom apartment over the garage. We had everything that we needed. A nice kitchen, a living room right on the beach with the most amazing views. Especially the sunset. We stayed for a total of 6 days. Milo and his lovely wife Boni invited us out one day to meet a few of the neighbors, we all went hiking to a forest of Grand Cardon cacti. What a beautiful hike. Milo told us all about the agriculture in the area. We drove to the asparagus fields, orange and olive tree orchards, etc. Was amazed as I never knew the desert yielded so many crops. We drove to a semi-small town to have dinner one night, which I highly recomend. A family Mexican restaurant called "Palo Verde" in La Y Griega. We also drove further south the Desemobue, a tiny fishing village.

We spent a lot of time walking on the beach, if we were lucky we would see 15 people. It was so nice, we were able to let our little dog off the leash and he ran through the sand dunes, around the beach, frolicking in the surf. Was such a treat!

As for the accommodations, we loved our stay. Our bed was comfy, our apartment fully stocked. Our terrace was amazing, we barbecued on the deck, watched sunsets, and enjoyed the sun.

We loved this area so much that we have decided to buy our own little piece of paradise and build a house just a few doors down from Milo.

Go, you won't be disappointed!! Go to the little surrounding villages, walk on the clean, wide, uncrowded beach! Wish we could have stayed longer

Christine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the owners, the neighbors, the hospitality
Liked least: couldn't stay longer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
It was great having you here...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linja50
Kanab, Utah
2 reviews
“This place is an addiction we just can't seem to give up!”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We find ourselves trying to return at least once a year with our children. The anticipation always mounts as we drive into Las Dunas and climb the last rise where cactus and desert are exchanged for a breathtaking view of the Sea of Cortez. Our kids usually about fly out of the car to run down to the beach ( they are probably avoiding unloading the car) but it seems to put us all in a great mood. We keep going back partly because there is always something new and we love how despite being in a foreign country, we feel safe there too. We saw a washed up whale this time, and also discovered petroglyphs on one of our day adventures out to Caborca. Just a thought, if you are into touristy Mexico, maybe this isn't the place for you, but we are not, so that's a plus for us. We don't have to rough it-- the vacation rental is beautiful and well equipped, but we can enjoy our family time, bonfires on the beach, fresh fish from the ocean, and a sense of space and freedom that somehow the more populated places can't give us. Yep I've raved on but it really is that good. Boni and Milo tell us a lot of their customers are just like us, addicted to coming back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruby m
Kanab, Utah
1 review
“70 degree weather in the middle of winter, simply amazing.”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Beautiful scenery all around. A lot of fun activities and things to do. Amazing kayaking experience with dolphins, and fun time in the ocean. Loved how the beach is pretty much private. Fun hikes in the desert to see petroglyphs, and we had a good time in town going shopping and meeting some knew Mexicans too! (even though i'm not great at Spanish!) It was also nice to get a good tan and go driving down the beach to find sand dollars and shells. While spending our days full of fun stuff to do, we also had bonfires at night and jumped in the ocean for a good night swim! So fun and a great experience. I would love to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many activities, private beach
Liked least: The travel there from Utah
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
Kanab, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous stay at a secluded beach in Mexico”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The Casita was just right for our two children and us; the kitchen had all the equipment needed for wonderful meals, and the living area was comfortable and perfect for us; we kayaked with dolphins and saw a sea lion. We made a day trip to Caborca, explored the desert and nearby petroglyphs, and the decks overlooking the desert and Sea of Cortez were wonderful places to hang out and BBQ fish. Couldn't have been a better Christmas vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach and desert
Liked least: Driving there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“We Had A Blast!!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Go!!! Go!!! Go!!! One of the most beautiful beach casitas we have stayed at. It has the best wrap around balcony so you can enjoy the Sea of Cortez on one side and some great mountain views on the other. It also had a shared roof top deck that was decorated in all Mexican tile which was beautiful. And the view from there was AWESOME!!! I would have to say the highlight of our trip was kayaking with the dolphins 20 feet away from you. It was unbelievable!!!
Anyone who wants a relaxing, remote hassle free vacation go to this casita. The owners Milo and Bonnie are informative, friendly, excellent people!!!

It's definitely on the top of our best vacation list!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the Sea of Cortez and the Tidal Flats
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemeloMal...
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We went down in mid-October. Perfect weather, perfect beach. Whole family was able to go (including the two dogs) and it was a great time! The kids loved kayaking, snorkeling, and recording underwater video of the sea life. We collected tons of sea shells and sand dollars. The dogs went crazy running around as far as they could and chasing sea gulls and crabs. Went into town and got some awesome food at Palo Verde Restaurant and bought around 30 burritos to bring back to the home with us, good and cheap. The trip down was uneventful, which is always good. Had no problems at all, despite getting the red light at the border. Milo was great and very responsive to every question I had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach
Liked least: wifi was a little weak (college kids had homework to do)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariaH800...
Vail, Arizona
1 review
“Freedom”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wanting a little adventure? Wanting a bit of solitude? Wanting a beautiful, beachside getaway? Well, this is THE PLACE. Nowhere else have I been in the world where I feel completely relaxed, have miles of beach to explore with no one else around, have had so many seashells to collect, have kayaked with dolphins just inches away, have eaten fresh seafood and produce, have gotten to know and adore the local people, and have just BEEN. And… our dog was even allowed to go too!! She spent hours on the beach trying to catch the blue crabs. This is a paradise for both children and adults. To quote my ten year old daughter, “We’re free here.” And it’s true. This place has a sense of freedom I’ve felt nowhere else. We highly recommend Boni and Milo’s casita in Santo Tomas. There is absolutely no reason to be hesitant about traveling to Santo Tomas because of what you hear in the media regarding crime in Senora Mexico. This was our second trip. We have never been hassled, frightened, or even felt uncomfortable. In fact, we have experienced just the opposite. Getting there was easy. We were treated with respect at all the checkpoints and no one ever asked for money. Once there, when we asked the local fishermen about buying crab, they returned that late afternoon with 2 kilos of shelled, amazing crab at a ridiculously low price. The next morning, we were brought 4 huge melons from the local fields at no charge. I’ve truly enjoyed brushing up on my Spanish and regard the people of local edijio with the utmost respect. They are genuine. And, a vacation here really is authentic. Two notes: 1) it is good to be prepared for weather that can quickly change during monsoon season, and 2) the kayacks are a heavy hall back up from the beach. So make sure you reserve some energy during the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: only getting the sand out of the car upon return home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
We are so happy to see you return and learn to love this part of Mexico as much as we do. See you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing