We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“everything you could ask for”
other travellers have booked this property
OUR HOME FROM THE BEACH
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OUR HOME FROM THE BEACH
YAKING WITH THE DOLFINS GUARD STATION AT ENTRY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
OUR HOME FROM THE BEACH
YAKING WITH THE DOLFINS
GUARD STATION AT ENTRY
NEW LAT SCREEN TV AND BLURAY PLAYER
CASITA ABOVE GARAGE
MONSOON SEASON-SWEET RAIN
OWL ON GRAND CARDON NEAR OUR HOME
SAILING RIGHT BEHIND THE HOME [taken from deck of home]
HOME FROM THE BEACH
YAKING WITH BUDDIES [taken from deck of home]
HOW REMOTE? TAKE A LOOK.....
APPROACHING THE HOME.
ADOLFO, HEAD OF SECURITY AND KEY MASTER
FESTIVE TILE BATH
HOUSE SITTER, BLUE HERON ON THE PALAPA
BEAUTIFUL NEW BEDDING IN THE LARGE [SLEEPS 6] BEDROOM
BEAUTIFUL HOMES ON THE BEACH
HOW TO GET HERE
COOL RAISED SINK IN BATH 2
BILLIONS OF SHELLS 16  MILES DOWN THE BEACH
STAIRWAY TO HACIENDA
THANKSGIVING 2012 BASH
HACIENDA OUTSIDE SAND SHOWER
LUSH MATURE LANDSCAPE
YUP, THAT'S HOW IT FEELS
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
TYPICAL SEA, PELICAN AND PONGA [Nov 2012]
DOUBLE SETS OF SILVERWARE
ROOF TERRACE
CUP OF COFFEE?
BUGAMVILIA
GLASSES ANYONE?
WHALE ON THE BEACH [5 miles up the beach]
MORE GLASSES ANYONE?
UPPER TERRACE
MISC [EVERYTHING YOU NEED] UTINSELS
LITTLE SKIM BOARDER
BOWLS, ELEC STUFF, ETC
SEA LIFE AND MILLIONS OF SHELLS
BIRD ISLAND-HOME TO OVER 3,000 SEA LIONS [about 25 miles north]
KIDS OF ALL AGES LOVE THE BEACH
BEACH STARFISH [right behind the home]
NEW KING BED IN MASTER PLUS TRUNDLE BED
SKIM BOARDING IN THE TIDE POOLS [taken from deck of home]
TRUNDLE BED AND DRESSER IN MASTER
VOLLEYBALL ON THE BEACH
PORTABLE CRIB, GAMES AND PUZZLES CLOSET
COOL TRANSPORTATION IN Y GRIEGA 25 MILES TO THE EAST
PELICAN ON THE BEACH [1 mile north of home]
BEAUTIFUL WOMEN AND BUGAMVILLIA
TYPICAL SUNSET FROM THE DECK
MASSIVE GRAND CARDON JUST A FEW MILES AWAY [8 miles east of the home]
FAMILY FUN ALL DAY LONG
VIEW FROM KITCHEN TO THE SEA
900 TO 5,000 YEAR OLD POTTERY WITHIN 1/4 MILE
TWO SETS OF BUNKS WITH OCEAN VIEW
MASSIVE SAGUARO CACTUS WITHIN 1 MILE
SWEET COLORFUL MEXICAN DECOR
A LITTLE BAG OF CHEETOS FOR THE WAY HOME
SHRIMP BOAT IN THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
HUGE SAND DOLLAR [found on the beach by our home]
TYPICAL DESERT SUNSET [7 miles from the home]
RAINBOW OVER THE SEA [taken from deck of home]
RARE WHITE PELICANS [taken from deck of home]
NOV 2012 SUNSET FROM DECK
MASSIVE MUTANT CACTI [10 miles north]
AINCIENT PETROGYPHS [40 miles east]
ANOTHER TYPICAL SUNSET [taken from deck of home]
BIKE RIDES IN THE DESERT EAST OF THE HOME
GREAT BLUE HERONS [1 mile north]
VIEW OF THE SEA FROM THE ROOF TERRACE
LIVE SEA HORSE
BIRDS ON THE BEACH
SWEET BLUE JELLYFISH [the size of a softball and non-stinging]
MOUNTAIN OF PINK/WHITE SHELLS
WHALE SKELETON AT CEDO
PADRE KINO MISSION [in Pitiquito 55 miles east]
THE 2ND LARGEST ASPARAGUS PRODUCING AREA IN THE WORLD
GIANT SEA TURTLE [3 miles up the beach]
FATHER & SONS IN THE DESERT
I AM TALKING HUGE
HAPPY FAMILY VACATION NOV 2012
FAMILIES STROLLING THE BEACH
FRONT YARD AND STAIRCASE TO CASITA
YAKERS IN OCTOBER 2012
YAKING THE WAVES-NOV 2012
BLUE HERON IN TIDEPOOL NOV 2012
MORNING MOON OVER THE SEA NOV 2012
HIKING HOME
YAKING THE WAVES
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Puerto Penasco, Northern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jami M
1 review
“everything you could ask for”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

everything you could want for a well paid for vacation. There's something that can satisfy everyone. The place is perfect. They have everything you could need for an amazing trip to do as you please and the owners are extremely hospitable. The best hosts I've seen in a long time. you want to play games? they have them. want to bbq? there's a bbq. want to kayak in the ocean? all part of the deal. tubes? got em. life jackets? Of course. Boogie boards? You know it! Not to mention full kitchen set up with what you need plus washer dryer towels sheets tv wifi if you want everything! The location offers beach privacy unlike most tourists locations in Mexico(which are more expensive, more people, and less accomadating). Price is great for all this. I have zero complaints except that I wish I lived there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
The only way you could have improved your stay was to...STAY LONGER. See you next trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private, secluded, serene, breathtaking Mexican Shangri-la!”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful experience. I have alot of fond memories of Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point). As a boy our family would travel there every fall. It has been years since the last time I visited.
I wanted to share the same experiences I had in Mexico with my children. When I heard about this vacation rental it appeared to have everything we wanted and more.
We drove from Southern Utah The directions that the home owners gave us were very detailed, easy to follow and guided us directly to the home (through some of the most beautiful parts of the Sonoran desert I might add).
When we arrived at the home we were instantly awed by the magnificent views of the ocean and desert. The craftsmanship of the home (the outside) was superb and captured all the Spanish flavor and architecture you might hope to find in Old Mexico.
Upon entering the Hacienda we again floored with the beauty and craftsmanship. (The pictures on Trip Advisor don't do it justice) the Hacienda was alot roomier than expected and had all the comforts of home and then some. The views of the ocean were breathtaking and the sunsets every evening were spectacular. Everyday we had the entire beach to ourselves with no crowds or distractions. Peaceful serenity.
The home owners Milo and Bonnie happened to be there during our visit and we're very gracious in showing us the hidden treasures of Santo Tomas and the surrounding area. From the ancient Saguaro cacti forest(sensational)to the Grand Cardona forest(awe inspiring) and all the local (authentic)markets and shops. What a wonderful experience. We can't wait to visit again. Special thanks to our host's Milo and Bonnie McCowan for making an awesome vacation into an exceptional adventure.
Muchos Gracious!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thanks for your comments. Can't wait till we play again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S
Washington, Utah
2 reviews
“Epic relaxing beach paradise and naturalist's desert dream.”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is the ultimate beach vacation! Our group consisted of 6 adults, and 8 children ranging in age from 6 to 18 years old. The hacienda accommodated us very comfortably with everything you have in your own home (and more), and slept all 14 of us in beds! After the beautiful drive through the real mexico we were awe struck by the first views of the beautiful blue waters of the Sea of Cortez as we pulled into Santo Tomas. The architecture of the homes was breathtaking. The adventures while we were there included: the most sea shells I have ever seen anywhere, kayaking with the dolphins that visited the beach daily while we were there, two unbelievable cactus ecosystems minutes from the house, a charming mexican village with most any supplies you need. The hospitatlity of Bonnie and Milo was second to none during our stay. EPIC!!!! This will be your best vacation ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Steve, thanks for the wonderful review.... I know we are sweet but didn't know we are that sweet.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kn3Js
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Twice as nice the second time around!”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Santo Tomas for the Christmas and New Years holiday again. We love it here!! The house is well equipped, spacious and comfortable. The upper deck has a wonderful view and is great for hanging out on. Milo and Boni are very accommodating hosts. We had a couple of suggestions after our last visit and we they were on it. We had friends with this year and they absolutely loved it too. They said it was "one of their top vacations ever".

With miles of unspoiled beach there is no need to do anything besides relax, walk the beach and collect shells. We did kayak out to visit with the dolphins, which never gets old. We attempted to fish this year and fought the birds for the fresh squid that came to shore one day. We had fires on the beach, hikes along the sand dunes and through the cactus forest and just relaxed. One night the surf came in florescent green, which was very cool! Never seen anything like it before.

Puerto Penesco has good food shopping if you like a lot of variety. When we ran low on supplies we found almost all we needed in the village. My husband is gluten free, so we did bring a few items with us, as gf stuff is not available. Tequila is not available in the village either, but can be found in Desemboque. The peace and solitude here make it a truly restful vacation destination. If R&R is what you desire, this is your spot! Enjoy, we sure do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: impossible to pick just one thing
Liked least: low flow shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Kris, Joe and family are some of our very best guests. They have a true appreciation for the natural beauty of our area and live life to its fullest. They also are open about improvements and additions to the Hacienda and we really appreciate their input.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linjarina
Kanab, Utah
1 review
“It doesn't get any better than this”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have been coming here for years and it's been our own little sweet spot. We love that all we have to do is pack a few clothes, a good book and buy food because Milo and Boni's vacation home fills all of our other needs-- and then some! There is nothing better than seeing our teens leave their digital devices to kayak and come back ecstatic that they were surrounded by dolphins, or for us to enjoy a bonfire at night on a quiet beach that stretches for miles in awe at the luminous lights in the waves from plankton. It's the first year we've seen the lights, but each year there's some new gift. It has become a sanctuary for our family, a place for everyone to find something they love to do by themselves ( play guitar... read a book while baking in the sun on the sand... tough right?) and together. For us it doesn't get any better than this!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
Kanab, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enjoyed relaxing on the beach and exploring the desert.”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed in the lower walk out basement rental with my family and my sister's family. My two teenage children kayaked with dolphins and played on the beach for 6 days without any supervision or complaints. The rental was spacious and had all of the facilities for two families to enjoy cooking and relaxing together. Being able to walk out the door onto the beach was a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: The travel from Utah to the property, wish i lived closer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somer M
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
“Pure Paradise”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is the best place for families to vacation. The accommodations are spacious and amazing with everything fully furnished, a giant full sized kitchen and private bathrooms. The rental was both clean and beautiful.

The extras, including single and tandem water kayaks, volleyball net and ball, four wheelers, beach toys, kites, etc. etc. made for never ending fun. Even in November we had 75 degree weather all week and could not get enough of the beach.

But perhaps the best thing about this vacation place is the remote location. No crowds, no mayhem. You are often the only one on the beach and that is just the best ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing