We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zamboanguita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017

we went to relax but ended up diving as well. would have given 5 stars but only a couple of small things not up to 5 stars.
the resort is 22 km from dumaguette and is at end of dirt road. very quiet and right on the beach . the resort faces apo island where the dive sites are, very pretty, good beach walking at low tide and little garbage on the beach. The pool is great for relaxing but not big enough for swimming laps but the ocean is right there for swimming. staff are great and helpful. Rooms are clean and air con works well. Several blackouts while we were there due to earthquake in leyte and power being diverted there but backup generator worked well. Resterant was very good and we had breakfast included which was quite good except the ham was pressed ham of lunchmeat type but then again for price everything else was very good. We were the only divers on the boat one day and bought fish from fishermen as we passed them gong to dive site and they cooked them for us at the resort , very yummy.
We took the jeepny to dumaguette several times and it stops right in front of Robinsons mall . You can just flag the next one down at the main road about 6-7 min walk to road from resort. .Cost one way for jeepny is 20 pesos . We took tricycle back to resort later at night several times and cost is 350 peso one way.
The dive operation was very good. We had a chance to meet the hotel owners and one is a divemaster and the other an instructor. The dive boat was very nice and well cared for. The crew were all excellent. The dive sites were the best I have been to in the Philippines. 80 degree temp, 80 feet deep and 60 feet visibility. no overcrowding at the dive sites. coral was beautiful. on one dive we saw 6 turtles and 3 sea snakes. another five we saw a large school of jack fish ( wow ). I will be back for the diving. Best place to stay for diving apo island as closest to island and dive boat is at resort.
this is very nice place for the price point especially if you plan to dive apo island. highly recommend.

Room Tip: necest and most expensive are pool view and have best wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sea-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

It's not a five star dive resort but how they treat customers are top-notch, excellent service, food and fun dive crews to be with just a few miles away from Dumaguete city and front of APO island where best dive site located, I will definitely back for more dive with Wellbeach dive resort.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tiburci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Wellbeach is a great spot for exploring Apo Island. The owners are very knowledgeable and experienced divers. The staff is absolutely fantastic, amongst the best I have experienced. They are super helpful and attentive. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We booked upon a recommendation from a fellow diver friend. It was our first time to The Philippines so were not sure what to expect. We organised for the resort to send a taxi to the airport to pick us up. I read that it is a little bit more expensive than getting your own taxi, but I would much rather have peace of mind in knowing that we were not going to get scammed and that we would arrive safely. Our flight was delayed to Manila so we missed out connecting flight. I emailed from the airport to change the taxi pick-up time and to my relief, the owner responded quickly and rescheduled the taxi.

We arrived feeling tired but it was nice to have a swift and easy check-in and get freshened up, eat then rest. We booked our dive trip for the next day - after-all, that is what we came for. The rooms were cleaned every day and we had fresh towels. The resort was quiet and peaceful - we were able to get an afternoon nap on some days without any disturbance.

The staff were great. From the driver to the maid, all friendly and professional in every way. The food was awesome - big portions, great pizza as well as other dishes. We stayed about 10 days and never even thought of trying to go elsewhere to eat.

As for the diving, that was exceptional. We enjoyed every dive. We dived along the coast of Dumaguete as well as Apo island. We dived as much as we possibly could. The boat was fantastic. Well-equipped with very helpful crew. The guys helped us with our equipment and were always there when we came up after the dive, taking our fins, helping us out of the water...even bringing us coffee and tea! Excellent service.

We want to thank all of the team at Wellbeach for making our stay comfortable, memorable and perfect in every way. We hope we will be able to come back and visit soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DiveInPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you for your excellent review of our dive resort and especially our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

So promising, yet so dissapointing
Staff are VERY pushy to get you on the dive tours. They interrupted our dinner and we had to make up our minds immediately upon arrival if we wanted to go out with their boat on the next day.
They offer extra towels for the beach - but only their own beach. You can't bring it out of the resort.
All diving equipment is priced individually, however, we were refused to rent fins to take to Apo Island for snorkeling. My guess is it was only because we chose another boat than theirs. Their diving is VERY expensive!
The resort is very remote and it's a long ride to get to Dumaguete (45-60 min)
And lastly we booked a van to go very early to the airport, however, the van never showed up. It was 5 am in the morning, and no one there to help us,". The guard did nothing and supplied no contact details for his superior or the driver. In panic we were lucky to get a tricycle and just barely caught our flight.
All in all very disappointing!!!!

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Cecilie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hello Cecilie
Thanks to take the time to review us.
As you arrived late in the evening the staff asked you friendly if you want to join the Apo island trip next day. They have to prepare in order the trip will be well organized for the next day early morning; nothing to do with pushy, just tell Yes or no that’s all.
We give Swimming pool towels for free witch can be used on our pool and our beach and boat.
Dive and snorkeling equipment is for our guest on our boat.
So when you want to join another boat or dive operator, they will provide you with towels and mask & fins themselves, depends on their service, we are not responsible for other boat- dive tours.
We are one of the most affordable dive center in Negros Oriental with good service.

Yes, we are "remote"; it is about 30 minutes ( 22km) by bus or car from Wellbeach Dive Resort to Dumaguete City.
Nothing for partygoers and night owls more for people seeking rest, relaxation, snorkeling and diving.
Buss and Jeepneys pass every 10 minutes on the HI way going to Dumaguete so nothing to worry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We booked 2 nights in Wellbeach Dive Resort to be able to spend 1 day snorkeling in Apo Island. We just arrived today, on the 28th of April to find out this surprise: no trips to Apo tomorrow. So plan well your trip, because we've done many kilometers and spent many hours to come to a "dive resort" that doesn't have dive trips.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hello Carlos G.
Sorry that we didn't have an Apo Island trip on 29., but you want just only snorkeling
so we recommend you to take a small boat at Malatapay thats cheaper for you than to charter the big dive boat. Tomorrow we will have for sure an Apo island trip with many divers and some snorkelers where you can join.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel, literally at the beach, with swimming pool, A/C in all rooms, very good WiFi connection, amazingly friendly staff and one of the best diving clubs in Negro's island. They are NOT focused on taking your money and let you go, like many of the others diving clubs do. They do care about your safety and about teaching properly, one step after the other, without rushing you, and also in small groups. I'll​ definitely come again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellbeach, Manager at Wellbeach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hello Antonio
Thanks very much for your nice review and hope to see you again here to dive with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zamboanguita
2.3 km away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 4 in Zamboanguita
237 reviews
10.5 km away
Dumaguete Springs Beach Resort
10 km away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 17 in Dauin
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
20.6 km away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 37 in Dumaguete City
329 reviews
19.4 km away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#20 of 37 in Dumaguete City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellbeach Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellbeach Dive Resort

Address: Maluay, Zamboanguita, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6218, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Zamboanguita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zamboanguita
Price Range: $39 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellbeach Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well maintained resort with a personal touch is a wonderful place to unwind. If you’re looking for a place to relax, Wellbeach Dive Resort is the place to go.Twenty minutes from Dumaguete center, on the island Negros. (Negros Oriental). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wellbeach Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing