We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
US$56
View deal
Hotels.comUS$56
Booking.comUS$56
Expedia.comUS$56
eDreamsUS$56
TravelocityUS$56
PricelineUS$56
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
69
52
39
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
52
39
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020

The Hotel Mocambo used to be a landmark in the history of Veracruz. Not any more. It's sad to write something like this, but this venue is like a blured memory of what the place used to be. Is old, like abandoned, services are more than anything, sad. The staff is very friendly and willing to help, but the food is bad the pool is cold, the towels, beds, pillows and installations in general are old and without interest and not in good condition... The prices are high for what you get. It is a sad shame. I doubt I'll be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank aleccume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Fantastic hotel. Absolutely stunning architecture everywhere you look. Gorgeous views of the gulf. I love that nothing seems to have been changed since the hotel was originally designed, but everything has been decently well maintained. The restaurant serves delicious food at a very good price. Service was cordial and went beyond what was requested. The only issue I had was with getting wifi in some parts of the resort. If the wifi issue is corrected there is no reason not to stay at this hotel. I plan to return.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

I've been going to the Mocambo for about 20 years. It's a little bit run down but it's top of the line in everything else. The staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. You can find cheaper places and you can find newer places but if you want to FEEL Mexico, this is the place. Excellent view of the Gulf of Mexico. Experience this hotel before there are no more hotels like it.

Room tip: Tell the staff what you want and they will do everything possible to help you with it.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

We were at the hotel with family and we forgot my daughter's IPad, they sent us an email immediately to notifying about it. We are so glad about the honestly and the great service they have. The kid's pool is awesome so much fun. Definitely a 5 stars

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardo F, RP at Hotel Mocambo, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Hi Alma, thank you for your comments, we love to know that your stay has been pleasant.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017

I loved this hotel and will stay here again if I am fortunate enough to return to the Veracruz/Boca del Rio area.

As the photos show, it is in a gorgeous setting with beautiful views of the sea and expansive gardens and pool areas. On a separate level with Greek-like columns, there is a spa with three separate pools (one warm, one jacuzzi, one cool).

We used the wifi extensively in the restaurant area, the lobby and our rooms by the pool and had no problems.

The breakfast buffet was expansive and included home-made granola, egg dishes, Mexican dishes, breads and of course lots of fresh fruit. Service was excellent. We later traveled to Puebla and Mexico City and we agreed that the Mocambo breakfasts were the best. Their coffee was also really really good.

Our rooms were down at the pool level which made it very convenient. The rooms were spacious and very clean, but were dated and could use upgraded A/C units (mine was noisy), and more modern toilets. But the beds and linens were great and I slept well.

The landscaping is incredible - there are many benches/seating in different parts of the property where you look out at the sea, enjoy the flowers and listen to the birds singing.

The pool area is huge and very 5-star resort-like, with a cantina and food service available. There is a water slide for kids and they were having a blast.

One caution - the hotel has different levels, most of which are accessible only by stairs (I did see one elevator, but it was only in the lobby and useful for carrying luggage between lobby and front entry area). I would not recommend this hotel for anyone who is disabled.

Room tip: There are various levels of the hotel, some closer to the main lobby/restaurant, others down by the pool a few levels down.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DebbyV3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMocamboVeracruz, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Mocambo, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017


Hi, thank you very much for your comments.
We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel has been pleasant, we hope to have your soon return and to continue to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews