We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ARCHITECTURALLY, THE FINEST LUXURY HOTEL IN NORTHWEST MEXICO, BUT WITH A TWO-STAR MANAGEMENT TEAM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Mexicali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Located five miles southeast of the main border crossing into Mexicali, and adjacent to casinos, hotels, restaurants, universities, and with easy access to the Civic Center and the nearby municipal airport, the modern Hotel Lucerna is architecturally the finest luxury hotel in northwest Mexico--a five-star property, but operated by a two-star management team.

The block-long hotel site, with a mid-rise tower on the north side and three low-rise buildings on the south side, and with scattered “bungalows”, gardens, fountains, open-air bar, three restaurants, exercise gym, beauty spa, business center and shops in between, is connected with a central outdoor corridor with artistic decorations--not the typical urban hotel. The larger, single-story, poolside bungalows (that cost a few dollars more) are the best feature of this awesome hotel. In addition to free in-room beverages, continental breakfast, happy hour drinks and snacks at the VIP lounge (that is reserved for the exclusive use of bungalow guests), the bungalows offer some extra amenities including robes and slippers.

In early November, we first stayed in the smaller-sized (115 SF) but smartly decorated room (217) with a king bed in the north tower contain comfortable beds with quality bedding and sheets, a couch, chair, desk, minibar, flat-screen TV (with a variety of satellite channels--some in English), plus typical room amenities. If in the north tower ask for a room on the upper floors--better view. On our return trip, we stay in the larger (150 SF) with double queen beds (812) in the low-rise buildings on the south end.

The new modern Hotel Lucerna, that is celebrating its 50-year anniversary, has been completely renovated and remodeled. The safe and secure hotel, with free WiFi throughout the property, has 24-hour security guards in hotel and parking areas, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service and a concierge desk for special requests. We prefer the rooms in the low-rise buildings on the south side with room numbers in the 800s.

Unfortunately, the 2-star staff at the front desk are accustomed to guests who are unconcerned about the room rate, so they have a difficult time serving a cost-conscious guest. Our check-in took about 15-minutes because they were honoring the TripAdvisor reservation but the quoted price. After a long discussion, the staff offered us the best weekend reduced price possible (that was $10 more than the reservation). It was like bargaining for a blanket at the local bazaar. It is the $10 that is important; it is that we rely on the quoted price to make our hotel selection. It is annoying and embarrassing to stand at the check-in counter and argue about the price of the room. Later that day we meet a gracious hotel manager who listened to our check-in experience. Noting that we were returning to the hotel a couple of days later, she showed us a much larger room with double-bed rooms on the south side. To offset our disappointment with check-in, she offered to change our reservation to the larger room and to include a free breakfast--wow, what a deal. So we went to the front desk to confirm the change of rooms in our upcoming reservation. When we returned two days later, we got the same 15-minute check-in because they had no record of the quoted price of our original reservation, no record of the change of rooms, and they know nothing about the free breakfast--another annoying and embarrassing experience. So we had to pay a price higher than the quoted reservation. We want to recognize Hugo, the young bellman, who make every effort to offset our disappointment with our check-in.

One more thing--that evening, my wife and I were enjoying our walk along the poorly lighted outdoor corridor and encountered a single step in front of the coffee shop. My wife fell and sprained her ankle. Two employees in the coffee shop saw her on the ground but did not offer assistance. Fortunately, it was not serious and she recovered. The next morning I told management about the poorly lighted condition and the unexpected single step. Somehow, I doubt that they will correct the problem. Overall staff is friendly and helpful, but afraid to make a decision without authorization from supervisors who are frequently off-site--a suppressive management culture.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose the “bungalows”.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hi, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016

Best and safest hotel in Mexicali, the quality of service provided by the entire hotel staff from the bellboy to the manager is out of this world, Every employee will ask you if everything is to your satisfaction with a smile and a "good morning" etc.. Stay at the Casitas where the breakfast and mini fridge items are free.

Room Tip: Stay at the casitas, worth the xtra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank healthphysic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Hi, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Spent 2 nights in a standard room, no complaints, comfortable bed and the best shower I have ever used! Each staff member was really friendly and helpful. Great food and drinks all at reasonable prices. Will stay at Lucerna again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandAndSunLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hi, thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible, and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Our experience was excellent !!!!! The hotel has a good location close to many restaurants, and night clubs. Our room was nice,clean. AC, beds and pillows were perfect. Service at the Piano Bar was excellent . We are coming back again..!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi Edith, thank you for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible, and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I really had a good experience staying at Lucerna. Staff is very friendly and are willing to help. Our room had everything we could think of. Room was very clean. Bed was very comfy. AC system works very great! .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mauricio Jr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hello, we thank you for sending us this kind of feedback , we hope to see you soon at our hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Stayed there the week of 7/18. Hotel is in a good location, room was all right, no complaints here. With my reservation I got complimentary full hot breakfast and was pretty good. There are several restaurants withing walking distance, however not recommended to walk due to hot temperature, if you decide to eat at the hotel restaurants they have a steak restaurant that was also pretty good. I will stay there again if I return to Mexicali

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armavil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Great hotel, we were welcomed by Francisco the bellboy, who treated us the royalty, the acuaducto restaurant offers a great menu, this accompanied by the great drinks created by Ricardo the bartender, made our dinner memorable

Room Tip: Highly recommend to stay in the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexicali hotels
0.6 km away
Araiza Mexicali
Araiza Mexicali
#5 of 20 in Mexicali
203 reviews
2.1 km away
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
#1 of 20 in Mexicali
759 reviews
2.2 km away
Real Inn Mexicali
Real Inn Mexicali
#13 of 20 in Mexicali
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Araiza Calafia and Convention Center
0.3 km away
City Express Mexicali
City Express Mexicali
#2 of 20 in Mexicali
320 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
#11 of 20 in Mexicali
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucerna Mexicali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucerna Mexicali

Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez 2151 | Insurgentes Este, Mexicali 21280, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Mexicali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Mexicali
Price Range: $105 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lucerna Mexicali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Providing high quality hotel services and warmth for all our guests . Keep our promises and exceed the expectations of our customers through continuous innovation, highly committed staff and first class facilities . " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lucerna Mexicali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerna Mexicali Hotel Mexicali
Lucerna Hotel Mexicali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing