We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a nice hotel chain but service and maintenance is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Mexicali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We stayed for a short trip at this hotel. We chose it because of the amenities shown in their website's pictures. Those are misleading at best. The fitness center has 2 of their treadmills broken and that room is a sauna. I talked to Pamela in customer service because they have the fitness center thermostat limited to 78o F. She did nothing. I called again and talked to Daniel. The maintenance guy came half an hour later and did nothing. When I pointed out to him that 2 of the treadmills where broken he said that they were out of service and have been broken for a long time. The pool is small and the water is murky. The ice maker machine was broken. They advertise rooms smoking free but the whole floor where we were smelled like every room had people smoking pot. Horrible smell.

Room Tip: Don't choose 6th floor. The entire floor smells to people smoking pot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerardoTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear guest: We thank you your opinion, it is very important for us this feedback. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in this your Home Lucerna Mexicali. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed a night here while in Mexicali, very nice hotel. Very clean, modern rooms with all the amenities. Layout of the grounds was almost resort like, two pools and a couple restaurants, a very nice bar. Friendly staff and overall very nice experience. Reasonably priced and right near the main strip with all bars and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again when I'm in the area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TWalker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear guest: We thank you your opinion, it is very important for us this feedback. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in this your Home Lucerna Mexicali. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely sprawling hotel with two pools and several restaurants. I was there accompanying a friend for medical tourism. I did not spend much time at the hotel and wished I had more time to take advantage of the two pools and grounds. The place has a relaxing vibe. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom area is large and had a large shower with a rainfall shower head. Plenty of outlets, lights, drawers, in room coffee maker, fridge, bottled water, hair dryer and iron.

There are 4 restaurants but not all open on Sunday. There is live entertainment some nights in the outside bar and a piano player in one of the other restaurants. All the food I had was good, not outstanding but good. There are bungalows in the middle section which include the breakfast buffet. Breakfast is also ala carte and very good. Staff was always pleasant and helpful.

There is not much in Mexicali other than doctors, dentists and some casinos. You can walk to a couple of casinos and restaurants off the hotel property and there is a7 Eleven across the street for snacks. Room service is available 24 hours but the tag I put on my door for breakfast was never picked up so I did not get the breakfast. I recommend calling instead. I was on the second floor and the elevator was broken but this was not a problem for me.

Good choice for business, families, friends couples or solo.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank MLFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear guest: We thank you your opinion, it is very important for us this feedback. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in this your Home Lucerna Mexicali. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed here for a weekend getaway and found it not only to be a very reasonable price but also a very nice hotel. The staff were tremendous and the amenities were out of this world. There is no reason to leave this hotel. Fine dining, sports bar, pools and late night entertainment all in one place. We would go back again if opportunity arises!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear guest: We thank you your opinion, it is very important for us this feedback. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in this your Home Lucerna Mexicali. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Just spent one night here, and I found it good and comfortable overall. Better than some other similar options around this location. but...
- They need to improve cleanliness
- Restaurant is good, but they are REALLY SLOW serving.
- Towels should be much softer.
- Many channels in TV are not available, even when they say so in the print menu.

In all other aspects this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Angel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us these good comments about our hotel as they are very important to us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The facility is located within Mexicali and modern and up to date with decor and furnishings.

There are several restaurants on the premises. We did have appetizers and cocktails in La Terreaza as well as the free continental breakfast in the morning in the cafeteria. The breakfast had a wide offering of food including made to order omelets.

Two bottles of water were available in the room. I loved the rain shower shower head.

I did not have the chance to use the pool but it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Jill! Thank you for taking the time to leave us these good comments about our hotel as they are very important to us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Room assigned to me had broken AC. But to top things of there was used (with fecise) toilet paper floating in the toilet. Requested different room with working AC. This time the toilet had splatters of fecise on the rim. Have no idea how this hotel gets that many stars.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank hansel973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Community Manager at Hotel Lucerna Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. It was a pleasure to attend this situation personally. We apologize and we compromise to give the best service during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexicali hotels
0.6 km away
Araiza Mexicali
Araiza Mexicali
#5 of 20 in Mexicali
203 reviews
2.1 km away
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
#1 of 20 in Mexicali
759 reviews
2.2 km away
Real Inn Mexicali
Real Inn Mexicali
#13 of 20 in Mexicali
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Araiza Calafia and Convention Center
0.3 km away
City Express Mexicali
City Express Mexicali
#2 of 20 in Mexicali
320 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
#11 of 20 in Mexicali
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucerna Mexicali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucerna Mexicali

Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez 2151 | Insurgentes Este, Mexicali 21280, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Mexicali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Mexicali
Price Range: $106 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lucerna Mexicali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Providing high quality hotel services and warmth for all our guests . Keep our promises and exceed the expectations of our customers through continuous innovation, highly committed staff and first class facilities . " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lucerna Mexicali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerna Mexicali Hotel Mexicali
Lucerna Hotel Mexicali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing