We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican coffee, decent food, average prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eddie's Place Nopal Beach

Eddie's Place Nopal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$235
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican coffee, decent food, average prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went to breakfast here on the recommendation of a local. The waitstaff was helpful, the outdoor seating comfortable and the food was decent, if rather standard American fare. The Mexican coffee was the most outstanding and delicious item we ordered- with free refills! Also, an allergy to all things dairy has made ordering any coffee challenging, but they have non-dairy creamer here, and do not sneer at people who use it, (not true at many coffee shops).
This was a perfectly acceptable place to eat a relaxed breakfast. We understand Eddie (expat NY'er) also has live evening entertainment, but we didn't get back around to check it out. The location is very near several local hotels, many of which offer all-inclusive, so there isn't a long wait for a table.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    329
    148
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“when a congenial owner is always on site it's gotta be good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

cadillac margaritas [3 sizes] are the best and most potent---all food is fresh, delicious,and bountiful. atmpsphere is laid back perfecto,all staff are pleasant,helpful and add to a pleasant experience,

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4LOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! Good Food & Reasonable, What a combination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We travel to Nuevo every year. We have had breakfast at Eddies before which was good. This year while having breakfast we saw fishermen arriving with fresh seafood that Eddie was buying. It looked terrific and obviously fresh so we decided to try dinner.

We were not disappointed! I had one of the shrimp dinner specials. It included HUGE butterflied shrimp (probably 8 of them) and Jalapeno mashed potatoes. The shrimp were to die for and the jalapeno potatoes delicious!

Now the fun part... This meal was $145 pesos. The exchange rate when we were there was 12.5:1. So in US Dollars $11.60.

I debated writing this review because the more people that find out about this place the harder it's going to be to get in and if Eddie reads it he'll want to raise his prices. So if you decide to go please tell your friends it was lousy and we'll keep this place between us!

Gary S.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nopalbeach, Owner at Eddie's Place Nopal Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
thank you so much for the great review! i am glad that you enjoyed your meals, dont worry about prices going up, this is my concept to have good food at great prices and that will never change. And i just wanted to add a thank you to all the other reviews, we have been extremely busy lately and we try to make food as fresh to order as we can, and this sometimes causes a wait during the dinner rush. So again thank you all for understanding and the great reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katypoe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute Nuevo Vallarta Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We loved Eddie's! It was super homey and the food was great. We traveled with our 22 month old son and went there Valentine's Day, which was obviously a very busy night for them. Eddie made sure to get our son's food order in right away because he said he "raised 4 sons and knew they got hungry fast!"

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katypoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Busy so don't leave it too late to arrive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Superb value Lebanese food with local menu as well. Eddie is there every night. He will come and see you during your visit , usually with a huge glass of something in his hand. Live music in the evenings we have been there. Mix of 60s + music. Feel free to get up and dance! Go easy on the margaritas they are lethal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eddie's Place Nopal Beach also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Eddie's Place Nopal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing