We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot blame the hotel for its customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Jalisco
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Many people from the frozen beef and grain belt of Canada make this a loud resort unfortunately. Being from Vancouver I find these people embarrassing, loud, dirty, huge smokers, and probably illiterate as they never seem to relax and read a book by the pool.
Maybe I am wrong, you are supposed to get drunk from morning to evening 7 days straight and smoke like a chimney at the poolside for everyone to smell it and insist on playing country music.
Anyway, the food is good and great at the Italian restaurant. The rooms are noisy so bring earplugs, but for a good price its a great location to access the golf courses and everything PV has to offer.
Please management, make a designated smoking area away from the pools and not on the balconies, you will get a better class of Canadians and not these raunchy Prarie people.

Room Tip: away from court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
19  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 4,625 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After spending 8 days at Riu Mazatlan, I had high expectations. This place is ok, just not great. If you’re not up at 6am to get a place by the pool, you could be out of luck. They also don’t have pool service which kind of sucked. Maybe I was just spoiled from the Riu Mazatlan!
Restaurants were ok but the steak restaurant really disappointed us. The 1st night was great, went back a 2nd time and was definitely not the same service. We were there right when they opened, over an hour later we had still not gotten our food while the people who came in 25 mins after us had already eaten and were leaving. The waiter filled the wine of a table next to us, walked right by us and our empty glasses, not even acknowledging us that we would like a top up. We left before dessert was served, happened to catch the manager and explained to him how unhappy we were with the service. We are not hard people to please so I don’t think we were being too unreasonable. He barely even grunted at what we were saying. Not an apology, nothing. Yet when we talked to another manager at one of the other restaurants, he was very sympathetic and apologetic about our time in the steakhouse. Best part of the steakhouse is the resident kitties!
After getting issues with the toilet fixed finally after 4 days I was ok with the room. Not the best of beds but hey, it’s a hotel! Came back one day to find our bed only half made??? Towels just left on the dresser. Almost made me think that the maids shift was over so she just left everything as is. All in all it was an ok stay but next time will be checking out one of the other Riu’s. Not really ecstatic with this one.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, other at ClubHotel Riu Jalisco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback. We are very disappointed to find that this time your experience did not live up to what you usually expect from us. As a global brand, we strive to maintain consistent levels of quality in our hotels throughout the world.

We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. We will send your comments to management in case these standards have not been appropriately fulfilled at some point.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is no music in any of the common areas of the resort. Our room smelt like a drian hole. The air conditioning didn't work. The fan didn't work. We had to sleep with our balcony door open to the side alley of the resort where garbage pickup and then worker entrance was so loud all through the night and early hours of the morning. We asked about a different room for 4 days in a room and kept getting our room put on different lists and after packing all of our stuff up were still cancelled and reconfirmed and then lied to our faces several times by the front desk staff about when we would get a room that had sufficient amenities for what we were expecting based on their website and reviews. If you would like mediocre service, average food and a stinky funless vacation then this place is for you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
8  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, other at ClubHotel Riu Jalisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We are sorry to learn that you left our resort thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services and therefore, we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the resort though it could be frustrating.
Asked for 2 adjoining rooms, they couldn't do it because the resort was full. Ok, maybe but they also put us overlooking an empty lot. Not a nice way to rest on the balcony!
Overall I would give their organization skills a fail. No ice later in the afternoon at the pool bar one day. Only beer another day.
Beach was great, the vendors respectful.
Evening entertainment was not great even with a live band for new years eve.
Could never understand why the local bars could show NHL and Juniors hockey but a huge resort with a sports bar can't. Very surprised to have to pay 5 pesos for a game of pool.
Had a late flight and had to use the 'hospitality suite' which was really just a couple shower stalls separated into women's and men.
Food was good but the al la carte were mostly just themed buffet restaurants. Had a beautiful picture of a steak advertising the steak house but the actual steak looked like the typical tortured mexican beef.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family has been so fortunate to spend 4 weeks at the Riu Jalisco in the last 3 years. We just returned from our most recent visit Dec 31 to Jan 7. Yet again all was great. This year we were given rooms facing tha access road. Certainly not as pretty but so quiet. No entertainment noise, no kitchen noise. Turned out great! Food yet again terrific. This year the shrimp in the linguine at the Italian restaurant was like candy. Best ever. All restaurants up to par. Maître d was so accommodating as we arrived at the resort during New Years dinner and it was a little chaotic. Service was over the top this year. Our son left his fulled loaded backpack in a cab. The entire front desk staff and the gentleman who calls up the taxis were on top of it. Amazing. And because people are good they were able to get a hold of the driver and he returned it to the hotel the next morning. That speaks volumes to honesty and quality staff ..This year the beach was best ever. Kayaking in the morning, waves early afternoon and sandbars late afternoon. So is a forth visit in the future. Sure hope so.

Room Tip: Service Value Rooms all 5/5
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
10  Thank carolwpg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second time at the Riu Jalisco and had a wonderful time again. The crew at the pool were very entertaining, as were the performers in the shows at night. The only things that can be improved on 1: softer towels please!!! Towels were very hard and heavy. I pay good money to come to this resort and it pisses me off when my Hubby and I go to the pool at 10:00 am and all the chairs around the pools have towels on them. When we finally find chairs ,we watch and I would say over half of the marked chairs are not being used!! Management should stop this practice as it not fair to the customer who is actually there to sit by the pool!! One more thing....this is Mexico and I expected to find a Churro in the buffet, none, not one!! My mouth was watering for a Churro. Overall a great holiday and hope that these small problems will be looked at by management.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank joycetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Riu Jalisco December 29, 2017 until January 5th, 2018. We enjoyed the very hard-working, pleasant staff members, especially Lupita and Tony in the Cantina, Gabriel and Adriana in the Poncho bar and Salvador in the Don Emiliano restaurant. The ever-so-predictable, consistent weather was lovely and of course, the sun, sand and ocean are the reasons we went.

We got a really good deal on this all inclusive and realize, “you get what you pay for”, but we were disappointed in a number of things. Our fridge needed a new seal on the door to keep the drinks cold and was finally fixed (well, a little) after our 3rd request. One night I had to rig up the toilet tank lever to the flapper in order to get our toilet to flush! The towels were less than luxurious; very old and used with a terrible musty smell! The twin beds were pushed together to make a ‘king bed’ but were made as two separate beds.....and, they both had smelly, noisy mattress covers with plastic backs. When we asked to have them removed, one was shoved up and left on our closet shelf when it actually needed to be laundered. Sometimes our dirty towels were left on the floor, instead of being removed, and our beds were just made, not changed. We feel that on our second last day, we may have gotten a different staff member cleaning because there was a definite improvement!! We wish we had that staff member for the entire time. I included a picture of the lovely towel animal that was left....we only had one while others had them every night! (In the picture you can also see the two small beds pushed together.)

I have included a picture of the ‘spectacular’ view of the back lane from our balcony - we asked to move (not only for the view but the other issues as well) and were told they were very busy but maybe they could change us for Thursday (our last night) but rather than pack up, we stayed.

We would not go back to this resort.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Gailem68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, other at ClubHotel Riu Jalisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback. It makes us as a service minded hotel chain very proud that you highlighted our staff and described them as pleasant. Besides, it is always a delight to hear how members of our staff go that extra mile to ensure our guests feel comfortable and well looked after.

On the other hand, we are sorry to learn that there have been some issues in your room and our team did not react to your satisfaction. The ethos of our staff training requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. Therefore, please be assured that this does not reflect our service standards and that we will follow up the situation with our entire team.

We hope to get another chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
1.2 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
5.5 km away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
32 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,146 reviews
5.2 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Jalisco

Address: Avenida de Los Cocoteros, S/n | Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $214 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Jalisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Jalisco open all year round, is located in Banderas Bay in Riviera Nayarit on the Pacific coast of Mexico, directly on the beach. In the surroundings are the mountainous regions of the Sierra Madre and small, hidden beaches. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Bucerías (2km) and Puerto Vallarta (PVR) is approx.13 km away. The hotel has 700 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax with a massage at our Renova Spa or get in shape at our gym or with our RiuFit program. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children’s pool. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old and for adults, day and evening entertainment and many water sport activities, discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Mexican, Asian, Italian cuisine and Steakhouse, 5 bars situated in various areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Jalisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Riviera Nayarit
ClubHotel Riu Jalisco Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing