We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$144
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$545
US$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$189
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$324
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$354
US$154
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$196
Lol.travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$691
US$496
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,828)
Filter reviews
4,828 results
Traveller rating
1,350
1,738
862
503
375
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,350
1,738
862
503
375
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolla botanadon emilianoswim up barmusty smellasian restaurantsunwing repbeach restaurantbuffet stylefamily poolpushed togetherpalm treesliquor dispensermain buffettowel animalsother resortsevery other day
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 4,828 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2018 via mobile

After spending 8 days at Riu Mazatlan, I had high expectations. This place is ok, just not great. If you’re not up at 6am to get a place by the pool, you could be out of luck. They also don’t have pool service which kind of sucked. Maybe I was just spoiled from the Riu Mazatlan!
Restaurants were ok but the steak restaurant really disappointed us. The 1st night was great, went back a 2nd time and was definitely not the same service. We were there right when they opened, over an hour later we had still not gotten our food while the people who came in 25 mins after us had already eaten and were leaving. The waiter filled the wine of a table next to us, walked right by us and our empty glasses, not even acknowledging us that we would like a top up. We left before dessert was served, happened to catch the manager and explained to him how unhappy we were with the service. We are not hard people to please so I don’t think we were being too unreasonable. He barely even grunted at what we were saying. Not an apology, nothing. Yet when we talked to another manager at one of the other restaurants, he was very sympathetic and apologetic about our time in the steakhouse. Best part of the steakhouse is the resident kitties!
After getting issues with the toilet fixed finally after 4 days I was ok with the room. Not the best of beds but hey, it’s a hotel! Came back one day to find our bed only half made??? Towels just left on the dresser. Almost made me think that the maids shift was over so she just left everything as is. All in all it was an ok stay but next time will be checking out one of the other Riu’s. Not really ecstatic with this one.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, other at Hotel Riu Jalisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback. We are very disappointed to find that this time your experience did not live up to what you usually expect from us. As a global brand, we strive to maintain consistent levels of quality in our hotels throughout the world.

We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. We will send your comments to management in case these standards have not been appropriately fulfilled at some point.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

There is no music in any of the common areas of the resort. Our room smelt like a drian hole. The air conditioning didn't work. The fan didn't work. We had to sleep with our balcony door open to the side alley of the resort where garbage pickup and then worker entrance was so loud all through the night and early hours of the morning. We asked about a different room for 4 days in a room and kept getting our room put on different lists and after packing all of our stuff up were still cancelled and reconfirmed and then lied to our faces several times by the front desk staff about when we would get a room that had sufficient amenities for what we were expecting based on their website and reviews. If you would like mediocre service, average food and a stinky funless vacation then this place is for you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
9  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, other at Hotel Riu Jalisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We are sorry to learn that you left our resort thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services and therefore, we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

Loved the resort though it could be frustrating.
Asked for 2 adjoining rooms, they couldn't do it because the resort was full. Ok, maybe but they also put us overlooking an empty lot. Not a nice way to rest on the balcony!
Overall I would give their organization skills a fail. No ice later in the afternoon at the pool bar one day. Only beer another day.
Beach was great, the vendors respectful.
Evening entertainment was not great even with a live band for new years eve.
Could never understand why the local bars could show NHL and Juniors hockey but a huge resort with a sports bar can't. Very surprised to have to pay 5 pesos for a game of pool.
Had a late flight and had to use the 'hospitality suite' which was really just a couple shower stalls separated into women's and men.
Food was good but the al la carte were mostly just themed buffet restaurants. Had a beautiful picture of a steak advertising the steak house but the actual steak looked like the typical tortured mexican beef.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018

Our family has been so fortunate to spend 4 weeks at the Riu Jalisco in the last 3 years. We just returned from our most recent visit Dec 31 to Jan 7. Yet again all was great. This year we were given rooms facing tha access road. Certainly not as pretty but so quiet. No entertainment noise, no kitchen noise. Turned out great! Food yet again terrific. This year the shrimp in the linguine at the Italian restaurant was like candy. Best ever. All restaurants up to par. Maître d was so accommodating as we arrived at the resort during New Years dinner and it was a little chaotic. Service was over the top this year. Our son left his fulled loaded backpack in a cab. The entire front desk staff and the gentleman who calls up the taxis were on top of it. Amazing. And because people are good they were able to get a hold of the driver and he returned it to the hotel the next morning. That speaks volumes to honesty and quality staff ..This year the beach was best ever. Kayaking in the morning, waves early afternoon and sandbars late afternoon. So is a forth visit in the future. Sure hope so.

Room Tip: Service Value Rooms all 5/5
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
24  Thank carolwpg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018

This was our second time at the Riu Jalisco and had a wonderful time again. The crew at the pool were very entertaining, as were the performers in the shows at night. The only things that can be improved on 1: softer towels please!!! Towels were very hard and heavy. I pay good money to come to this resort and it pisses me off when my Hubby and I go to the pool at 10:00 am and all the chairs around the pools have towels on them. When we finally find chairs ,we watch and I would say over half of the marked chairs are not being used!! Management should stop this practice as it not fair to the customer who is actually there to sit by the pool!! One more thing....this is Mexico and I expected to find a Churro in the buffet, none, not one!! My mouth was watering for a Churro. Overall a great holiday and hope that these small problems will be looked at by management.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank joycetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews