We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Week In Nuevo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Week In Nuevo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just returned from our week at Occidental Grand and we had an excellent time! The resort is small, the beach is beautiful and the staff is friendly. The food is what you would expect at an all inclusive resort, nothing fantastic but pretty good. The rooms are clean, the showers were hot and the beds were big!

We loved the area - being away from the busy beaches of PV, we had a long, and quieter beach where we walked to Bucerias in just under 3 hours. We spent a few evening in Bucerias and had some fantastic street tacos, took in some local entertainment and checked out the band at the Drunken Duck. The Canopy River Expedition Ziplining trip was quite the experience and highly recommended for those who are looking for a bit of a thrill. You can't take your camera but their photos are well worth the money.

Can't wait for the next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, not many rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    906
    285
    105
    76
See reviews for
865
1,200
53
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Great vacation, and hotel. The staff was friendly and abliging. The rooms were beautiful and very clean.
The food was good with a nice selection every day. We felt very safe anywhere we went...this was never an issue. Long beautiful beach that you can walk for miles on with a good selection of lounges.
The only things that were bothersome was the venders on the beach...once or twice is fine to ask you if you want to buy something but they seemed continuous. The other thing would be the wifi....for a 4.5-5 star hotel there should be free wifi or even a $10 fee for the week not for 24 hrs...that was lame! We ended up going across the street to Starbucks for a cup of coffee and FREE wifi! The tours (city tour) should include the tip in the initial price so they don,t harass you and keep reminding you to tip!
Overall I would come back with my family(hoping that some details would have been amended)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank valchrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at this resort for a week Mar. 29-Apr. 4 and it was amazing. When we got to the hotel we were notified we would be upgraded to a deluxe oceanview room which was a nice touch. The oceanview was obstructed and you could barely see the ocean but it didn't matter anyway. The lobby is inviting and the louge bar is very relaxing. The room was very modern and pretty comfortable. The only thing is you really can hear everything around you, whether it is people in the hall or the t.v. in the room next to you (maybe the family next to me just had it up all the way) The gym is small but it works and is hardly ever crowded. They do have a water cooler in there that can be used for anybody who needs water. On a side note the water at the resort is safe to drink from any of the restaurants. The food was ok the breakfast buffets were awesome. Lunch was good at either the La Hacienda or the buffet. The restaurants were great for dinner but two nights I was disappointed with the buffet for dinner. If you want to eat at any of the resaturants on days you do not have reservations you can go to the desk around 1:15 PM and they can usually get you into the restaurant that night.

The beach was by far the best part of the resort. The waves were great for bodyboarding and you can walk forever on the golden sand. The water is not clear due to the sand but it is really fun. The vendors on the beach will ask you to buy things every hour but they are friendly and will leave you alone after a simple no thank you.

The chairs by the pool seemed to fill up first so we did not spend much time in that area but it looked nice and they had activites going on exp for kids. When we were there the resort seemed very full with a good mix of people from many countries.

The mall across the street is good for wifi and souveniers. The ice cream shop in the mall offers free wifi as well as the starbucks. You can also get plenty of souveineirs there.

We spent basically the whole week at the resort and had a blast and would not hesitate to go back however next time I think we will just stay in Puerto Vallarta just to see the difference but it would have nothing to do with the resort.

Room Tip: In the North building odd number rooms will face another resort and have a samll "beach view&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank purifymjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton,AB
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for a week in March and were quite impressed. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we had a great view of the pools, garden and the ocean. The room was large, clean and well appointed with wall mounted flat screen TV, lots of storage, coffee maker (but lousy packaged coffee), great comfortable king size bed and an in-room safe. We also had a small refrigerator tucked away in the armoire that was re-stocked every 2nd day with bottled water, beer and pop. We missed having a balconey, but did enjoy the table and chairs set up beside the large view windows.The bathroom was beautiful with a large shower and a lovely vessel bathroom sink. The towels were large, soft and clean.

There were 2 pools - a shallow one for children and a bigger,deeper pool for adults. Some mornings there didn't seem to be enough chaise lounge chairs for all the guests. We would come out about 9am to find all the chairs around the pool claimed. There were many more out on the beach, but again the ones under the palapas were often all claimed.

The breakfast buffet was great; lots of choices. omelet station, great fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and just about any breakfast food you would want. Only complaint - coffee was not great.

We only ever had lunch at the snackbar - very adequate with hot dogs, hamburgers, onion rings, fries, etc. nothing too spectacular.

We had dinner once at the Mexican specialty restaurant - very good and also once at the Italian specialty restaurant - also very good. The dinner buffet was hit and miss. Some nights it was good and other nights not so good. There was a different theme every night (Asian, Mexican, Italian, etc) and there were always lots of choices. The food was just OK.

The alcohol was a pleasant surprise. We met up with our son at the resort and he is young (30) and has some experience in bartending and he was impressed with the quality and the quantity. They had 2 types of beer on tap, 2 machines that pumped out pina colodas and strawberry daiquiries and the service was great. If you asked for some Bailey's or Kahlua with your coffe, you didn't get just an ounce but about 3 ounces!

There was entertainment every night and we watched most of the shows. Each show lasted for about an hour and most were good. The Mexican folkloric group was quite good and we also enjoyed the in-house dance group.

The beach was wonderful: wide, soft and enormously long. There were beach vendors, but not at all annoying - always polite. The water was usually on the rough side , but my husband and son were able to do lots of body surfing and loved it.

We felt we would have liked to be closer to Puerto Vallarta. It was easy to get there - only 200 pesos by taxi. There is a small shopping center near the hotel with clothing stores, souvenirs, groceries and a Starbucks! The shopping center and Starbucks have great free wi-fi!

We had issues with the wi-fi in the hotel - it is $10 per day and did not work well. I would advise walking down to the shopping center.

Overall for the price we paid, we had a bargain vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frenchtravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarington, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the OGNV from March 23 - 30 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We had a super time! The staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. We flew with Thomas Cook and were happy that we arrived in Mexico 45 minutes EARLY and landed back in Toronto 45 minutes EARLY - there were no delays or surprises along the way. Thomas Cook offers a free hot meal and complimentary wine with dinner. I would suggest paying the extra "seat selection" fee to prebook the exit row seats (seat 10b and 10c is where we sat). The money you put out is well worth it to gain a little extra space and lots of leg room. Our trip was booked with Sunquest Vacations and we will definitely use them again - no issues and they fulfilled every request.

The bathroom in each room is equipped with a hairblower and there is shampoo and body wash in the shower (although we did bring our own). There is a mini bar fridge in each room and it is stalked every 48 hours with pop, 4 bottles of water and a couple cans of beer. The water was really the only thing we used daily out of the fridge in order to brush our teeth and stay hydrated.

Bring a light sweater for the evenings - the weather was PERFECT during our stay with lots of sunshine each and every day. The evenings cool down (which is nice) and a light sweater is perfect to make you comfortable with the breeze.

We ate at La Buffet and the Italian and Mexican restaurants. The food at each was good and we had no complaints. If you receive an invite to the Manager's Cocktail Party make sure to go - it was a great social hour to get-together with all the new friends you have met during the week.

We look forward to our next stay at OGNV - it can't come soon enough! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #102 on the first floor. This room has a king size bed and is pool side with an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

For the past 9 days my wife and I have stayed at this resort. We have learned that Jesus runs a unbelievable, clean, warm, and friendly place. Jesus, the General Manager, and staff, like Laura, always ask, "How can I make your vacation even better?" and they seek to always follow through. The chef, Yann, is dedicated to make the meals excellent with great variety, quality, and freshness. His pastries are superb!!! Idali, the Concierge, will do whatever she can to make your stay the best and her smile and sense of fun will brighten any day. Andres, Carlos, Daniel could work in any first class hotel anywhere in the world. They are kind, open, and skilled. Our room attendant, Christina, maintained a clean, well-stocked room. She gave us a different towel animal every day, left us chocolates when doing our turn-down every night and greeted us warmly each morning - even when we slept in. We have been to many resorts in Mexico, Bali, and Belize. None have it ALL like this resort has - especially in terms of the warmth, friendlness, and helpfulness of the staff. Gracias to all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

A very clean, cozy hotel that included everything our family could possibly need. The workers were very kind and friendly to us, especially waiter Misael and souvenir tent worker Javier (hope everything is well with you guys). The beach was stunning, with majestic mountains everywhere you looked, and the waves were a lot of fun to swim in. The hotel grounds were small and well kept. The food was good, if you're not expecting fancy cuisine then you'll be perfectly satisfied with it. The evening shows were very hit and miss, the traditional Mexican shows were excellent while the more "American" shows were, well, let's just say you're better off taking a walk on the gorgeous night time beach instead. Speaking of the beach, there were waaayy too many guests spending all their time in the pool and never even setting foot on the beach or in the ocean! Come on guys, you're in Mexico, not your rich friend's back yard! Enjoy the natural wonders that you don't get to see back home...
We would certainly recommend this hotel and return there ourselves :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
10.1 km away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,617 reviews
3.4 km away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Barcelo and Travelocity so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing