We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,577)
Filter reviews
2,577 results
Traveller rating
2,110
300
89
34
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,110
300
89
34
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club world spa lemmon grass sister property demi pool omaggio restaurant insu sky lounge short golf cart ride brunello wine bedroom penthouse vip area rooftop bar full kitchen sea lions beach access private pool washer dryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,709 - 1,714 of 2,577 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed in the villa and the accommodation was fantastic. Upon check in the service is 1st rate. The food and service do not reflect standard all inclusive fare, it is fine dining all around. The staff learned our names and paid incredible attention to our kids. Hector, Gabrielle and Abraham waited on us for breakfast every morning and they will be remembered by my entire family. The highlight is the VIP beach club. The food and service was extraordinary. Our waiter Paco worked extremely hard and with a smile on his face. We looked forward to seeing him every day. Our family can hardly wait to return to this wonderful resort

Room Tip: We stayed in a Villa with 6 adults and 3 kids and were very comfortable. The suites are all very spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

than this resort!! The suites are complete luxury ... the staff are all friendly and helpful. And then there is the food, which is incredible ... presentation and taste are second to none.

We left the resort about 2 weeks ago and are in the process of planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Not to worry ... all the rooms appear to be excellent!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuoTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we cant wait for you to come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We visited in January and had the time of our life! The best service, food and all round experience of any all inclusive we've been to. I look forward to going back and to bringing friends and family next time. The private villas were stunning (with private pool). We got hooked on the tuna tartar for our afternoon snack and the size of the resort meant that we could get to know all the staff during our stay. Thanks so much to Ruben, Edith, Gabriel, Carlos, and many others who made our stay so wonderful. The private beach club, with amazing menu, meant for a great relaxing place to enjoy the beach on the days we wanted to, the long, sandy beaches were perfect for walking to Bucerias (sp?). The excursions were excellent - especially the ziplining and swimming with Dolphins and Sea Lions - all very civilized! Thank you!

Room Tip: Enjoy the roof top deck and bar in the mid-afternoon when there is no one around. We sat in the pool and drank champagne with no one else there except the bartender - very romantic!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I (late 40s) just returned from a seven-night stay at the Marival Residences & World Spa. We were very impressed with every aspect of this resort and would highly recommend it to friends, family, and TA readers. We have traveled to various resorts in Cancun, Riviera Maya, Aruba, Dominican, and Jamaica, so I feel we have a good basis to make comparisons. As far as all-inclusive properties, Marival Residences is our favorite due to their large, beautiful suites, their top-notch service, the amazing food, and the wonderful VIP Beach Club.

OUR RESIDENCE: One word... amazing!!!! We had a two-bedroom residence with a full kitchen, dining room, living room, two baths, and a very large patio. It is, by far, the best accommodations we've had in our years of travel. You will not be disappointed. We were in Room 303, partial ocean view. Upon arrival, the fridge is only stocked with water and soda, but if you would like beer (Corona/Pacifico/Modelo), just request it and it will be stocked. Note that for room service food delivery you will encounter a 10% charge. Housekeeping came mid-morning each day and did a superb job. Request a foam mattress pad if the bed is too firm.

FOOD: Each morning we ate outside near the pool at their buffet. It is not your mile-long sprawling buffet that you see at your typical mega resort. It is small but very good. Each morning they had two fresh cooking stations. One for eggs and one for quesadillas.

For lunch we switched it up between the VIP Beach Club, the outdoor buffet near the pool, or Lemon Grass a la carte. All choices were very good, but we were most impressed with the chair-side beach food choices. It was not your usual hot dogs and hamburgers. There were choices such as paninis, beautiful salads, and shrimp ceviche served in a coconut shell. Paco was our beach server every day, and he did an AMAZING job!

For our evening meals we also varied between Lemon Grass, Omaggio, and Insu Sky Bar. Again, we were very impressed with the quality and presentation of all of our meals. Most evenings my husband ordered a steak and I had either seabass, tuna, or chicken. One of my stand-out meals was seabass fillet with shrimp risotto and lobster cream sauce. Yum! Insu Sky Lounge offers a tapas menu featuring appetizers from four regions of the world: Asia, Europe, North America, and South America. There are approximately 30 tapas to choose from. We loved them all! Here are a few we tried throughout the week: Fish and chips; lobster potstickers; pepperoni, kalamata olives, and tomato flatbread; crab cakes; corn dog shrimp; grilled provolone with tomato chimichurri. There were only three dining choices, but we never once felt deprived of food choices. I would rate the food as 5 star.

BEACH: The beach is either a 3-minute shuttle ride away or a pleasant 8-minute walk by street/beach. We only used the shuttle one day. All other days we walked. You go out the back gate near the tennis courts, walk down the street a few minutes, take a short public sidewalk to the beach, then walk maybe 5 minutes on the beach to arrive at the VIP Beach Club. The gate is secured, and you must use the telephone supplied for entry to and from the property. It sounds much more complicate than it really is. No problems! The VIP beach section offers comfortable loungers and beds with plenty of umbrellas if you need to be out of the sun. There are also towels supplied, so there's no need to carry them with you from the resort. The chair-side food and drink service was amazing. Thumbs-up again to Paco! If you enjoy walking the beach, it is expansive and wide. You are able to walk for miles either direction. We actually never swam in the ocean (shame on us) so I cannot comment on the water temperature or the water quality. It was beautiful, though, with the mountains on each side as a backdrop.

POOL: The pool is small but very beautiful and clean. It was never overcrowded, just perfect. Once again, the poolside food and drink service was phenomenal! Our favorite pool waiter was Wence. Job well done! There is also a large, secluded hot tub tucked behind the pool area with several covered beds. Very nice.

DRINKS: No complaints! Nice choice of upper-scale alcohol.

COMPLIMENTARY EXCURSIONS: This resort offers select complimentary excursions. You are responsible for your own taxi fare to and from the excursion. We booked three excursions and enjoyed them all: Zipling tour, catamaran tour to Mujuhuitas and Yelapa, and the Dolphin Encounter. You are limited to ONE excursion per day. We estimated that our three excursions for the two of us would have cost approximately $400. Nice added value to our package!

OVERALL IMPRESSIONS: Great service; outstanding staff; clean, beautiful property and accommodations; wonderful food and drink choices.

MENTIONABLE STAFF MEMBERS: If management reads this review, I just want to personally mention some of your outstanding staff by name so they can be awarded for their hard work: PACO (beach), WENCE (pool), ERICKA (reception), HECTOR (breakfast), NELLIE (breakfast/quesadilla station), CLAUDIA (breakfast/egg station).

FINAL CONCLUSION: If in doubt, book it.

Room Tip: Third floor or higher, ocean view. First floor, lap pools.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarlaB1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your detailed review, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great service. Amazing food. Beautiful suites. I was hesitant at first about the distance to the beach but the convenient shuttle service brought us there quickly each time. Enjoyed Plenty of beach time and had a great time in the VIP beach area.

Would recommend this resort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews