We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 August 2012

After careful deliberation, my husband and I chose this resort to spend our honeymoon in Riviera Nayarit. This resort did not disappoint, the excellence in service experienced is like no other. We arrived at 12 midnight and were treated as if it was a normal check in time.
For future honeymooners please do choose the penthouse, it is the ultimate place for privacy and provides a catalyst for a perfect honeymoon, from the view of the ocean to the private pool, this is a must do!
The food is delicious and there is a good variety of culinary delights from Tapas at Insu, amazing dinners at Omaggio and great casual dining at Lemongrass. Also Kudos to the room service...just amazing. This resort is one I would certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sheens311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Traveler
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of our resort. We find your insights quite valuable and are sure that other travelers will benefit from them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Never wrote a review before but this resort is worth writing a review for. The staff, the food and the just the ambiance of the place was great. DO try the zip line! very worth it, even the city tour was a very nice experience. the people of Puerto Vallarta are really nice and make you feel very welcome. I also recommend the rythem of the night, very worth the money. If you want a place to relax and enjoy good food and a beautiful grounds this is the place for you. The sister resort is only a short golf cart drive away and they have nightly shows and have themed activities in the lobby. we met alot of great people through the excursions and had a great time doing everything Vallarta had to offer. We are a young couple and really enjoyed every minute of the this place and Puerto Vallarta as a whole The hotel even decorated our bed as a welcome and suprised us with a flowral arangement, and chocolate coverd strawberries because it was our anniversary. Cant wait to come back. look nowhere else but here.

Room Tip: If you do any tours take bug spray!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geovanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this web site. We really appreciate your comments, and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in our resort in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family returned yesterday from a 4 night stay at the Marival Residences. Tripadvisor reviews had helped me select the hotel and all the in and out of the hotel, so here is my 2 cents for future travelers. It's getting a bit long, but hopefully I offered some new insights.

Rooms: We had a pool side one-bedroom on the first floor and a two-bedroom on the second floor in the center building. The rooms are big, comfortable and clean. Very impressed.

I was under the impression from the hotel website that pool side room enjoys "secluded" pool, but it really is open to the public. Any one can go there. But there was not too many people using this part of the pool during our stay. If you were fine with just soaking in the pool, then I guess the penthouse' private plunging pool would be worth the money.

Our 2-bedroom was on the second floor. It faced the pool area, but you get no ocean view because it's so low. You'll want to ask for higher floor if view is important to you. The room is big and clean. However, the outside bathroom is not very big (comparing to the guest bathroom for the 1 bedroom). My son was complaining how small the shower was comparing to all other bathrooms. I think our bed already had a mattress pad. The bed was firm, but VERY comfortable. If you have back problems like I do, this bed is for you!! The website and the in-room information binder talked about pillow menus, but it didn't tell you how to go about it. Since our pillows were comfortable enough, we didn't bother. You get washer and dryer in your room. It was such a big plus. We didn't have to wring dry the swim suits by hand and no smelly cloth to put away. We just washed and dried everything every night. The washer did smell a bit if you kept the lid closed, so i tried to leave it open. So remember to bring some detergent. Every room has a TV. My two sons (16 and19) really liked it especially at night since there's not much going on. I sometimes wondered about the purpose of the trip (to watch TV???)

Property: The property is kind of small and there's no activity at night, not even a place to stroll after dinner (this is when a onsite beach would come in handy). Gym and roof top pool closed at 7, pools at 8. I tried to check out board games and stuff several times, but they were all checked out. Maybe the management should consider increasing the inventories? There was nothing to do at night! The gym was well equipped with towels and water bottles. We went there once. We didn't try the spa because i think it is overpriced.

Internet: You have to pay for internet/Wi Fi service and it is per device. I think it's 150 pesos per 24 hours, or 360 for 72 hours. You can also purchase by week. We purchased 3 days for one device. Once you logged in, your device is locked in, and only that device has internet access. So choose your device carefully before you log in. If you are thinking about using a wireless router, it will not work. We had to bow to their technology....

Food: all the restaurants have pretty good food. We especially liked shrimp corn dog and chicken tenders at Insu, wings, hot dogs and fish and chips at Lemongrass, short ribs and onion soup (lunch) at Omaggio. We had the Italian menu at Omaggio one night, and we were not very impressed. Dessert is definitely not their strong point. Omaggio does have different menus, so check before you decide where to go for dinner. I agree with other reviews that it was annoying at the end of every meal, your check would have a $0 total with gratuity line open.

Service: I was a bit disappointed about the service. It was not bad, but after reading so many rave reviews about the service, it didn't meet my expectation despite the extra tipping. Did I not tip enough after paying a bundle for the all inclusive package? A lot of time we had to get things ourselves or look for someone. Carlos at the pool did offer great service. Once I was at Lemongrass trying to order some snacks and drinks since no one came to our cabana to ask if we needed anything. No one came forward to help me as i stood at the counter. I had to ask some one who I should place order with. After I placed my order, I stood there waiting, Carlos who served us earlier came up to me, asked me where I was seated and offered to bring my order to me. That is what I called good service. The waitress at Insu also gave good service when we had dinner there. Sorry I forgot her name, but she served the big table at the center of the lounge.

Excursions: things to watch out for:
they can't book tour after 5pm. You have to make arrangement a day ahead. You can only book one tour a day, and no tour on the day you check out. And the 2 tours we took, we were not able to take any pictures on our own. You do take taxi on your own to Vallarta Adventures office where all tours begins (at least for us). It is a 7 minutes drive and cost 70 pesos one way for 5 - 8 people. For 1-4, I think the price is 35 pesos.

So we ran into some reservation problem during check in. By the time we were settled, it was too late to book excursions. We went to the concierge first thing in the morning and was told the tours need 24 hour advance notice. That left our first day completely open. Since Sea Lion Encounter was only 30 minutes and it was a short drive away, I wanted to book another tour to fill up the day. Can't do that. Our flight leaves at 6 pm on check out day, so I wanted to book a tour in the morning. Can't do that. In the end, we could only booked 2 tours. I don't think you could call this "unlimited" tours.

One of the tour we took was the zip line tour. I highly recommended it. What the concierge failed to inform us was the included tour was Canopy Park Adventure (I don't even think Vallarta Adventure sell this package). Most of the people there was for Extreme Zip line Adventure (which include UTV, waterslide and Mexico's longest zip line). During check in, they would ask if you want to upgrade for $39/person. If you don't want to upgrade, you'll be waiting for the other people to be done with the extra activities which takes about 1 hour. The tour itself was great. They did rush you a bit. I don't know if they were trying to get things done in time or they didn't want to give you time to second guessing yourself. The tour included several zip lines and one rappel. The last zip line (the longest and fastest zip line in Mexico) is a must do. The guides let us went without upgrading (no UTV off road, though). It was so relaxing and exhilarating. At the end of that was a 30 second waterslide. I heard it was a bit scary because you were in an enclosed tube which you couldn't see anything. I opted to walked down since I didn't bring change of clothes. It was about 5 minute down hill walk. My sons did do the waterslide. You went fully clothed including your shoes and helmet. So if you didn't bring change of clothes, you'll have a wet ride home (a 45 minute ride). The photo package was by person. We ended up getting the $149 package for 6 people that includes CD (you can choose as many pictures as you want and you can have multiple copies of the CD) and 12 printed pictures (2 per person). You definitely need insect repellent. My sons refused to put insect repellent on. Boy, did they get bitten. I think they each had more than 30 bites on their exposed arms and legs. My husband who did use insect repellent also got many bites on his back through his well ventilated T-shirt. Something to think about.

The second tour was Sea Lion encounter. Although it was fun and interactive, most of the time was focused on taking pictures. Surprisingly, the package here was more expensive than the zip line tour. $250 for 6 people. We decided not purchase any here.

Overall, this is a really good hotel. I was afraid it was a bit boring since we didn't get to do much, but both of my sons said they had a pretty good time. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lasergod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Traveler
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review of your vacation. Undoubtedly, your "two cents" are very much appreciated, and we hope you'll give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I really liked this place , especially their rooms , I played golf 3 times and went on the sea lion and dolphin encounters also visited Yalpa by boat and snorkeled too, and it was all included .
the service could be a little better if the waiters could take their time and really understand the order , the best service was at the beach club and umagio but the pool servers are not very good. Overall I had a great time and would recommend this place .

Room Tip: room 309 had 3 different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salamondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting your review of our resort on this web site. We value your comments, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The entire resort was spectacular. The service and staff was by far the best I have ever experienced in any part of the customer service industry. When I had misplaced my wedding ring, the staff worked very hard to find it and ultimately did. the food is wonderful, the rooms are amazing, and the drinks were awesome. I really want to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jschill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Traveler
Thank you for writing a review of our resort. It is uplifting to hear you fully enjoyed your vacation experience, and would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Amazing all inclusive resort!

Great food at all restaurants. Lunch at air conditioned Omaggio was a good break from the sun with excellent food. Don't forget to try Lemmon Grass for dinner. Although its outdoors, the fans make a nice breeze and the food is definitely worth it. Best dinner service of the week by Eduardo and Omar.

Great service in the restaurants and poolside. Thanks to Carlos and
Wensenslao for the non stop poolside drinks and food. My kids couldn't get enough!

Access to the beach is easy via golf cart, but doesn't allow my kids to go back and forth from the pool like they do at other beach-side resorts.

The sister resort is a little run-down, so although the facilities and restaurants are included, it doesn't make things very appetizing after spending most of our time at the residences.

Huge rooms. Beautiful living area and full kitchen. More like a 1500 sq ft condo than a hotel room.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlchow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Traveler
Thank you for an insightful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The family stayed at the Residences in March 2012. The resort was smaller than what were used to for Mexico. That was generally a plus. We didn't get lost in the hordes and the staff got to know us after a few days. The negative, there is less variety for on-site activities. That aside, the facilities were spectacular. The pool area was loved by the kids and the pool side restaurant was so convenient - swim, eat, swim, drink .... The restaurant were all excellent - the food surprisingly so for an all inclusive. In fact, the food was as nice we could expect at the finer restaurants in Vancouver - and we could not say that for the 4 other places we've stayed at in Mexico. The kids club was small, which limited the activities, but the staff were very good. The included exersions were a real plus and we would highly recommended the zip line activity. The dolphin one was fun, but pretty much as expected - touristy and a bit cheesy (with expensive photo packages). All in all, a fantastic resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor or above to get a nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Traveler
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our resort. Your comments are valuable to us and taken into consideration by management. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.2 km away
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,993 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,852 reviews
0.6 km away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#10 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort

Address: Av. Paseo Cocoteros | Lote 53 Villa 8 11, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $394 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Beyond rooms or suites… the only luxury all-inclusive resort featuring modern Residences and Villas- so spacious from 1400 to 3940 sq ft! TripAdvisor Awards in Best Luxury, Best Family and Excellence. Award winning chefs offer a la carte international gourmet dining. Guests enjoy free tours, unlimited golf, VIP full service beach club and 5 star service, plus exchange privileges at sister hotel Marival Resort and Suites. Experience Melange World Spa with unique treatment rooms from 9 countries around the world. Special Kids and Teens programs too. Spacious all-inclusive Residences for couples and families are in the perfect locations. Demi-Pool Residences feature a “walk out” full service garden patio and secluded infinity pool. Ocean View Residences surround you with breathtaking views of the Pacific from sunrise to sunset. Rooftop Penthouses have private rooftop plunge pool and sundeck. For couples- renew your vows or get married for FREE with our FREE Wedding package! For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! High-end Residences, indulgent services…nothing compares! Marival Residences Luxury Resort® is a 4 Diamond Award winner. A World Apart in a Class by Itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing